We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star facilities 4 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #17 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“5 star facilities 4 star service”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Fantastic location right in the middle of Amsterdam with well appointed rooms and luxury bathrooms. We stayed in a courtyard facing room which was nice and quiet .
The concierge was excellent but some of the other staff not so good. I had to wait for attention at
The reception and concierge desk most times so perhaps more staff needed when a queue develops.
I was disappointed about the boat trip I wanted to go on .
I tried to book the special trip for hotel guests only and I was the first to request a booking for the following day. A minimum of 4 people are needed so we were offered choice of paying for 4 people and we had to decide in next 2 hours, which we declined. She did not ask for our names / room number to let us know if other people wanted to go . Presumably the next 2 people wanting to go would have encountered the same problem unless they were dealt with by a more resourceful member of staff .
Imagine my disappointment the next morning when at breakfast when I saw the boat arrive and several people getting on !!

Not sure about need for I pad in room - looks flash but serves no useful purpose

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusicLoverEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    246
    77
    19
    22
See reviews for
240
744
70
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

From the great views, to the uniquely-appointed rooms, to the charming staff...simply outstanding!Everything about it was perfect. The concierge even booked the most wonderful private dinner cruise -- we had our own boat and captain, the food was fabulous. The experience was magical -- walked out of the hotel into our boat.

Room Tip: The rooms that have balconies are wonderful to sit and watch the city and what is happening on the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Amsterdam is crowded, dirty and loud. The De L'Europe is clean and quiet. I found the staff friendly and helpful at every turn. I had a canal facing room, which was spacious and comfortable. If I must go back to Amsterdam, this is definitely the place to stay. I dined in the brasserie (with gorgeous canal view) and had breakfast on site. Both were excellent

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spedlyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of times already and it is excellent every single time. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and know us by now which is always a treat. The room service is excellent, the beds are insanely comfortable and the dinner and breakfast are great! Go down to Freddy's Bar for a fresh beer with the amazing bartenders. Had an amazing stay and I'm sure anybody going there will too! Located very close to Amsterdam's main shopping street: Kalverstraat and the amazing Leidseplein!

Room Tip: We had a room with a lovely view of the Amstel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfanatic278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The settings are lovely right on the side of the Canal, watching the boats and people go by, great food with a interesting menu to suit all, great tentative service, only thing to take in to consideration is that the restaurant is outside so is cold.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank justkeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have just had a great couple of days staying at the Hotel De L' Europe which is in the most perfect position on the banks of the Amstel River slap bang in the centre of Amsterdam. The bedroom was enormous with a glorious bathroom and service to match.
Richard van Oostenbrugge worked his magic with my dinner at the 2 star Bord 'Eau restaurant which was absolutely delicious. I am now dreaming of the time I can next visit Holland and go to this great hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We booked three nights through the hotel website but the canal view (at a higher price) requested was not honored. Supposedly, we were upgraded to a junior suite but it is in a dark attic with a view of the neighboring rooftops. I have written to the gentleman who responded so kindly to other unhappy guests but he is unavailable until after we leave. At reception, we were told that a could change rooms to a river view tomorrow. This evening we have been told that a room with only a partial view will be shown to us. It is our 34th wedding anniversary Saturday & we wanted to splurge on a really special place. Since I have had cancer twice I do not anticipate a return. The Van Gogh Museum was on my bucket list so maybe our visit there tomorrow will change my mind about Amsterdam. So far the De L'Europe Amsterdam is a great disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ninewinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry I did not get to meet you due to my annual leave whilst you were in residence and please accept my sincere apologies that your river view request was not honored upon arrival. From my understanding my colleague managed to upgrade you to a river view suite with balcony after your first night with us, which was appreciated. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations upon arrival but am pleased to hear that you did end up enjoying your stay with us.

If I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,271 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing