We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“No 'feel good' factor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prinsen Hotel
Ranked #241 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“No 'feel good' factor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Location is the only reason you should book this hotel. Rooms are not really nice (but quite clean) and the breakfast doesn't deserve its name

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    128
    101
    34
    35
See reviews for
37
148
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The location of this hotel is good. Short walking distance to museums and center. No traffic noise but inside the hotel you hear everything from the neighbours. Rooms are very small. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice garden in the back yard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfofw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The staff were very nice.
My room (43, on the top floor) was big enough for me and was clean and nice. Bathroom was a bit old but I can't really complain.
There was noise, especially in the morning around breakfast time. It kept me from sleeping in which was annoying - but then I shouldn't really be sleeping in while on holiday.
The Wi-fi was expensive, and only worked 50% of the time in my room. When I went down to reception to show them the issue it worked fine. I'm guessing the router is on the ground floor, so the upper levels don't get the best coverage.
The location of this hotel is amazing! It's down a quite street, but literally a 3 minute walk to a bustling central square. Couldn't be better!

Room Tip: If you are hoping to use Wi-fi, I do not recommend the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

Some quirkiness, not the absolute highest standards, but that was not an issue for us. Basically a very old house converted into a hotel (B&B really). Helpful staff, the classic 'amsterdam gap' under all the doors not helping sound insulation (tip: use a towel if the noise bothers you) Does have a lift, most rooms (our group used 6 of them) seemed OK mostly with minor faults we could overlook. Good location. Those who must have certain options like coffee/tea in the rooms or a plentiful supply of specific foodstuffs at breakfast should check that out before travelling IMHO as nothing is a given in a small hotel / B&B like this. Seasoned travellers who want the compromise of a decent priced room yet still in a good location will be very familiar and hopefully comfortable with the style and quality of this sort of establishment. As long as you are not expecting the Hilton you should be happy with the Prinsen.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bristol_D-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Appalled when went to our room. So small we and our ( not oversized ) luggage could not fit. Basin in room. bed pushed against wall. How do you get out? Refused room and moved to another. Pleasant enough stay. Good breakfasts. Very disappointed not to have tea and coffee making facilities. This required us to get hot water from Starbucks and carry back to hotel. Not really hot when we got back but best we could do. Very clean. Great location. Staff a bit withdrawn. Wi Fi expensive and inconsistent pricing depending on who was on duty. Would stay again but don't accept room 44!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jaycar98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights, I was impressed when I came in to find the some of the staff helpful. I was on the ground floor which suited me as I had a big suitcase. The room was nice, very quaint, tv was good with loads of diffrent channels, the bathroom was great, clean, big.

The hotel is around the corner from Vondel Park. Public transport is very close, you can get a tram to most of the tourist areas or a bus. I was a little disappointed with the breakfast as it was cold meats, boiled eggs, fruit and tomatos.

The staff were mostly good there were the 2 on in the morning that I had a problem with, 1 of them was just a pain in the butt that I avoided when coming out and then other 1 was rude and arragont. There is a cat who lives in the hotel, he doesn't go into rooms but you'll see him most morning when breakfast is on, he's a friendly little fellow who just wants a scratch, his name is Mr Spencer.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milanovictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

AMSTERDAM - great city to explore and this is a pritty decent location from which to do it. Hotel serves basic functions of eating and sleeping so more like a large bed and breakfast. Breakfasts in hotel were nice - bread, eggs, ham cucumber, tomatoe, cereal - the usual buffet breakfast fair. Coffee machiene for self service also. Note no kettle in the bed rooms so if your partial to a cup of tea in your room then I'm afraid you have to go to reception to get a cup of boiling water for your tea!! a slight bit annoying for tea and coffee drinkers. The Dutch and staff in general were fine at this establishment - the older Dutch gentleman who seemed to work the late shift at reception ( possibly the owner) was a nice friendly guy well suited to speaking with guests and was very helpful - even suggested we don't pay 100 euro for late check out but use his luggage hold room free of charge - a genuinely decent chap - as our flight was late at night with check out at 11 o'clock in the morning. The younger dark haired gent who worked reception by day was rude, arrogant, condescending and gave the air of he could not care less when approached by guests - he was a little too "as matter of fact " for my likeing - he didn't seem to have the people skills of the older gentleman - he could learn from him let me tell you. On a whole decent location to city within walking distance - close to ledesplein 2-3 mins by foot on door step of vondlepark also. would use again as really only a basic base to get your head down at night pitty about the staff with no people skills!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TORRES699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#142 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Hotel Europa 92
#187 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,171 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#107 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsen Hotel

Property: Prinsen Hotel
Address: Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Prinsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing