We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old-world hotel in prime location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #19 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2007

This is a beautiful old-world hotel right in the middle of Amsterdam and steps away from the flower market. The rooms are lovely and the service is exceptional. Rooms with balconies overlooking a canal are particularly pleasant. The meeting rooms are a little bit plain but there's nothing to complain about. Overally, my experience here was excellent and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NYC304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2007

I stayed at this hotel many times in the 1980s and on returning in April 2007 was delighted to find it as good as ever. Beautiful room, plenty of space, lovely bathroom, friendly and knowledgeable staff, everything working just as it should. And the restaurant is as good as ever -- yes, it should be, for the price. But it does everything well and there is the added delight of watching boats on the canals just below the restaurant window. What a pleasure to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jacquestati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

I was very surprised that I loved the room and the location as much as I did. It was perfect for a first visit. I absolutely would come back to this hotel again. It is the best location of all the hotels to see everything in Amsterdam. I got the room upgrade with American Express booking which was wonderful the room was beautiful, the staff was gracious. It was perfect. I give it 5 star all the way around. I cannot wait to go back.

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank VickiHendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2006

I stayed here on business in June 2006. This is a 5-star hotel with good location in Amsterdam, right across from the Munt Tower and the flower stalls. I don't even want to guess what it cost, but it must have been expensive. The rooms are huge for Amsterdam, with a decor that (is supposed to) resemble Napolenic decor. The staff is professional and courteous, but not very friendly. There is no iron in the room, so you have to send it out. They will iron one item per day for free, then it's $10 per item. One day a pair of pants never made it back. It took forever for them to find the pair - they had been delivered to the wrong room. When it came back, there was a women's outfit with it, even though I was staying by myself. Worst of all, the staff didn't seem too alarmed and did not try too hard to find my clothes - I had to repeatedly "bother" them, and it took several hours to correct the situation. Unless you are staying here on business or have a large amount of free money to throw around, I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank tsl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights in July on our way to Turkey. The location is wonderful. It is right on a canal and walking distance to a tramline. I booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and photos I saw on the website. I am thankful we stayed on points and didn't have to pay the $500 plus it would have cost us per night. We booked 2 rooms, one with a king bed and one with twins for our girls. Thankfully, we were able to get rooms which had a connecting door. I can see that this Old World traditinal hotel was a grandly decorated hotel when new, but it could do with updating. It looked like Old World traditional. The bathrooms were marble, updated and a nice size though. We arrived during a heatwave so had to use the air conditioning which was barely passable. I found it annoying that housekeeping opened the windows when they cleaned the rooms, letting in all of the hot air, so we never came back at the end of the day to a cool room. The front desk was diplomatic but not friendly. We opted for convenience over price and ate breakfast in the dining room which was fantastically expensive (about $22 per person for the buffet). We never ate lunch or dinner there since there were much more interesting, and cheaper options nearby. The clientele seemed to be older couples. There were very few families. The indoor swimming pool is a spa pool and tiny - just enough to paddle around in. I did like the small size of the hotel though. It was quiet. In fact, I don't think there were many people staying at the hotel, given it's price, since there are probably much better options at half the price in the same area.

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank gtgsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2006

I stayed in this luxury hotel recently, as it is part of the American Express Platinum hotels, but I am truly disappointed about this hotel. It is a Leading Hotel of the World, but it is so run down and shabby, I could not believe it. The room is very mediocre in its design. All is working in the room but I was hoping for a special experience and did not get that feeling in this hotel unfortunately. The staff is very friendly and apologetic, they must have sensed I was not totally satisfied, although I did not want to tell them their hotel needs a complete overhaul, I am sure they know that themselves even better than me... Trust me, if you want an experience, go to the Amstel Hotel, it is more expensive but worth every penny more in terms of (classic) design, comfort and amenities.

Stayed: July 2006
5  Thank Doubledutch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

As being a Dutchman I was very surprised by reading the negative tripreports about this hotel: De L'Europe does have a great name in The Netherlands. I was booked in this hotel by a client of our company and therefor able to check it myself.
The hotel is at a great spot, at the corner of a crossing of busy canals, very close to the Rembrand plein and the Shopping area. The outside of the building is very impressive. This is continued inside. It is all in the same traditional style, which is well maintained. My room was at the Canal side, with a small balcony. What a great view, absolutely super. The room contains everything that it should contain, including airconditioning (which is not always the case in 4/5 starts hotels in the Netherlands!). Also the rooms are in a traditional style, which fits into the expectations of the building exterior. Room was decently sized, bathroom size also. Bathroom is not very modern, but everything was clean and working fine.
Staff of the hotel was as friendly as they should be (8 out of a raning of 10). I did not try the restaurant, but it has a great reputation in Amsterdam. Breakfast was ok.
Conclusion: De L'Europe is a great hotel, especially if you like hotels that take care of traditions.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyingdutchmannl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,402 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,359 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $374 - $819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing