We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Don't Stay at This Dump!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prinsen Hotel
Ranked #232 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Stay at This Dump!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Upon arrival, the desk clerk gave me Room #6, a single room. The room was very small, the bed was a single-size (not a twin or queen), and the mattress sagged (I sat on it and sank almost to the floor). In the bathroom, there was not a separate shower. Instead, the hotel hung a shower curtain across one-half of the room and stuck a showerhead in the wall. The bathroom had a strong sewer smell. I complained, but the desk clerk told me that this was their "standard single room." I refused to stay there. The hotel kept my prepaid deposit for two nights and refused to refund anything. I recommend to all travelers and to travel agents to not book at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    132
    102
    34
    35
See reviews for
40
148
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bochum, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Pros: excellent location, in 5-10min you can reach streets with pubs, restaurants and clubs; 5-10min to Rijksmuseum and Van Gog Museum.

Cons: the hotel is very old - time to change carpets full of dust has passed along time ago; rooms are very small (hardly found a place to open my luggage bag); fan in bathroom is very noisy.

Breakfast is average - bread/ toasts, cheese, ham, eggs, jam and cereals.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here October 2013 with my two daughters and we had a great time. The hotel was clean, the staff were really nice and very helpful with suggestions of where to go etc. Really enjoyed the breakfast and had plenty to eat. The luggage store was good as we had a late flight and they also booked us a taxi to the airport with a fixed price. Thank you Prinsen Hotel we will definitely be back; Mel (Suffolk, England)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I spent a good two weeks in February looking for a hotel in Amsterdam to attend a conference in August. I never thought it would be so dificult. Most hotels were fully booked, they were incredibly expensive and even if you found a room you had to book and pay straight away. Prinsen Hotel had a room available and was slightly cheaper than other hotels. I was a bit skeptical about booking a room without photos available but I had no choice. When I got to the hotel I realised why. I was given a basement room (the only one left with a double bed) which had to be accessed through a very old lift. In order to get to the room I had to go past a few trolleys full of clean/dirty linen and walk on carpeting that had seen better days. That said, the rooms were clean, the breakfast was modest but good and the room overlooked a very cute little garden. Guests are not given a key but rather they have to request one from reception everytime you go in. It's a bit annoying but not a big deal. Staying at this hotel reminded me how expensive accommodation can be in a European capital over the summer, but if you're planning on just sleeping in the hotel room, this hotel is a decent choice and the shortcomings are compensated by the relatively cheap price compared to other hotels in this expensive city.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ger_Ortega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Fantastic Hotel, in a superb location, with excellent staff (particularly Reception), great breakfast and a brilliant, general ambience. There is also a very good bar area. The luggage room was helpful as our flight was evening time . Good IT facilities. Rooms very good with TV, coffee and bathrooms. I'll be back next year;
Stewart (Glasgow)

Room Tip: Graet rooms all round
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Prinsen Hotel has a good location and the front desk staff was friendly. However, the rooms are small, drab, and stuffy. The breakfast fare was nothing special, and the weekend staff in the dining room was nothing short of surly. If the rates were cheap it would be OK, but for what we paid it was a ripoff. This is a 1-star hotel for a 3-star price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are surprisingly noisy at night given this is a small side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#142 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Hotel Europa 92
#195 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#150 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsen Hotel

Property: Prinsen Hotel
Address: Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Budget Places so you can book your Prinsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing