We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Error-Filled Billing, But Otherwise Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #16 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Error-Filled Billing, But Otherwise Excellent”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is an excellent hotel with attentive staff. The rooms are luxurious and have touches such as baseboard lights that turn on as soon as your feet hit the floor during the night if you need to get up. The desk clerks were very pleasant and gave us good pointers about museums (note: make sure to reserve a time for the Anne Frank House online before going or wait in line for about three hours). The Terrace dining area and bar were a relaxing oasis after a day of walking. This would be a five star review except that there were mistakes on two of our restaurant (Terrace) bills and on on our room bill. At the Terrace, a special Prix Fixe order was billed as individual items resulting in a higher price and twice we were not billed for drinks we ordered and received. On checkout, the bill included a charge for an electric outlet adapter (they have one in the armoire in plastic in case you did not bring one - I thought this a cheap touch for this level of a hotel). I used one I had brought with me (given to me by a hotel in Paris). I will note that all errors were promptly taken care of when pointed out. I would recommend this hotel...but read those bills.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quixone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    240
    75
    19
    20
See reviews for
230
730
69
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late in the evening and the staff were very helpful. Our room was incredible, interesting decorations not at all bland, beautiful view over canal, exactly what I had hoped for. Very impressive gadgets, ipad and sound system we didn't use but did use chargers for own gear! Night sensor lighting to guide to bathroom another impressive touch. lovely breakfast looking over canal. we ate at the hotel too, food was relaxed Bistro nothing to rave about but well priced good food, excellent service and superb location watching the life on the canal pass by. Great location.this was a treat and we felt like it had been money well spent. high commended, everything was done well and felt special.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwigirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was our third stop on our month long adventure. Right from our arrival, the doorman and the reception couldn't do enough for us. They had a minor issue with our reservation. Consequently they upgraded us to a beautiful suite overlooking the square. When I opened the windows, the tower clock chimes immediately played a delightful tune. The details and opulence of this suite made us both giggle. The hotel is in a great location. The bar and restaurant are wonderful. The breakfasts exceptional. They provided us with bikes, restaurant suggestions, and sold us a special package that made this stay the best. It included passes for museums and tickets to the Netherlands Symphony Orchestra. This truly was home away from home. We look forward to returning and recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I had the pleasure of spend a few day in Amsterdam at the De L'Europe hotel and the experience was nothing short of exceptional. The desk staff (Dennis) and concierge (Amanda) catered to our every need and were extremely helpful in making recommendations and reservations. All of the hotels capabilities from the front door staff, restaurants to room service were excellent and I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know. They even took care of returning our rent a car.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My friend and I are in our 50s. We capped off a week in Amsterdam with two nights at this luxury hotel and couldn't have been happier. The service, wine selection, food and environs were nothing short of stellar! It felt as though we were visiting doting rich relatives who had hired a special staff to cater to our every need. Everything about this hotel is sensually rich - the colors, the art on the walls, the marble in the bathroom, the comfort of fine sheets on the exquisitely comfortable bed. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Even a cheaper room in this hotel is luxurious and lovely. We had a room on the interior, but for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were at de L'Europe July 24-27. Nothing could have been improved! Room, service, and of course the Bord Eau Restaurant. From checkIn to checkout, all was top drawer. Especially of note was guest relations, concierge, and reception staff. Will be back for sure. Amsterdam is a gorgeous city and this hotel is in the middle of it.

Room Tip: Worked with travel agent at Kelly Cruises who secured a great room on a canal so view extraordinary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megeve, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Ideal location in Amsterdam, easy to walk around and get everywhere! Very spacious and comfortable rooms, full technologic equipment in the room. I loved the style of the hotel which is warmy and cosy. I highly recommend this property !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,235 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,529 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing