We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second time around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Holland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“second time around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I recently stayed here for the second time. After being extremely happy with the hotel the first time i was afraid it could only be a disappointment this time. I was wrong. I even stayed a night lobger than planned. Mainly because I wanted to enjoy the brand new Spa and go to the Rijksmuseum again.
Now I could go on and on about the staff and hotel and rooms, but I have said how great it is in my previous review. I had yet again a perfectly nice room. This time I would like to mention I used the new Spa and absolutely loved it. Beautifull treatment-rooms and relaxing sauna, steambath and infra-red sauna. Each with their own showerroom. Nice friendly staff and very good treatments. Good Pedicure (also medical), lovely bodywraps and massage and an absolute perfect facial. My eyebrows have never ever looked so good (ask for Joyce) The Spa alone is worth going to Amsterdam for:)

Also had lunch in their awardwinning restaurant. wich was ABSOLUTELY fantastic. Lovely flavours and so amazingly presented.

Ofcourse no Hotel is 100% perfect. Surely little things may go wrong here also. But i find them not worth mentioning as they would totally be irrelevant within the whole experience of staying in this Hotel. I advice everybody to please go and try.

Room Tip: dont think they have ANY bad rooms. If you want the window to open for fresh air ask for a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigrid66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    230
    73
    17
    20
See reviews for
219
690
66
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

My wife and me on a short trip to Amsterdam decided to stay at this wonderful hotel owned by the Heineken Family. We had a nice Junior Suite overlooking the Amstel river. A nice large bathroom with a heated marble floor and a large king bed made the stay extremely comfortable. The house keeping and room service staff were efficient. The restaurants at the hotel were great and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Excellent hotel over a canal right in the center of historical Amsterdam. I love that you have bikes available at the door and the service, bar is great. Expensive but it's worth it. Ideal for going with your significant other. This is not the best hotel for kids.

Room Tip: Overlooking the canal with balcony is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daninofal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at the De l Europe at the end of feb 2014 for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary. We upgraded from a standard to a deluxe (cost £100) and on arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite overlooking the Amstel. I had also pre ordered a box of chocolates with a personal note and I was rather disappointed when these were delivered after we had been shown into the room, somehow losing the effect !. We had a curved sitting room (which had very poor lighting at night and an excellent bose sound system which could only pipe music into the bathroom and despite changing the volume on my ipad and on the unit the sound levels remained the same !) a large queen size bed with tv (sound intermittent at times) and a superb marble bathroom (which would plunge you into pitch darkness after a while if you stayed in there too long. The room was also very cold and we had to call reception to ask them to take the room heating off reception control and back to room control. Despite the technical mishaps the room was lovely. On the first night we sampled the cocktail delights of freddys bar which was enjoyable although on a Wednesday night the atmosphere was rather subdued. On our last night we treated ourselves to the 7 course taster menu in the bord'eau and whilst the bill was sufficient to pay for another wedding anniversary weekend it was an incredibly enjoyable experience, from the service, to the recommended wine, to the delight of each course. We also sampled the spa which had all the relevant facilities although the pool was rather small and my wife was disappointed that all available treatments were fully booked but that was our fault for leaving it late. All in all en enjoyable stay but the technical issues in the room knocked our rating from a 5 to a 4.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonandNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Spent a week, but could easily live here. Beautiful suites overlooking the canal, amazing bathroom and a wonderful huge bed. The staff are more than just professional, they actually care and truly love their hotel and their city, and it shows. Don't miss dinner at Bord'eau, it's a once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: The Jr. Suite blue room overlooking the canal is plush and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmKen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in Amsterdam and we chose hotel de l'europe. As it was my birthday we were given a room upgrade. The staff were very good, the concierge was a great help on finding us superb restaurants on both nights. The hotel, whilst beautiful and in great location, was, we felt, overpriced for b&b. (£350 prpn) There are other really great hotels that would be better value for money.
Overall a great stay in a lovely city.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Small, old fashioned although brand new and beautiful rooms and bathrooms ! ( fab)
Staff extremely nice and helpful .
The rooms are very comfy and nice , the beds excellent .
The two ladies at the spa deserve a special mention for their professionalism, effectiveness , a great massage . And kindness
Location excellent too
We love being spoiled and hope to be back ..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elisabethle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L'Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L'Europe has been favored by Amsterdam's elite and the hotel continues to attract the world's most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L'Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord'Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city's most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar 'Les Caves De L'Europe'. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam's inspired gentlemen's pub Freddy's Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness 'Skins Institute - De L'Europe'. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing