We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It wasn't so bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam
Ranked #200 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“It wasn't so bad”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights and not a single time the room had been cleaned up properly. They only change towels, but the shampoo tank is empty, the thrash bin is full and the carpet isn't vacuum cleaned. Everything is old, with scratches and guests there were very noise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Andrew,

To better our service, our guests' experiences are very important to us. I apologise for the fact you are not satisfied with our housekeeping. We service our rooms on a daily basis but clearly not to your satisfaction. You points raised will be discussed internally to avoid these things from happenig in future. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

With kind regards,
Stefaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    380
    285
    116
    78
See reviews for
76
527
72
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here for our visit to Marine Equipment Trade Show at the RAI Amsterdam. The hotel was a short 2 min walk to the tram which for 2.80 euros took us to within 5 mins of the RAI. The Hotel is situated near to most attractions Museums, Designer shops Theaters etc. Dam square is a brisk 15 min walk through the shops with central station an additional 5. Public transport is excellent. As for the hotel we found the staff friendly the rooms were clean if not small. the bed was ok as were the facilities. We had a British Airways fly hotel package and overall it was value for money. Breakfast is extra which we did not have. The free wifi we found to be excellent and quick. I would be happy to stay again for a business trip but if going to Amsterdam for a romantic weekend I would look for something a little more up market. No complaints simply adequate for our needs. Luggage space very limited even in a superior room which is suppose to be bigger.

Room Tip: Catch the bus from the airport 4 euros it drops you within a a 2 minute walk unless you have lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel. It pleases me to learn that you appreciated our warm welcome and find our location convenient for both business and pleasure. We hope we may welcome you again in future.

With kind Regards,
Stefaan
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The bed is extremely tight!! Only go there if you are small and thin. The location is good, close to the Leidsplein (nice tourist neighborhood), Van Gough Museum, Rijksmuseum, Heineken Experience, Albert Cuypmarkt and the mainly tram statuona. There is enough space in the room, besides the bed is too small.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael Lamy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Rafael,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to read your comment about the size of your bed. We operate 70 hotel rooms in different roomtypes (Singel, Twin, Double) To my knowledge all rooms have appropriate bedding.

Kind regards,
Stefaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Staying at this hotel now and I cannot fault this hotel at all and will be sad to leave tomorrow. Much better than what I expected after reading the reviews. Location of this hotel is fine we took the bus 197 from the airport to Leidseplein (€4) and it was less than a 5 minute walk to the hotel. We had a standard twin room and there was plenty of room, beds are so comfy. Bathroom fine (even has a hair dryer and shower gel) room safe was brilliant. Plenty of storage and mirrors. Room looked out onto the canal which was nice. The lift is tiny but was quite funny getting in with our suitcases. We arrived early morning about 9am stored our luggage and went out for the day. Really helpful at reception gave us a Map and advice and got us checked in by 2 which was a nice touch.
We walked every where, from the hotel to Central station via Dam Square is appox 45 mins we found it best way to see the city. Had a fantastic time. Would return to the hotel again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammi2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sammi,

Review site are playing a more and more important role in the booking process of our guests. Although it is easy to be influenced by individual opinions, I was pleased to read that you commented that we were "better than expected'. Thank you for recognising our hospitality and in case you come back we will prove that again!, as you are "More than Welcome".

Kind regards,
Stefaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay, the location is perfect. Within a comfortable walking distance from everywhere you want to go, but just far enough out to have quiet streets making it easy to sleep. Very reasonably priced and the free coffee and tea is an excellent benefit as the coffees in amsterdam can be quite costly! Room was just the right size, no fuss, cleaned daily. Have no complaints at all. Staff were very accomodating. Wonderful stay would deffinitely reccomend and would certainly return!

Room Tip: we had room 203, very close to the lift. street view and an ample sized room. lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2212traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We arepleased to learn that you appreciated our hotel, staff and location. Perhaps we may welcome you again in the near future? You are "more than Welcome".

Kind regards,
Stefaan
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I didn't get off to the best of starts as I was kept waiting at check-in for the manager to get off the phone. It turned out that the hotel was over booked and they had arranged to move me by taxi to another Hampshire Hotel at Rembrandt Square. To say I wasn't happy (it was 9pm at the end of a day's travel) was an understatement.

However, it then transpired, after I had brought up the topic of compensation, that a single room was after all available. So not really very sure what the story was.

My room was on the second floor. A pretty small lift (probably takes three at a push) takes you there.

The room was really small. It had one fluorescant ceiling light and a bedside light giving it a cold feeling. It looked old fashioned and the furniture was well worn.

The bathroom was compact. The shower had a shower curtain around it which was useless at keeping the water in the shower. But the shower itself was good.

A free safe was provided. The TV has a good selection of channels including BBC1 and BBC 2
On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and I got a good night's sleep.

I didn't take breakfast as at €15 I could get much better alternatives close by.

Amsterdam hotels are generally expensive and while this stay was at a reasonable price, the standard of accomodation has fallen behind current standards. Chains like Ibis offer much better quality for much the same price. I wouldn't use this hotel again despite it's excellent location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your feedback. Since our hotel is situated in three historic town houses, our rooms tend to be smaller than expected, but always in line with regulations for a three star city centre hotel. Your points raised about the interiour of the room are aprreciated and we will make adjustments where possible.

With kind regards,
Stefaan
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the location and price and were not disappointed. We did get on of the smallest rooms with double bed but it wasn't unbearable. The free coffee was great! We used the machine everyday. And the proximity to the Leidseplein bus station made it very easy to get to from the airport on bus 197 and only cost 4 euro.

We did not do the breakfast, it was 15 euro for a small plain looking spread, and never once saw anyone maning the small bar in the lobby but there were enough great restaurants and bars within easy walking distance.

The hotel was always clean and our bed was made daily. I wouldn't suggest this hotel for anyone who packs tons of luggage or expects a large room but its great for people who travel light and don't mind a small room

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank BoardingBetty1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. For your future visit (should you want to revisit Amsterdam and our hotel) we can recomend our Superior Rooms. These rooms are more spaceious and can give suitable comfort to those travelling with bigger luggages or for a longer stay. Superiour rooms can be reserved at a supplement charge.

Kindest regards,
Stefaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#162 of 367 in Amsterdam
509 reviews
Hotel Europa'92
#186 of 367 in Amsterdam
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,951 reviews
Prinsen Hotel
#222 of 367 in Amsterdam
420 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam
Address: Nassaukade 387 /390, 1054 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam is the ideal place for culture vultures. The hotel is located right in the centre, just behind Leidseplein and close to the city's large theatres: DeLaMar Theater and Stadsschouwburg. Famous music venues Paradiso and Melkweg are also around the corner. Various internationally-renowned museums are just a few minutes walk away, such as Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Stedelijk Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing