We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Would Certainly Come Back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nadia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nadia
Ranked #103 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel & Would Certainly Come Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at this cool hotel for a couple of days and were so happy we did. It was at a great part of town (near the Anne Frank House & Palace, Dam, National Monument etc) which for us was perfect as we walked everywhere. The hotel was very clean and we got a nice warm welcome + a free soft drink. Our bags were taken to our deluxe canal view room and we also got fresh flowers placed in there. The room was quirky, with a balcony and a toilet that was on the small side, but it wasn't a big deal as we wasn't going to be there a lot anyway, although the shower was fantastic. It had a small tv, tea & coffee etc, the usual standard stuff, although I brought my own tea as there's isn't great and tastes weak. It was quiet for us despite being on a main road as the windows closed 90% of road noise out. Breakfast was ok, just usual European fare, tea, coffee, orange juice, bread, cheese, cake, yogurt, apples etc which was enough to just get us going in the morning. We thought the staff were fantastic and always there to help and always had a smile and wished us a good day. This alone made it worth it for us. Ok, so now the dreaded stairs which most people seem to have complained about. They're right in that they are steep and narrow with no lift. We loved the Dutch quirky staircase which is very normal there but admit we just had a couple of shoulder bags but if you have several suitcases to drag up then this hotel isn't for you. If we did have suitcases (we were on the top floor) this review may have been a bit different. It's a great hotel and very near to attractions run by great and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Hotel is not built for big heavy suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,528
    1,484
    460
    124
    67
See reviews for
405
1,707
428
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I agree with a previous reviewer; get a balcony if you can. We did and loved it! The staff were tremendous and the location was fantastic. Take the canal taxi which the green line is only 2 blocks away. The Anne Frank museum was only steps away too.
If you can climb the stairs, you're in for one of the best deals in the city!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guestess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we chose the Hotel Nadia in part based on its location. As they say in real estate, "location, location, location," The other key elements to this hotel are the great staff and the hotel's cleanliness.
Yes, the stairs are daunting. The first set up to the lobby are really two stories. But they tell you right away to leave your bags at the bottom of the stairs and they immediately get them for you. Our room was on what I think would be the fourth floor and I found the stairs to be something I dreaded coming home to. But that's just the way it is in smaller hotels in Europe.
We did not have any trouble with the breakfast room being crowded. The first morning we ate at about 10am and on the second morning it was about 7:30am The croissants are great!
We were travelling with our teenage daughter so even the triple was crowded for the three of us. But we had a balcony that really helped with adding space. We enjoyed reading on the balcony in the evening.
We are pretty seasoned travellers and have learned that small European hotels are charming and enjoyable but you have to be willing to accept a few compromises. If your priorities are a central location, clean rooms and a helpful staff, then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brinkleybuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

The service was very polite and helpful, there was no problem with the early arrival and leaving our luggage till late afternoon. The room was very cosy, very clean bathroom, tv, coffee and tea facilities, a little bit noisy as it was the street side room. Breakfast was tasty. A very good place to visit Amsterdam for the reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagdalenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Granted, the stairs from the street up to the hotel are daunting, but will soon transform themselves into magnificence, natural and homey Dutch. Heavy luggage? Don't worry, the staff will take care of that, anytime, as they did with any other issue during our five days stay. Top notch service, beautiful view of the Kelzersgracht canal from our room. The room was small, but highly functional, and they even find ways to place a mini-fridge. Going to the sights is also easy. Tram 14 goes to Rembrandtplein, the Zoo and on; trams 13 and 17 goes to the Central Station and will, the other way, take you one stop to tram 10 which goes to Leidseplein. Hotel Nadia is a great small hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TemaMagicFlute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Booked the Nadia because of other reviews and think it was great. Steps are an issue but they carried up bags and staff was extremely helpful. Can't beat the location.! Rooms very small but clean and modern bathroom. Great value but keep in mind it is a 2* hotel.

Room Tip: room overlooking canal had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJKStPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Nadia hotel is in a good location for visiting Amsterdam. It is on a busy road by two canals very close to the quieter "7 Streets" area, the Ann Frank house and to tram stops. Damm Square is about 5 minutes walk away. It's an easy walk to the Wallen district and Railway station (or you can take a tram if you're tired, lazy or heavy-laden).

As has been noted by other guests, the steps are very steep and it's a big climb up to the reception. It was an even bigger climb to the top floor, where we were staying.

Our room was classed as a double but it really was only big enough to be a single room - and a small one at that (that's even for Europe, for American readers!). The bed was pushed up against the wall at one side, which gave a rather claustrophobic feel, and we had to climb over each other to get in or out of it. There was very little space at the other side of the bed. The small room was crammed with unnecessary shelving units and furniture - including a fridge, slightly worryingly overhanging the foot of the bed - and this reduced the scarce available space further. The bathroom was equally tiny and had to be used with the door open. There was always a good supply of hot water, however. A roof window let us see the street below, but we did not notice any street noise. We found the beds to be surprisingly comfortable. The electrics were a bit unconventional but seemed safe.

The breakfast room was very small, too, and we had to wait for a place in the morning. Once we were in, it was very crowded. The buffet breakfast itself was nothing special.

The staff were polite and friendly. We were offered a free drink when we arrived, as promised. The guy on reception carried our bags up and down the stairs when we arrived and departed, and stored them for us because we arrived before the room was ready. A bonus that more luxurious hotels often do not provide was _free_ wifi in the room with good signal strength. (Ask at reception for the password.)

To the hotel management, I'd suggest stripping out all unnecessary fittings and furniture from the room to maximise space, and decorating it in a crisp style in a light plain colour to reduce feelings of claustrophobia. And if there is not at least 40cm on both sides of the bed, then market it as a single room.

Overall, the cramped room, the many steep stairs and the wait for a place at the average breakfast did not spoil our stay in Amsterdam. The location of the hotel meant we were close to almost everything we wanted to see and could use public transport to get to everything else, and the polite staff and comfortable beds made it a more pleasant stay.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone slim, fit and healthy who would not actually spend much time in it! For someone who just wants a base for exploring the city and a place to sleep, it's a reasonable option, though I suspect there are better choices.

Room Tip: Try another floor, in case rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theflyingfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#19 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#58 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#69 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#123 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Property: Hotel Nadia
Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Otel, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing