We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay at This Dump!!”
Review of Prinsen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prinsen Hotel
Ranked #202 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Upon arrival, the desk clerk gave me Room #6, a single room. The room was very small, the bed was a single-size (not a twin or queen), and the mattress sagged (I sat on it and sank almost to the floor). In the bathroom, there was not a separate shower. Instead, the hotel hung a shower curtain across one-half of the room and stuck a showerhead in the wall. The bathroom had a strong sewer smell. I complained, but the desk clerk told me that this was their "standard single room." I refused to stay there. The hotel kept my prepaid deposit for two nights and refused to refund anything. I recommend to all travelers and to travel agents to not book at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 454 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Pros: excellent location, in 5-10min you can reach streets with pubs, restaurants and clubs; 5-10min to Rijksmuseum and Van Gog Museum.

Cons: the hotel is very old - time to change carpets full of dust has passed along time ago; rooms are very small (hardly found a place to open my luggage bag); fan in bathroom is very noisy.

Breakfast is average - bread/ toasts, cheese, ham, eggs, jam and cereals.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekaterina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here October 2013 with my two daughters and we had a great time. The hotel was clean, the staff were really nice and very helpful with suggestions of where to go etc. Really enjoyed the breakfast and had plenty to eat. The luggage store was good as we had a late flight and they also booked us a taxi to the airport with a fixed price. Thank you Prinsen Hotel we will definitely be back; Mel (Suffolk, England)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank melony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gerrit B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I spent a good two weeks in February looking for a hotel in Amsterdam to attend a conference in August. I never thought it would be so dificult. Most hotels were fully booked, they were incredibly expensive and even if you found a room you had to book and pay straight away. Prinsen Hotel had a room available and was slightly cheaper than other hotels. I was a bit skeptical about booking a room without photos available but I had no choice. When I got to the hotel I realised why. I was given a basement room (the only one left with a double bed) which had to be accessed through a very old lift. In order to get to the room I had to go past a few trolleys full of clean/dirty linen and walk on carpeting that had seen better days. That said, the rooms were clean, the breakfast was modest but good and the room overlooked a very cute little garden. Guests are not given a key but rather they have to request one from reception everytime you go in. It's a bit annoying but not a big deal. Staying at this hotel reminded me how expensive accommodation can be in a European capital over the summer, but if you're planning on just sleeping in the hotel room, this hotel is a decent choice and the shortcomings are compensated by the relatively cheap price compared to other hotels in this expensive city.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ger_Ortega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Fantastic Hotel, in a superb location, with excellent staff (particularly Reception), great breakfast and a brilliant, general ambience. There is also a very good bar area. The luggage room was helpful as our flight was evening time . Good IT facilities. Rooms very good with TV, coffee and bathrooms. I'll be back next year;
Stewart (Glasgow)

Room Tip: Graet rooms all round
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Prinsen Hotel has a good location and the front desk staff was friendly. However, the rooms are small, drab, and stuffy. The breakfast fare was nothing special, and the weekend staff in the dining room was nothing short of surly. If the rates were cheap it would be OK, but for what we paid it was a ripoff. This is a 1-star hotel for a 3-star price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are surprisingly noisy at night given this is a small side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#148 of 374 in Amsterdam
563 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#240 of 374 in Amsterdam
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#130 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,467 reviews
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#144 of 374 in Amsterdam
949 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#194 of 374 in Amsterdam
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsen Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $103 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Prinsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing