We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“5 star facilities 4 star service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #13 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“5 star facilities 4 star service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Fantastic location right in the middle of Amsterdam with well appointed rooms and luxury bathrooms. We stayed in a courtyard facing room which was nice and quiet .
The concierge was excellent but some of the other staff not so good. I had to wait for attention at
The reception and concierge desk most times so perhaps more staff needed when a queue develops.
I was disappointed about the boat trip I wanted to go on .
I tried to book the special trip for hotel guests only and I was the first to request a booking for the following day. A minimum of 4 people are needed so we were offered choice of paying for 4 people and we had to decide in next 2 hours, which we declined. She did not ask for our names / room number to let us know if other people wanted to go . Presumably the next 2 people wanting to go would have encountered the same problem unless they were dealt with by a more resourceful member of staff .
Imagine my disappointment the next morning when at breakfast when I saw the boat arrive and several people getting on !!

Not sure about need for I pad in room - looks flash but serves no useful purpose

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MusicLoverEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    208
    67
    16
    20
See reviews for
195
631
56
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

From the great views, to the uniquely-appointed rooms, to the charming staff...simply outstanding!Everything about it was perfect. The concierge even booked the most wonderful private dinner cruise -- we had our own boat and captain, the food was fabulous. The experience was magical -- walked out of the hotel into our boat.

Room Tip: The rooms that have balconies are wonderful to sit and watch the city and what is happening on the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Amsterdam is crowded, dirty and loud. The De L'Europe is clean and quiet. I found the staff friendly and helpful at every turn. I had a canal facing room, which was spacious and comfortable. If I must go back to Amsterdam, this is definitely the place to stay. I dined in the brasserie (with gorgeous canal view) and had breakfast on site. Both were excellent

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spedlyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of times already and it is excellent every single time. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and know us by now which is always a treat. The room service is excellent, the beds are insanely comfortable and the dinner and breakfast are great! Go down to Freddy's Bar for a fresh beer with the amazing bartenders. Had an amazing stay and I'm sure anybody going there will too! Located very close to Amsterdam's main shopping street: Kalverstraat and the amazing Leidseplein!

Room Tip: We had a room with a lovely view of the Amstel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfanatic278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The settings are lovely right on the side of the Canal, watching the boats and people go by, great food with a interesting menu to suit all, great tentative service, only thing to take in to consideration is that the restaurant is outside so is cold.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank justkeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have just had a great couple of days staying at the Hotel De L' Europe which is in the most perfect position on the banks of the Amstel River slap bang in the centre of Amsterdam. The bedroom was enormous with a glorious bathroom and service to match.
Richard van Oostenbrugge worked his magic with my dinner at the 2 star Bord 'Eau restaurant which was absolutely delicious. I am now dreaming of the time I can next visit Holland and go to this great hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We booked three nights through the hotel website but the canal view (at a higher price) requested was not honored. Supposedly, we were upgraded to a junior suite but it is in a dark attic with a view of the neighboring rooftops. I have written to the gentleman who responded so kindly to other unhappy guests but he is unavailable until after we leave. At reception, we were told that a could change rooms to a river view tomorrow. This evening we have been told that a room with only a partial view will be shown to us. It is our 34th wedding anniversary Saturday & we wanted to splurge on a really special place. Since I have had cancer twice I do not anticipate a return. The Van Gogh Museum was on my bucket list so maybe our visit there tomorrow will change my mind about Amsterdam. So far the De L'Europe Amsterdam is a great disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ninewinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry I did not get to meet you due to my annual leave whilst you were in residence and please accept my sincere apologies that your river view request was not honored upon arrival. From my understanding my colleague managed to upgrade you to a river view suite with balcony after your first night with us, which was appreciated. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations upon arrival but am pleased to hear that you did end up enjoying your stay with us.

If I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing