We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wish I'd chosen the Pulitzer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #17 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wish I'd chosen the Pulitzer”
Reviewed March 22, 2010

The new renovation of this hotel is unfortunate. I'm afraid it has forgotten how it earned its reputation in the first place. Gone is the beautiful breakfast restaurant with sizable buffet. It has been replaced with a tiny dark restaurant with tiny, very overpriced ala carte breakfast offerings. The guest room is poorly designed in tacky modern style. The painting in the bedroom features the head of a young girl from a Rembrant painting who is staring down upon the bed. The headless torso of the girl is the featured artwork in the living room. We booked a canal view room and were at first given a room on the top floor with a view of the concrete railings that were placed in front of the windows. This was followed by a room with a bedroom that did not have a window to the outside but instead to the lobby. Although the location of this hotel is excellent, I can no longer recommend it. It has forgotten how it earned it's high rating.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zwxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    248
    77
    19
    22
See reviews for
243
749
71
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Stayed here on my way to Aruba and on the way back from Curacao earlier in the year. We had booked via lhw.com so got good rates on superior rooms etc. Upon arrival I found that my bags had not arrived the hotel staff provided my with lots of hygieneproducts deo,hairbrush, toothbrush/paste etc. I also got a chocolate version of a Rembrandt painting, some genever(dutch liquer) with gold leaf in it which is traditional for a Dutch bride to get. I also got a lot of other little gifts around the room, champagne, chocolates, fruit etc. Great attention to detail.
On my return trip I stayed in a different suite, not in the new part of the building. The bathroom was modern but too squashed, there are glass walls between the tiolet and the shower, very strange , the room was fine but the decor was a little shabby, light fittings hanging off the wall in our hall area, very dated even for the type of building it is the room decor needs to look clean not dated. I had food in my room as I was flying early during each stay, mostly brekfast , typical dutch fare, not great but adequate. Would I stay here again , probably but thats only because I stayed there during my honeymoon. Would it be my first choice in Amsterdam, no. Only for two things, I know amsterdam well and it's just an alright location for me. I have stayed in lesser "styled rooms" but in much better hotels and for a more reasonable price and the rooms had balconies that were modern, in fact for the balcony we had to book a suite in this hotel. If you stay at the lesser star NH Doelen ( attached to this hotel ), you can have the same balcony overlooking the same canal for €300 cheaper a night........not great service at the Doelen but...it is a recession

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

I didn't know what to expect from the outside, but once in my room I was amazed. I was in one of the newly renovated rooms. Hardwood floors, steam shower, frette linens and bvgari amenities.

The TV popped out of the bed.

I had the chance to tour the new portion of the hotel which should open soon. These are brand new rooms and are amazing. They are very large and very high tech.

The location is perfect. You can walk anywhere in 20 minutes. The hotel goes out of their way to help. It was raining and they let me borrow an umbrella.

Once the new section opens with the updated fitness center, this property will be one of the best small hotels in the world.

If you are questioning the value, go for it, its worth it, you only live once...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning-Guest23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel was right in the middle of everything. The staff was helpful and so so nice. The rooms were amazing and very very clean. The price was higher than most of the other hotels but it is worth the extra money. All in all a beautiful and great place to stay. I probably wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monapancakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. I booked it as was one of very few good hotels in Amsterdam that had smoking rooms. On arrival check-in was very quick and efficient. The guy on reception noticed when looking at my passport, that I would be staying there on my birthday. The room , overlooking Amstel river, was very big, with huge, very comfortable bed and lots of wardrobe space. (No coffee making facilities, but coffee delivered to room promptly, with lovely petit fours included at weekend) Wireless internet was available at reasonable rate. The bathroom , all done in marble, with lovely Bvulgari toiletries, had separate toilet and bidet area, shower and bath. We didnt eat in restaurant but the room service food was excellent and the staff were more than happy to accomodate our requests. Breakfast was delivered to the room on time, and as with all the staff we were addressed by our names at all times.
There was a lovely terrrace overlooking the river, but unfortunately this was closed due to inclement weather during our stay.
We cant comment on the swimming pool or fitness area as we did not use, but was great for a city central hotel to offer this facility.
Hotel de L'Europe is close to trams stops and within walking distance of both Dam square and Rembrandtplein. The Red Light District is only 15 min stroll away along the canal. We have never been to Amsterdam before but, we felt safe anywhere, anytime we went out.
I really must commend the staff at this hotel. We hired a car and could not figure out the GPS system. The doorman, whose name I regret I did not learn, could not have been more helpful. He took time to show us and set our destination. Alexander, on reception also helped us with addresses. I have never stayed anywhere were the staff were so helpful and doing because they wanted to help, not just because it was their job.
On my birthday, we returned to the room to find a gift left on bed for me. Nice touch! I really couldnt recommend this hotel highly enough. It may be pricey, but you get more than you pay for and this is rare.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Georgia62uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights here in late August. This is a 5 star hotel with a beautiful view and impeccable service. But it is PRICEY. We stayed for 2 nights, had the breakfast both mornings, ordered room service and used the minibar a bit.......$1200 American. Great location as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelersfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Arrived in Amsterdam from Stockholm after a week cruise in the Baltic. When we first saw our room, we were surprised at the dated decorating, but soon overcame that. Room was very large with three double closets, a very large marble bathroom, and lots of draw storage. Bed was very comfortable.

Hotel felt empty although our porter told us it was sold out. After wandering around, noticed other side of our floor was closed and under construction. Never heard any noise, but it did account for the empty feeling in the common areas.

Staff could not have been more helpful. Bikes are stored in basement and are available for rental. Mopeds are stored by stairs at entrance. Although we arrived after dinner, still could take a canal cruise in the evening that was within 25 yards of the hotel's front door.

Breakfast which was included in our room rate was a buffet with certain items available for order from the menu. Selections were very good, and as an American, I found it all satisfactory. Tables are against large windows with canal views. Bar area was small, but bartender was interested in all the clients and made an effort to know your name and be helpful. Musical entertainer was appropriate for a bar - interesting but not overpowering. Drinks were expensive.

Location was extremely convenient for us as first time tourists to Amsterdam. Saw Harry Potter across the street in a multiplex theater which was an awful experience, but everything else went very well.

We love 5 star hotels. The room decor did not meet that standard, but everything else at this property made up for that. Everyone at the front desk is trained to be a concierge which was a different experience. We were able to buy tickets from them that avoided the long lines at certain popular attractions.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjjtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,697 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing