We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #17 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Location”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

A beautiful hotel in the ultimate location.
A stones throw from all attractions, whether it be the shopping, the museums or the entertainment at the red light district.
Rooms are eclectic in their unique styling, yet extremely comfortable and well appointed.
Service is top notch and the concierge extremely helpful. We relied on him for his restaurant recommendations and were never disappointed.
Make sure to take advantage of the hotel's private boat for cruising the canals, fantastic and comfortable cruise complete with refreshments.

Room Tip: Canal views with a balcony are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Only1stClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    245
    77
    19
    22
See reviews for
240
742
70
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here several times before the entire hotel was rebuild. By coincidence, we walked by recently and had a coffee in the lounge. What a pleasure to return to this fine hotel. Next time we will certainly stay here again.
Excellent reception from the doormen, excellent coffee in the spectacular lounge. Unfortunately the "Freddy's" bar was not open yet. We have excellent memories there and viewing the photos, the same bar men are still there.
All rooms have been extensively refurbished and so have the restaurants.
What a pity we had booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

we had booked a junior suite and were upgraded to a one bedroom one not unfortunately with a canal view - the bedroom overlooked a quiet street but the separate living area complete with table for 6 and tv faced the hotel interior and so was very dark which the subdued lighting did not alleviate
excellent bathroom and with separate shower and another tv. The usual high end smellies and an enormous quantity of towels of all shapes and sizes
the bedroom had sensors to guide ones way to the (separate) loo at night and also lit up the interior lights in the wardrobes as one approached them. the tv there rose from the foot of the bed at the touch of a switch
chambermaid service was excellent. no mints on pillows (which were huge and downlike) but little applecakes instead,
conscierge recommendations for places to eat were spot on
but breakfast disappointed part buffet part table service led to confusion and drinks being cold when food arrived or vice versa
a reasonable choice of food breads etc without being sumptuous
and chicken sausages? why?
for a special occasion however it still ranks high on the list of hotels in amsterdam

Room Tip: try for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jock16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

we arrived for an extended weekend,and got the rooms we had asked for.
with a beautiful view to the canal and a small balcony

very comfortable;,bathroom great,but too little light in the wardrobe

Unfortunately the pool and spa was closed for renovation so we could not make use of it,but from previous visits I know it is very nice
The bar has a dj playing in the weekends and the old lobby really is swaying.
The breakfast is nice but remember to ask about ordering your egg dishes;they are extraa but delivered free mostly...
beautiful location and a terrace where you can enjoy lunches too.
The location is off course very good,you can walk to many interesting places/shopping/etc from your doorstep

why do you want modern, unpersonal hotels when you can enjoy last century opulence with todays comfort?

-book a private boat from the concierge and leave from the hotel,a very nice sightseeing awaits you.you can be dropped anywhere or return as you please.

Room Tip: facing the canal is always good,however;AWAY from the junction
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

If planning memorable stay in Amsterdam this is the place! Rooms are beautiful ... large, with great decorations, excellent bathroom, music available in every single corner of the room, iPad for ... whatever you wish. Breakfast ... well, you have to try! All is tasty and you will have a great choice! And for lunch and/or dinner - go to the restaurant that has incredible food!

Room Tip: Every time I had a different room and alway I was very happy :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAZ20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spend every Christmas in Amsterdam and have holidayed at a number of the 5 star hotels the city has to offer and we can say that this hotel did not disappoint! On arrival for our 4 night stay we were upgraded which is aways pleasant. Our room, 315, was an inner courtyard room and the quiet this afforded was excellent - living in the countryside we hope to have quiet rooms and this was fantastic. The facilties in the room were more than adequate and the housekeeping staff were very prompt with our everyday requests for fresh milk and in any other requests that we had. We never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes from telephoning them to arrival. The room was cleaned very well and the turn-down service which some hotels have stopped, made a welcome return.
The brasserie where we had daily breakfast was pleasant, we enjoyed sitting at the window seats and watching the world go by. The range of breakfast goods was good and the staff were very friendly and efficient.
The highlight of the stay had to be the Christmas dinner the in 2 Michelin starred Bord 'Eau - it was wonderful. Every course was amazing and the fact that the service was not stuffy but eager to inform and friendly enhanced our experience. I would heartily recommend the restaurant for its innovative menu and the finesse of its staff. We also took our nightcaps in Freddy's bar and this too was enjoyable - my husband particularly liked the smoking room so he didn't have to brave the chilly winds of the season. I liked the fact that all the staff were so friendly and willing to engage in conversation. It made you feel that the staff really cared about the quality of service and when on Boxing day some of the waiting staff from the restuarant came to shake our hands and ask after us - well I thought that was a nice touch.
The reception staff and concierge were equally ready to help and get tickets, taxis etc... we couldn't fault the experience.
We will be returning to the hotel without a shadow of a doubt and would recommend it to anyone staying in the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Loved it thirty years ago,
Loved it twenty years ago
Just stayed there for Christmas 2012 and still love it

Breakfast room service great

Brassiere food excellent. Could not get into fancier dining spot

Spa under renovation

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grefark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,269 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing