We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Singel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Singel Hotel
Ranked #157 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Only stayed for one nigh with my girlfriend over her birthday, although this is not the cheapest 3 star in Amsterdam i would stay again. Great location and the staff where friendly, breakfast was nice too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    359
    166
    45
    39
See reviews for
100
318
105
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee WI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

June 2014 was my second stay at The Singel Hotel (the last time was about 5 years ago). The hotel is a relatively short walk from Centraal Station - easy enough if you don't have a lot of luggage and are in reasonable shape. The hotel has an elevator - a definite plus!

The staff at the Singel Hotel were all every helpful and knowledgeable. Everyone spoke perfect English (typical of most Amsterdammers!) and were willing to chat a bit - very hospitable!.

My room was a double at the back of the hotel so I didn't have a view but it was quiet (which was good because the Netherlands football team was doing well in the World Cup!). The canal view rooms are much more scenic however they are on the street side so there is much more noise from vehicles and pedestrians. The room had a spacious bathroom that was updated relatively recently. The room and bath were very clean and comfortable. I didn't really hear anyone except the loud Americans that came in the middle of my visit.

The breakfast buffet was great - I'm still thinking about the fresh bread that they had! The offerings included fresh bread (white and brown), pre-sliced bread, english muffins, croissants (regular and chocolate!) and several types of cereal, several types of yogurt, sliced meats, sliced cheeses, hard boiled eggs, fruit and juices. The hotel staff would get you hot tea and coffee if you wanted it. The breakfast alone makes me want to go back soon!!!

Internet access was very good - I had no problems during my entire stay.

I would recommend the Singel Hotel most certainly!

Room Tip: If you want quiet and dark, ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is well situated near everything from the train station to the main tourist attractions. We stayed for one night and we didn't use the transportation at all. every thing is walking distance. it is located on the Singel canal in a safe and quiet area. The hotel is Far enough from the red district street which could be little scary for some people. The room is very good as a space, cleanliness and calmness. I liked the area very much and there are restaurants and food corners around with very good prices (actually there is a fish corner that has a very delicious fish sandwiches).
The only thing that I disliked is the staff, nothing but they seemed non willing to help. Wi-Fi signal is very poor and disconnect every few minutes.

Room Tip: take a room with a view on the canal it is very lovely especially at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank maim0aaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed there with a friend , he got a bronchial infection and needed a dr. The young lady working the desk fond him a Dr. Nearby and made an appt for him. Dr. Gave him some prescriptions which I filled. I have stayed here numerous occasions and like the location , near Central station and tram line. Free WiFi and European breakfast. Rooms are smallish as expected for the reasonable rates. If raining they have loaner umbrellas.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBQPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was a small hotel about 5 minutes walk from the railway station situated in a quiet street overlooking the canal.

It was close to lots of restaurants and cafes and was well served by the local trams.

The hotel was well presented, there was a good choice at breakfast and the staff were helpful.

The only downside was the room - it was clean, bright and charming with a comfortable bed, but because it was in the eaves, it had a low, sloping ceiling and was quite small

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank none50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

It's a decent little hotel, situated very close to Centraal Station. Room was basic but clean. Staff were all helpful and friendly. Breakfast was ok and the waiting staff attentive when bringing coffee etc.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#102 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#134 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#59 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#174 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,274 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#126 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Hotel

Property: Singel Hotel
Address: Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Singel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singel Hotel:The Singel Hotel, located in three characteristic 17th century canal houses at the beautiful and quiet Singel canal, is perfectly located in the city centre. This comfortable three star hotel is situated at one of the best locations of Amsterdam. An ideal mix of nostalgic atmosphere and modern comfort close to all major attractions.Typical brown cafes and good restaurants are just around the corner and all public transportation can be reached within walking distance.This charming Singel Hotel offers, behind the attractively restored facade,32 up-to-date renovated rooms, an elevator and accomodation for 65 guests. Our friendly staff will do everything to make your stay unforgetable. Location:The Singel Hotel is very easy to reach. There is a direct train connection from Schiphol Airport to the Amsterdam Central Station which takes less then 15 minutes.Coming out of the Amsterdam Central Station you cross the station square and turnright at the Prins Hendrikkade. After 200 meters you turn left at the Singel canal. You will reach the Singel Hotel in 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Singel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing