We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, location and good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #178 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff,
Good location in front of one of the canals.
Red Light, 10 ´wallking; Central Station, 5´ ; Anna Franks house, 5 ´
Breakfast is very good, but there are not hot meals.
Avoid the small room 20, if you want to have a view of the canal; its not nice when you request by internet, a location with view to the canal, and when you open the window, you see a wall.
Price is ok,
I would choose this hotel again, no doubts :)


Bar in the breakfast room for some more socializing among guests.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arieldearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 950 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

This review is based on my stay with a friend in Feb 2009 (Trip Advisor doesn't allow me to select the date of my stay any earlier than a year ago).

The hotel is right by Central Station (a few minutes' walk). The receptionists were helpful and courteous. We had arrived a little early so the rooms weren't quite ready, which was okay as it allowed us to have a wander around the immediate area for an hour.

Whether you get a room with a fantastic view of the canal or a view of a grey wall comes down to chance really. You can always request for it but I would guess most other guests would request the same thing. If you are wondering what my view was like, I've attached the picture. To be honest it didn't bother me too much.

Rooms were very basic but comfortable, and for that time of year, very warm. Location is very good as it is about a 10-minute walk to Dam Square, and roughly the same to the Red Light District.

We did not use any of the dining faciilies as we ate and drank out all the time.

Overall, very pleased.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnOGrots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Me & My Partner often travel to Amsterdam, and usually stay elsewhere however this time we decided to stay at the Singel, a very 'cute' hotel with lovely rooms (a little on the small side) - However the location makes this hotel so much better than anywhere we've stayed in Amsterdam - 2 minutes from the station and only a few minutes from Dam Square.

Breakfast is included, however there isn't any hot food available.

Room Tip: Ask for canal facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_Smith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

As another reviewer mentioned, it is close to the Centraal train station but not to most other places. Know that despite the fact that it is not in the Red Light District there are "stores" near it with the light on and the "business owners" advertising themselves at the window--which was shocking to my 9-year old. Service was so so--but perhaps it was the Dutch way. Breakfast was pretty good. We were given a smoking room despite our preference for a non-smoking room. We thought it was just an ok hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non-smoking floor if you don't smoke (all but the top, 4th floor are non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrazBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Wim V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My girlfriend booked this place and she had the idea from the web site that it was central location. Well its central to train station but not to the city center. We walked so much everyday to be around activity. Also the rooms are so tiny you step over each other. We arrived early and they made us wait until check in time. Its an OK place if you are in a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kukisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#58 of 372 in Amsterdam
957 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#171 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#119 of 372 in Amsterdam
913 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singel Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $111 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Singel Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singel Hotel:The Singel Hotel, located in three characteristic 17th century canal houses at the beautiful and quiet Singel canal, is perfectly located in the city centre. This comfortable three star hotel is situated at one of the best locations of Amsterdam. An ideal mix of nostalgic atmosphere and modern comfort close to all major attractions.Typical brown cafes and good restaurants are just around the corner and all public transportation can be reached within walking distance.This charming Singel Hotel offers, behind the attractively restored facade,32 up-to-date renovated rooms, an elevator and accomodation for 65 guests. Our friendly staff will do everything to make your stay unforgetable. Location:The Singel Hotel is very easy to reach. There is a direct train connection from Schiphol Airport to the Amsterdam Central Station which takes less then 15 minutes.Coming out of the Amsterdam Central Station you cross the station square and turnright at the Prins Hendrikkade. After 200 meters you turn left at the Singel canal. You will reach the Singel Hotel in 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Singel Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing