We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely and cosy hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Singel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Singel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely and cosy hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for three nights midweek. It's a small hotel located in the heart of Amsterdam. Less than a 5 min walk to central station and trams. We walked almost everywhere- just one rainy day we got trams to tourist spots that were a little bit out. 24hr unlimited tram ticket is 7.50 pp. Our bedroom was small, clean and modern. Our room was looking out onto the canal which was beautiful! We slept great at night as the hotel is on a quiet street.
A continental breakfast each morning was of a great standard with a fresh selection of breads and cereals.
I really would recommend this central hotel. It's convenient and great value!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    358
    166
    45
    39
See reviews for
100
318
105
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Clean & basic room with good bed. Mostly white furnishing, which make you feel less uncomfortable in the small space...
Helpful staff and good location.
Breakfast was almost the same throughout our 4 days stay.., tasty though..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff,
Good location in front of one of the canals.
Red Light, 10 ´wallking; Central Station, 5´ ; Anna Franks house, 5 ´
Breakfast is very good, but there are not hot meals.
Avoid the small room 20, if you want to have a view of the canal; its not nice when you request by internet, a location with view to the canal, and when you open the window, you see a wall.
Price is ok,
I would choose this hotel again, no doubts :)


Bar in the breakfast room for some more socializing among guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arieldearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This review is based on my stay with a friend in Feb 2009 (Trip Advisor doesn't allow me to select the date of my stay any earlier than a year ago).

The hotel is right by Central Station (a few minutes' walk). The receptionists were helpful and courteous. We had arrived a little early so the rooms weren't quite ready, which was okay as it allowed us to have a wander around the immediate area for an hour.

Whether you get a room with a fantastic view of the canal or a view of a grey wall comes down to chance really. You can always request for it but I would guess most other guests would request the same thing. If you are wondering what my view was like, I've attached the picture. To be honest it didn't bother me too much.

Rooms were very basic but comfortable, and for that time of year, very warm. Location is very good as it is about a 10-minute walk to Dam Square, and roughly the same to the Red Light District.

We did not use any of the dining faciilies as we ate and drank out all the time.

Overall, very pleased.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnOGrots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Me & My Partner often travel to Amsterdam, and usually stay elsewhere however this time we decided to stay at the Singel, a very 'cute' hotel with lovely rooms (a little on the small side) - However the location makes this hotel so much better than anywhere we've stayed in Amsterdam - 2 minutes from the station and only a few minutes from Dam Square.

Breakfast is included, however there isn't any hot food available.

Room Tip: Ask for canal facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_Smith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

As another reviewer mentioned, it is close to the Centraal train station but not to most other places. Know that despite the fact that it is not in the Red Light District there are "stores" near it with the light on and the "business owners" advertising themselves at the window--which was shocking to my 9-year old. Service was so so--but perhaps it was the Dutch way. Breakfast was pretty good. We were given a smoking room despite our preference for a non-smoking room. We thought it was just an ok hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non-smoking floor if you don't smoke (all but the top, 4th floor are non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrazBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#102 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#134 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#59 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#174 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,274 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#126 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Hotel

Property: Singel Hotel
Address: Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Singel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singel Hotel:The Singel Hotel, located in three characteristic 17th century canal houses at the beautiful and quiet Singel canal, is perfectly located in the city centre. This comfortable three star hotel is situated at one of the best locations of Amsterdam. An ideal mix of nostalgic atmosphere and modern comfort close to all major attractions.Typical brown cafes and good restaurants are just around the corner and all public transportation can be reached within walking distance.This charming Singel Hotel offers, behind the attractively restored facade,32 up-to-date renovated rooms, an elevator and accomodation for 65 guests. Our friendly staff will do everything to make your stay unforgetable. Location:The Singel Hotel is very easy to reach. There is a direct train connection from Schiphol Airport to the Amsterdam Central Station which takes less then 15 minutes.Coming out of the Amsterdam Central Station you cross the station square and turnright at the Prins Hendrikkade. After 200 meters you turn left at the Singel canal. You will reach the Singel Hotel in 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Singel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing