We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam revisited for 50th Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #16 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amsterdam revisited for 50th Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We spent our honeymoon in Amsterdam so we thought we would go back for our 50th. We had a fantastic time. The room was excellent, the staff so helpful, the restaurants top class. The bed was huge, very comfortable and about the size as the room we stayed in on our honeymoon. The size of the pillows was beyond belief. The marble bathroom was very special. The concierge staff were very efficient and organised trips for us, provided tickets so we did not have to queue and gave us excellent advice where to eat, including booking on our behalf. Truly a world class hotel. We are seasoned travellers and know a good thing when we see it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    245
    77
    19
    22
See reviews for
240
742
70
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The title is a large one to fill but I believe this hotel was the BEST overall hotel I have stayed (with the Marmara Bodrum in Turkey very close!).
I would consider myself an above aaverage traveler who recognizes good value and service.
From the moment we checked in, to the exit, this hotel exceeded our expectations.
Quick and easy check in (with a tour of our room and ameneties), a great concierge and staff, great breakfast, our room was large and clean with an ipad to go online, the best hotel shower, awesome breakfast, great location, Freddy's bar is nice and great reviews on their Michelin Star restaurant (we had other reservations), elegant and historical buiulding.

What impressed me the most was the staff's attention to detail, top to bottom. That made a world of a difference.

My wife and I cannot rave enough about this hotel. Thank you to the entire staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRM1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curzay-sur-Vonne, France
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I booked De L'Europe Amsterdam Hotel as my husband's advice for my vacation. The hotel was truly awesome as the first class hotel. I love it from outside to inside, it seems perfectly perfect. It looked like an old castle, so historic, royal and luxury. I felt like a queen when I stayed here. My room was spacious, cozy and classy with classic design, high quality furniture and amazing river view. The bathroom was small, but clean and comfortable. I love gym centre, it had modern equipment. The indoor swimming pool was small, but peaceful. Few customers used this pool, so it was the quiet place to enjoy cocktail and read a book.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggodoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

i booked this hotel for just a night, it was comfortable (the lighting system was a little too clever for me though, with sensors and a complicated setup in the bathroom where i was mostly in the dark) The location was great, very central.
As the hotel did have many available rooms I asked if I could have a larger room as mine was quite small but this could sadly not happen without a significant increase in price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Over the last 17 years I have stayed in countless different hotels in Amsterdam and the hotel De L'Europe is without a doubt the best of the lot.
The most spacious rooms, the best service and staff and an excellent location.
They say you get what you pay for and although this hotel is not cheap, it is definitely value for money.
I will definitely be staying here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just enjoyed a truly great two night stay at the De L'Europe. The hotel is very well located with the flower market, shopping, canal services and many a tram services just outside the door. The staff are a credit to the hotel and from the minute we walked through the door we felt so welcome. The room we had was lovely with everything you would need to relax after a long day out in Amsterdam. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a comfortable relaxing hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eganfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The staff made this excellent hotel even better. The room was spacious and the bathroom was conveniently designed. My room was kept spotless and resupplied. The air-conditioning was exceptionally quiet. Wifi was fast and consistent. The evening turndown service which is often lacking was routinely performed. We were often greeted by name by many of the staff. The breakfast buffet was excellent, but the coffee was not as good as the espresso machine in our room. You can not beat the location.

Room Tip: Room 228 had double sinks and 2 toilets and handicap compatible. Very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,269 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing