We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Singel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Singel Hotel
Ranked #155 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. While it is a little expensive it was worth it. The rooms were cleaned daily and our room looked over the canal which made for a pleasant view. Good wifi in the room, comfy beds, good heating and hot water. However water goes all over the bathroom floor when showering. Some staff were friendly and helpful, others were a bit average. Breakfast was good and filled us up for the majority of the day. Was in a great spot to explore Amsterdam, when we checked out other places to stay that were similar price while we were there; to extend our stay in Amsterdam. You definitely get more bang for your back at this hotel. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happydays080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    359
    167
    46
    39
See reviews for
100
319
105
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turku
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Service and location were excellent. Price was affordable and whole hotel offered great value for money. Only minus was clear scent of detergent in room. And special thanks to lending umbrellas free of charge.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PuffTheDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Osyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Though I am a frequent visitor to Amsterdam it is 45 years since I stayed in this hotel. As you can imagine things have changed,but only for the better.The hotel is larger and very 21st century . All the modern conveniences of internet,radio t.v. en suite bathrooms,none of which existed in1967.But the famous Dutch hospitality has not altered at all.From the moment I arrived soaked through early on Tuesday morning,too early to officially check in ,the staff put themselves out. By the time I had filled out the registration form my room was magically ready.The breakfasts provided are typically of the continental type but the bread is fresh to cut yourself,the cold meats constantly replenished,as were the boiled eggs.The young lady who helped in the restaurant remembered my coffee order on all the following breakfasts,no mean feat with a busy restaurant. As I say things have changed but the hotel is still in the centre of things,near the station ,near to tram and bus routes,and on one of the prettiest canals. The only change I didn't appreciate ,it is no longer 17 guilders a night.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffery B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had a fab weekend in amsterdam this hotel was excellent. Spotless and only a few minutes walk to damrak and redlight.Had a great view of singel canal out our bedroom window although our room was on the small side it was clean and comfy and staff were very friendly and helpfull will definitely be returning :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxfl3xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Some of the hotel being refurbished but didnt affect our floor. We got the time wrong for breakfast but although late were still able to eat and even had a pot of coffee made for us - I would have awarded 'service' an average rating had it not been for that. Lovely room with a fab view over the canal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Basic hotell with good location. Nothing bad to say, but also nothing special. I was travelling with my friend, so we did not need any special service from hotel. Breakfast OK, rooms clean and big enough, location was great, staff was very helpfull and spoke good English. I will choose this hotel when visiting next time Amsterdam

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthurFIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very good position, near train station and the canals.
Easly reachable from the airport with the train. Possible to walk everywhere central Amsterdam,
Room nice and confortable. The reception still old and requires some upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank 500calorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#105 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#132 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#59 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#174 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,276 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#124 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Hotel

Property: Singel Hotel
Address: Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Singel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singel Hotel:The Singel Hotel, located in three characteristic 17th century canal houses at the beautiful and quiet Singel canal, is perfectly located in the city centre. This comfortable three star hotel is situated at one of the best locations of Amsterdam. An ideal mix of nostalgic atmosphere and modern comfort close to all major attractions.Typical brown cafes and good restaurants are just around the corner and all public transportation can be reached within walking distance.This charming Singel Hotel offers, behind the attractively restored facade,32 up-to-date renovated rooms, an elevator and accomodation for 65 guests. Our friendly staff will do everything to make your stay unforgetable. Location:The Singel Hotel is very easy to reach. There is a direct train connection from Schiphol Airport to the Amsterdam Central Station which takes less then 15 minutes.Coming out of the Amsterdam Central Station you cross the station square and turnright at the Prins Hendrikkade. After 200 meters you turn left at the Singel canal. You will reach the Singel Hotel in 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Singel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing