We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Luxury Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Luxury Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were upgraded into an extremely large suite in the new part which has been converted from a bank. Very comfortable and good dutch breakfast in our room. The luxury restaurant is closed on Monday night so we had oysters and dover soles in the brasserie. All the staff were exceptionally pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GGPtrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    230
    73
    17
    20
See reviews for
219
689
65
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
1,224 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 598 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of Amsterdam. Upon checked in I was upgraded to Junior Suite room. This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in Europe. It is an excellent hotel not only in location, but also in its quality of room and lobby lounge, quality of services and quality of breakfast. The staff are very helpful and friendly. I stayed there 4 nights. One night I visited Board'eau Bar and drink a glass of red wine. When I asked for the bill the bartender said in a very friendly way that he owe it for me. Very impressive. What I like most about this hotel is its bath room. It is very luxury, well and modernly equipped, and its really comfortable. I grade this bath room is the best of every hotel bath room I have ever stayed in more than 70 countries.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darnel-HDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear guest,

WOW! We are truely thrilled that your stay with us has made such an impact. It has been an absolute pleasure looking after you and hopefully we get the chance to do so again very soon!

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent location, fantastic staff and unparalleled service - a first class experience! We spent 3 nights at this beautiful, old-world yet updated property. We were upgraded to a suite upon checking in, our room had a lovely view of the Amstel River and was appointed with all the modern conveniences (iPad, Nespresso coffee machine, free wi-fi, spectacular bathroom). The concierge Amanda was our "go to" person for all advice, reservations and queries. After dinner drinks at Freddy's were great too! We couldn't have asked for a better experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flandmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such lovely comments. I will ensure Amanda will hear about them as well.

Warm regards and hopefully until very soon!

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is really beautiful! As soon as you enter you feel in a total different place. The decoration in the lobby is great and very "rich".

I had a junior suite and everything was extremely good!

The amenities I must admit are the best I have ever seen and for the turndown service you don't get a chocolate but a foot and leg cream to relax you!

There is an ipad in the room and you can order room service or any other service via it.

The bathroom was amazing - although you don't spend the most of your time in a bathroom however this one was exceptional! With a TV opposite the bathtub in the glass wall so you could watch a bit of tv while relaxing!

The outside terrace is also an excellent feature and generally you feel good!

My only down would be the breakfast which was not the greatest I ever had however the rest just compensates everything so it doesn't really matter!

The rooms are extremely comfortable and the views very nice (I had a view on the Amstel)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malvina31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Desr guest,

What can I say? Thank you vey much for leaving us such nice comments! The team at De L'Europe really take pride in what they do and it is nice to say this is being recognised.

Hopefully we see you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The DE L EUROPE AMSTERDAM at NIEUWE DOELENSTRAAT 2-14 AMSTERDAM, 31-20-5311777 is an excellent, expensive (360 Euros per night) is beautifully, recently renovated rooms in the heart of downtown, and a walk from everywhere. THe staff is professional, friendly, helpful, and as they should be. The sheets and linens were grand. Bord'Eau, one star Michelin restaurant, led by Executive Chef Richard van Oostenbrugge, provided us with a wonderful lunch, of appropriate portion size, and a modest priced chablis, which was excellent. I look forward to returning for dinner. I will return without hesitation to this convenient, and modern OLD Hotel without question.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your gracious feedback! On behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcome you back to the hotel very soon!

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a belated anniversary celebration and it was superb! We were upgraded to a suite, greeted with champagne, and taken care of for our 3 night visit! The staff was excellent, spoke beautiful English, and so helpful. Their recommendations were right on, whether for an Indonesian restaurant, late night bar fare, or where to see windmills. I can only hope every hotel stay I have from now on merely approaches this excellence. And the breakfast was excellent too! Pat and Carol, Charleston, SC

Room Tip: Choose it for a special occasion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving us such lovely comments and for having chosen to stay with us on such a special occasion. We sincerely hope this will become an annual tradition for you both!

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is right on the canal and has a fantastic old Europe feel. We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite which was absolutely spectacular. One of the best I've stayed in, lounge, dining, study, bedroom and 2 bathrooms. The service and concierge were first class and the morning breakfast included if booked through Amex platinum. Freddy's bar was excellent and great value for an evening cocktail. Hard to go past if looking for something special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Phil,

Your kind words are most appreciated. I hope you both have enjoyed a safe trip back to Sydney and that we have the pleasure of looking after you again at some point in the future!

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L'Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L'Europe has been favored by Amsterdam's elite and the hotel continues to attract the world's most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L'Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord'Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city's most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar 'Les Caves De L'Europe'. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam's inspired gentlemen's pub Freddy's Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness 'Skins Institute - De L'Europe'. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing