We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent location, basic rooms, good service and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prinsen Hotel
Ranked #236 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent location, basic rooms, good service and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

At an average of 90-100 euros a night this hotel is an excellent value. The location is nice, just near Leidseplein on a quiet street. You have easy access to buses and trams. Museumplein is within easy walking distance.

The rooms are basic, but not that small. The bed was comfortable, but a little saggy. I had a great view with a balcony. The TV had several English channels and the wifi was reasonably fast. The bathroom is also basic, but functional. The shower is not divided, but has enough of a decline to avoid water getting everywhere. The room does have a safe, but it's really too small for most devices.

Breakfast was simple with cheeses, meat, yogurt and hard boiled eggs. Considering the room rate it was a deal to have it included. Service from the staff was friendly and helpful. Overall the Prinsen Hotel was an excellent value and I would come back to it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WNY_traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    127
    100
    34
    34
See reviews for
37
146
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We really liked the location of this hotel. It is close to .vondel ark, the trams, and the museum. We arrived by train to Central station, and walked, with our back packs, to the hotel, in about half an hour. The staff at the desk were friendly and efficient. The room was mall, and clean. The bathroom was a wet room, but functional. The lift was good. The breakfast room was adequate, very busy the first morning, better the second. Not a bad variety of foods on offer. We had French doors that opened up to a balcony at the front of the building, which was pleasant. Nice and quiet at night. We found it a little expensive, but the nice neighborhood made it worthwhile.

Room Tip: Nice quiet rooms, even in the front. We were on the first floor, easy to use lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel was good for a weekend break. The rooms are small but clean. Staff are efficient and fairly pleasant. The breakfast is a continental buffet, nothing amazing but more than adequate. I would stay there again. Not much else to say really - it's a rather average hotel but certainly nothing wrong with it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lovely hotel, great staff and ideal location no.s 1,2 and 5 trams from central station
The breakfast was nice. Would certainly use this hotel next time we go to Amsterdam
Would have loved coffee making facilities in the room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I don't really have anything to add apart from the title. The staff are brilliant, the room was clean but very (very) small, a wet room rather than a bathroom and my room was like a sauna!! There's no kitchen at the hotel so don't expect anything exceptional for breakfast. Great location though.

Don't be put off though, for the right price this hotel is on the money for location and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Single rooms = very small and room 43 is like a sauna, with the radiator off!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrswomen_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel's location and price is the only advantage. While centrally located near Leidseplein, the hotel is not very comfortable to stay at. The rooms are small and could barely fit two suitcases. The bathroom is clean but very (very) small. The breakfast is..well I wouldn't call it a breakfast but a morning snack instead. Moreover, the staff is not very friendly and Wi-Fi access is limited and not working properly.
As a businessman, I expect businesses to encourage customers to return to their business, but I highly doubt this hotel will see any returning visitors.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, even a hostel would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dangu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Prinsen Hotel for 3 nights. Although Amsterdam is one of the nicest cities I´ve been to, the hotel was a disappointment.
The first thing we recognized was the uncleaned Window with blood stains in the INSIDE. It looked like it wasn´t cleaned for a year and we found the same on the corner of our wardrobe. So we looked closer and saw huge white stains on the carpet and stains on the chair. The curtain had a long brown mess on it and a hole. In the bathroom we had a bathtub, which would be nice, if you weren´t afraid to shower anyway in this messy place(the water pressure made it hard aswell). There were black interfixes, which lead me to the conclusion that there is mold. At a closer look at the Toilet I saw that the toilet brush was never replaced, or used. It really looked like it was living in there! So you can imagine how clean the toilets must be. On our last day we found dead bugs on our sheets. We researched and are pretty sure these 4 we found were carpet bugs.
After all i complained at the reception. The receptionist looked really astonished and noticed all. If there will change anything? No idea but i will complain at our travel organization.

(Sorry for misspelling english isn´t my native language)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiesebaumlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#143 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Hotel Europa 92
#187 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#119 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#107 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsen Hotel

Property: Prinsen Hotel
Address: Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Prinsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing