We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Singel pleasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Singel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Singel Hotel
Ranked #156 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Singel pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was booked at the hotel for 2 nights, and enjoyed my stay.

The reception staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was crisp and clean, and the continental breakfast hit the spot exactly!

Plus, of course, the location in the city was excellent.

I'm looking forward to returning on a future visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RovingRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    381
    181
    48
    41
See reviews for
110
338
113
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

second visit and this hotel is not wearing well.......uncomfortable beds, meager breakfast, noisy front rooms onto the night scene of nearest bridge. Well located to the train station ONLY if you have a small roller bag, not any substantial luggage Well located to good restaurants. Going to look for a touch more luxury in a different hotel next time: will be worth the comfort! As Amsterdam is tolerant of the all night partying going on....and the Singel is in the middle of all that, will have to look a bit further out to a quieter neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I visited this hotel for the 3rd time now and standards are still very good here, I stayed in Amsterdam's smallest room, which was quite big compared to what i was expecting , comfy bed, tv , desk ,separate ensuite , and a wardrobe and safe, The hotel is located very well on 5 mins from central station , breakfast was good.

The hotel staff are very good and always help out.

I would recommend this Hotel, keep up the good work and see you in June ;-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. The location was perfect, close to central station and along the Singel canal. A convenient and central location but set back from everything so it wasn't noisy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with suggestions about where to go to eat or rent bikes. The room it's self was basic but still nice. We had a view of the building next door which might bother some people but we didn't mind, we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Breakfast each day was fab with lot's of choice. We found a deal for this hotel on Trivago so it was very good value when you compare it to hostels in the local area. I would definitely recommend this hotel and visit again, thank you!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Wonderful stay and an extra thank you to the lovely, always smiling and super friendly receptionist, who surprised us with 4 boat trip tickets. Courtesy of the hotel!! We will definately return for a longer period of time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank thirsita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Small (as with most old Amsterdam buildings) but very comfortable and clean room. Staff extremely helpful. Rather closer to Red Light area than expected but my 11 year old was completely oblivious so not a problem. Would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: We asked for a canal view. My lad would happily have stayed another night as he was keen on sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanaken, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for two nights. It is at a very good location, the room was small, but decent. The bathroom was ok, although the sink was tiny and the shower was only separated by a glass panel from the toilet (there was no proper shower cabin).
The room was always clean and warm, even though it was on the ground floor.
The only negative thing was that being so close to the reception (rooms 7 and 8) means that you hear all the people coming and going and their loud chattering as well. It's not ideal if you're not a good sleeper. For me the bed was a bit too soft.
Breakfast is in the price, it's a standard continental breakfast with some ham, salami, cooked eggs, cheeses, butter, bread, yoghurts, cereals, fruit salad. i was missing some fresh vegetables like tomatoes. The breakfast area is very small compared to the number of rooms (about 20 places) so you might need to wait for 5-10 minutes to be seated if you happen to arrive at the wrong time. Fruit juices (orange and mix) were not refilled when we had breakfast there.
Wifi is for free and it's decent. Parking place is available at the central station of Amsterdam (~500 meters), it costs 55 eur/day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voltunkegyparan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#132 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#112 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#73 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#168 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#109 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Hotel

Property: Singel Hotel
Address: Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Singel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singel Hotel:The Singel Hotel, located in three characteristic 17th century canal houses at the beautiful and quiet Singel canal, is perfectly located in the city centre. This comfortable three star hotel is situated at one of the best locations of Amsterdam. An ideal mix of nostalgic atmosphere and modern comfort close to all major attractions.Typical brown cafes and good restaurants are just around the corner and all public transportation can be reached within walking distance.This charming Singel Hotel offers, behind the attractively restored facade,32 up-to-date renovated rooms, an elevator and accomodation for 65 guests. Our friendly staff will do everything to make your stay unforgetable. Location:The Singel Hotel is very easy to reach. There is a direct train connection from Schiphol Airport to the Amsterdam Central Station which takes less then 15 minutes.Coming out of the Amsterdam Central Station you cross the station square and turnright at the Prins Hendrikkade. After 200 meters you turn left at the Singel canal. You will reach the Singel Hotel in 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Singel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing