We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, value for money, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam
Ranked #202 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Convenient, value for money, comfortable”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A few meters from leidseplein, close to trams and easy connection to all parts of the city. Room was comfortable bit by no means luxurious and very small shower with full length curtain - not easy to wash under. Air conditioning not worth trying - lots of noise and no output

Single lift took an age to reach the upper floors.

Breakfast acceptable and good quality.

OK at the right price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMadmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Hampshire Hotel – Theatre District Amsterdam.

Good to hear that you had a nice stay. Your feedback is highly appreciated. It gives us opportunity to improve the quality of our product and service continuously. Your points raised will therefore be addressed internally. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    384
    289
    116
    79
See reviews for
77
534
73
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Good hotel, great location. Rooms are small but very clean and comfortable. Fresh towels daily. Free tea and coffee in the lobby is available all day and is much appreciated on early morning starts. The Wifi signal is very good in the rooms if needed.
The best thing about the hotel is definitely the location, its situated less than a 5 minute walk from Liedseplein where there are countless bars and restaurants.
The receptionists were friendly and helpful. One of the night security men had a bit of a bad attitude ,he was slow to let myself and my friend into the hotel on our first night as i made the mistake of knocking on the door rather than ringing the bell!!!
Overall my impression of the hotel is positive and i would stay here again on future trips due the fantastic location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaraMc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and your stay with us. I apologise for the way you felt treated by our night manager. I will confront him with your observations about his attitude to avoid such behaviour to continue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

- accommodations: tiny, about a third the size of what you'd get in a cheap US motel, so don't get fooled by the photos they put on the web.
These are taken with special lens settings to look much bigger than they are. On the other hand, many hotels in Amsterdam do the very same thing, so they
shouldn't be singled out on that account.
- service: this is the deal breaker. The staff was downright hostile when I told them I had reserved rooms over a month ago, specifying separate beds. They said something
about how I had "requested", not "reserved" them, so they were not at fault. Or did I not understand the difference between a request and a reservation? Much later, after returning to the hotel from an evening out, another staff chimed in out of the blue, this time in a personal, abusive manner. Like, there's only one country in the world where people behave like you, etc.

The bottom line is that if you are okay with a basic room and sometimes hostile staff, then this place is for you. At least breakfast is decent. I've been to better and friendlier places nearby for that price, however.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

dundee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is very friendly and the staff are very helpful. Rooms comfotable and good sized. Its near vondelpark and leidsplien so great shopping and canals tours very close. free tea and coffee all day whenever you want the wifi is good signal and 2 computers with free internet downstairs overall had a great stay


One of the staff was great with us my mobile went missing and he let me cancel it straight away so i didnt get any big bills never got the ophine back but.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiemcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Jackie,

What an unfortunate incident losing your mobile phone! I am happy to learn that my colleagues assisted in cancelling it avoiding extra costs. Thank you also for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed two nights earlier this week.

Check in was easy. The staff were friendly and helpful, as when I arrived my bed was broken, so I asked reception to look into this. As they couldn’t fix this they moved me to another room without any fuss or problem.

The free WiFi throughout the hotel was an added bonus.

My only issue was the noise from the outside street. My room was at the front of the hotel, so the constant traffic was noisy. It appeared to have double glazing, so not sure why it was so noisy, but it did end up keeping me awake both nights.

All in all for the price I paid this was a good hotel, but not sure I’d stay again.

Room Tip: One towards the back of then hotel to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbadkevsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and compliments to our staff. Our windows have indeed double glazing. As we are right in the city centre some street noises can not be avoided I am afraid. In case you decide to use our hotel once more, please let me know as we also have rooms to the back of the hotel, that are more quiet and more to your convenience.

With kindest Regards,
Stefaan van der Sleen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#155 of 368 in Amsterdam
518 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#107 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Europa'92
#185 of 368 in Amsterdam
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam
Address: Nassaukade 387 /390, 1054 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam is the ideal place for culture vultures. The hotel is located right in the centre, just behind Leidseplein and close to the city's large theatres: DeLaMar Theater and Stadsschouwburg. Famous music venues Paradiso and Melkweg are also around the corner. Various internationally-renowned museums are just a few minutes walk away, such as Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Stedelijk Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing