We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great location and good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #47 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cesena
1 review
“great location and good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I've been twice in this hotel over the last two years and I'd say it's a very value for money hotel; i love modern style of rooms and hotel lounge and i absolutely love the atmosphere coming from the special led lights of corridors.
The only problem I had last time I was there was an annoying noise coming from outside the window due to aircon engine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    791
    247
    82
    48
See reviews for
285
1,042
158
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed in Swissotel with my family and enjoyed it. Located in the heart of Dam Square it is a 10 minute walk to train station. Each and every attraction can easily be reached by taking the tram at the station located next to the hotel. Although it is located in a vibrant, noisy district, the room's insulation was perfect. No need to take the breakfast at hotel since there are a lot of alternatives to dine in near the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Study_Plan_Action
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel and good staff. Very comfortable rooms and a massive bed.
That's the good the bad was building work going on next door and late night revellers on our first night keeping is awake.
The next day we changed our room and the problem was solved. We would certainly use this hotel again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matfat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had stayed at the Swissotel before and had very little hesitation in choosing it again. The location is superb, minutes from the central station, within easy walk of the picturesque canals of the Old and New Sides and a tram ride from the Museums. Despite its being on the edge of Dam Square, it gets very little noise.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast, at E14.50. is a lot cheaper than in comparable hotels. Rooms are a decent size, with big beds, BBCs1&2 on the TV and a Nespresso machine.

Just a couple of niggles. We got free wifi but this should be standard for all clients in 2013 and in a hotel of this class. The other, which isn't the hotel's fault, is that building work is going on next door. I can put up with drilling and hammering during the day when I pop back for a few minutes, but on our last morning we were woken by it at 7am! Not, as I say, the hotel's fault, but they need to complain long and loud to the perpetrators about it going on at anti-social hours.

Room Tip: Though sound insulation is good, best to be at the back, away from the noise of the Damrak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbjkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Swissotel in Amsterdam. The location supported by a great staff made for a truly enjoyable time. I would strongly recommend a stay at the Swissotel Amsterdam for any type of trip.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijas Costa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It is an ideal place for visting Amsterdam, very friendly staff. Well located, close to everything, train station is very close, which is ideal for airport tarnsfers. Just 4€ each way. We did not have to pay for the wifi as we did the booking directly with the hotel, check this when doing your booking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on my own for a weekend trip.

Pros:
-excellent location in the heart of Dam Square
-very nice room with all the amenities.
-very friendly reception manager
-awesome instant coffee and espresso maker
-has a gym
-great towels

Cons:
-small rooms
-expensive
-gym looks way better in the photos. It was sub par.
-no pool, hot tub.
-no hotel parking, must use their expensive and inconvenient valet pickup service. Hotel staff botched the pickup time claiming they could not contact me when I: a) had been in and out of the hotel several times, b) was in room at 8:30pm so wasn't as if I was out late, c) left my cell number at the desk and no attempt to contact my mobile was made. Staff seemed to just blow it off as if it was no big deal.
-staff below the manager are either inexperienced or just don't care.
-had a 4th floor room with zero view.

Will likely try somewhere else next time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SLH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#99 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Property: Swissotel Amsterdam
Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing