We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prinsen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prinsen Hotel
Ranked #239 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel bedrooms were clean, if basic, and the hotel is in a good position to trams & buses. We didnt spend much time in the rooms so suited our needs. The breakfast was more than adequate. On the down side, the bar in reception never seemed to be open, we tried to get a drink and were told it was closed.
Staff were friendly and very helpful with directions on the first day. We also got checked into our rooms early.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaranDBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    142
    111
    39
    36
See reviews for
45
162
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I shall write this review with my honest opinion and I urge travellers to make their own minds up.

Location - Located near Vondelpark, the Hard Rock Café and the Blue Boat Canal Cruise Company. In the Museum Quarter so you are also within walking distance to the Van Gough Museum, the Rijksmuseum and Heineken Brewary. We walked everywhere, although there were tram stops close by also.

The Room - Although basic, it was fine. At the end of the day it is a city break. We spent barely any time in the room. The standard double rooms are small with a desk, 2 chairs, 1 double bed, a wardrobe, safe and alarm clock. The bathroom is a walk-in shower, sink and toilet. Don't expect the Ritz. Our room was clean and serviced daily. Our linen was clean, the radiator worked and we were happy with it. The only thing that I would comment on would be the bed - personally I found it too soft and the pillows too big. This is not a fault of the hotel, it is just a personal preference issue.

Breakfast - Served daily from 7am - 10am. Consisted of cereal, bread/toaster, cold meats i.e ham, salami, cheeses, jams. Juice, milk, tea, coffee machine. Self service. Quite nice, decent quality.
For hot breakfast, take a walk down the road and you will find a little place call Pancake Corner, or various other cafes.

Staff - on a whole, friendly and attentive. We saw three different staff members throughout our stay. We were allowed to check in early - 12.30 isn although the official check in is 2pm. So it is worth finding the hotel and trying to check in if your flight lands early. Room keys are required to be handed in at the front desk each time you leave the hotel. The staff were helpful with information about the area.

Tips -
* Check the hotel reception - often attritions leave leaflets or cards with money off vouchers to the attractions which will help save money.
* Pack lightly and check airline t&cs for anything you may want to being home.
* Cheese is big business in Amsterdam - there are so many cheese shops. Some cheeses are a little cheaper at the airport on departure and can be sealed in a clear bag as duty free luggage.
* Coffee shops are the ones that sell the naughty cigarettes, Cafes sell coffee and food.
*Try and do a canal cruise or bus tour on your first day to get an idea of what is around the city.
* The currency is Euro - You will need around €120 per day maybe more depending on what you want to do. (based on a couple)
* Museums are from €4-€15 p/ person entry

Room Tip: If you want a bigger room - book the deluxe. Otherwise, all standard rooms are the same and are smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank stcy_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed in room 43 (single room) for two nights.

The staff had read my request for a quiet room, so I got a room on the top floor. My friend didn't request the same and got a room in the basement/ground floor. As my room was quiet, my friend's room was right underneath the reception area, so she heard noises from there.

The breakfast was ok, according to what you would expect at a 3-star hotel.

The room was ok, the bed comfortable. However, the bathroom was very dull. There's no real shower, just a shower curtain. I find shower curtains rather disgusting. The bathroom was very small, like a bathroom in a cabin on a boat. Two-grip handles I think is outdated and unhygienic.

The location is good, only a five minute walk away from Leidseplein, right next to Vondelpark. Little traffic in the street (check Google maps). It costs €37-40 with taxi to/from Schipol.

Summed up: Average hotel with good location but with quite indelicate bathroom.

I paid €220 for two nights. I felt like the hotel experience was worth less.

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tannpirker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Upon arrival, the desk clerk gave me Room #6, a single room. The room was very small, the bed was a single-size (not a twin or queen), and the mattress sagged (I sat on it and sank almost to the floor). In the bathroom, there was not a separate shower. Instead, the hotel hung a shower curtain across one-half of the room and stuck a showerhead in the wall. The bathroom had a strong sewer smell. I complained, but the desk clerk told me that this was their "standard single room." I refused to stay there. The hotel kept my prepaid deposit for two nights and refused to refund anything. I recommend to all travelers and to travel agents to not book at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Bochum, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Pros: excellent location, in 5-10min you can reach streets with pubs, restaurants and clubs; 5-10min to Rijksmuseum and Van Gog Museum.

Cons: the hotel is very old - time to change carpets full of dust has passed along time ago; rooms are very small (hardly found a place to open my luggage bag); fan in bathroom is very noisy.

Breakfast is average - bread/ toasts, cheese, ham, eggs, jam and cereals.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here October 2013 with my two daughters and we had a great time. The hotel was clean, the staff were really nice and very helpful with suggestions of where to go etc. Really enjoyed the breakfast and had plenty to eat. The luggage store was good as we had a late flight and they also booked us a taxi to the airport with a fixed price. Thank you Prinsen Hotel we will definitely be back; Mel (Suffolk, England)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#148 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Hotel Europa'92
#191 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#143 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#133 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsen Hotel

Property: Prinsen Hotel
Address: Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Budget Places, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Prinsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing