We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end hotel that overlooks the little things...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High end hotel that overlooks the little things...”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in August, very impressive upon arrival with the well dressed concierge opening the door for you, reception staff were very friendly & helpful, complimentary tasty puddings on your bedside tables, turndown service at night, slippers, bathrobes, etc etc as you expect for the price of the rooms...
however the room was a little dusty, some lights & switches didn't work, the complimentary use of a non-working iPad, & non-existent wifi (even though it says free wifi)...just a few oversights to make the stay a little unmemorable...besides this, Amsterdam was awesome!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feedback with us. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed our services and facilities!

Please note that whilst you were staying with us, we were in de midst of changing our entire WIFI service which obviously had an impact on your conectivity and the functionality of our in-room iPad At De L'Europe, we now have one of the fastest high speed WIFI networks on the market today which covers the entire hotel and terrace.

Please accept my apologies for the fact that you did not get to enjoy this service. I would truly apprciate it if you contact me directly when you are thinking of travelling to Amsterdam next in order for me to ensure you will be very well looked after.

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
jbronsveld@leurope.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    245
    76
    19
    22
See reviews for
238
741
70
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A remarkable stay.
From the first greetings at the door to leaving the property- PERFECT!
The Service, Quality, Accomodations ( Room was so quiet and had the BEST view), Food, Staff is 5 star - just an impeccable stay.
Recommend a Jr. Suite.
Cocktails and food in their lovely restaurant sitting along the canal is a delightful way to end your day.
Location is perfect, walkable to all major sites.
The ONLY bad thing...............we had to check out!
Can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: Book a Jr, Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A luxury hotel I have being seeing since my first visit to Amsterdam. We decide to stay there this time and I wish I had know its amazing failures considering what you pay for a room. Some, like the dust that dominates almost every corner, can be photographed. Others cannot. Among them.
I) the story that tells you the concierge upon arrival about the hotel services without caring if they are closed or not (as the restaurant Bord d'Eau in August)
ii) the rudeness of the breakfast restaurant staff. Do not expect them to give you any attention and quickly attend your requests or simply remember them. If you have the misfortune of being there for your breakfast when there are guests from their country of origin, your order is just history,
iii) If you don’t like to have your personal items touched and rearrange by house keeping staff put them in your luggage. They will do what they want with it.
iv) the light switches. Bear in mind that the halogen lamps in the ceiling can be graduated maintaining the pressure on the switch. Besides all that, except in the bathroom all the plugs are at the floor levels which is quite uncomfortable for laptops and iphones.
v) Location seems, and it is, great but the streets surrounding the hotel are very noisy.
vi) Be aware that a taxi from or to the airport will cost you half the price the service the hote will offer you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Triper_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for having taken the time to give us your feedback. I am truly sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and I wish that you would have made your dissatisfaction known whilst on property in order for us to immediately turn things around.

Please note that your feedback has been taken on board and addressed to the relevent departments in order to ensure action is taken. In order to maintain consistency in our service & kitchen team in Bord'Eau, the entire team is sent on holiday at the same time. Please do let me know when you are coming back to Amsterdam next in order for me to ensure you will be well looked after and experience the level of service we like to pride ourselves with.

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in two separate suites in this hotel in July and were very happy. First of all the staff is a delight. Especially Alice at the front desk and Farley the waiter at the breakfasts. We arrived early and they did not have our rooms available. So we decided to take the canal boat that takes tourists for a tour of the canals. When we returned only one of the rooms was ready. It was a decent suite, a bit on the cramped side and close to the front of the hotel. It had a very nice view of the canal, a small living room and small bedroom. The bathroom was all done up in white marble with black streaking. My only two small complaints about this room are that the curtain in the bedroom did not fully cover the window so light came in and one night you could hear rowdy people walk by. After a few hours we got access to our second suite. At first I was annoyed that it was on the other side of the hotel but was assured by Alice that I would like it very much. She was right. Our second suite (I think was 256) was larger than the first with a nice sized living area facing the canal, a bathroom done up in pink tiles and a nice sized bedroom with a curtain covering up the fact that it faced an indoor hallway (which I didn't care about). The color scheme was nice. The bed comfortable. There was a tv that you could raise from the end of the bed (didn't use). Here my only complaint was that it was so high tech that it was difficult figuring out how to turn on the lights in the various areas of the suite. The best part was the view from the living room at night. Just magical. Also, it was farther away from the front of the hotel so there was no noise from outside. I did not want to leave. Breakfasts were nice. The breakfast area faces the canal and there is a nice little buffet that was included. This is a great and very expensive hotel and has a very old money, old refined elegance. We ate at a good restaurant a block away. The hotel is located near touristy things. Personally, I do not prefer this area of Amsterdam. However, I liked the hotel. I liked Alice's recommendation for her favorite restaurant (not the one a block away). I would be happy to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misanthropicdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It was a joy to stay at the Hotel De L'Europe. Prior to our arrival, the hotel assisted in arranging for a sedan to pick up my wife and I at the airport. Check in was smooth and even though we arrived in the morning, a room was ready for us. It happened to be my birthday and the reception sent a tray of snacks and a bottle of wine with a gracious card to acknowledge the day. The staff was all very friendly and professional, and were of great assistance in providing directions around Amsterdam. The hotel was always spotless and the rooms are very comfortable with heated floors in the bathroom and plush beds. Shampoo, conditioner lotions (for men and women), shower gel, sewing kits etc. are provided. The hotel is also situated centrally in Amsterdam and is a 15-20 minute walk to almost all of the highlights, including the Anne Frank house, Central Station, Dam Square (5 minutes) and the Rijksmuseum. Amsterdam really is a walker friendly city, so the location of the Hotel is a real convenience. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonahNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We loved the newly renovated hotel, since it says Rijksmuseum in the lobby and in the rooms, with the outsized reproductions of the city's most famous paintings. But for us the service was the most important factor making us glad we chose a full-service hotel. We made several requests at the front desk over our stay, and each time the help was quick and unbelievably friendly. Amazingly, early one morning we needed a doctor and the hotel's contacts yielded a doctor in our room within the hour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Husband and I have visited the hotel last weekend (10Aug) and it was fantastic! The location, decor, building as well as the restaurants in the hotel are perfect! We arrived on Friday late evening and were checked in and shown to the room in no time and were down for a light dinner and drinks straight away.The view from the restaurant is fantastic and its quite fun to watach all the little boats go by. we had a Junior Suite 331 and it is one of the most gorgeous rooms I stayed in, all the amneties and the bed is the highest quality. We spent the weekend walkign around and saw few hotels in the area but nothing compares to Hotel De L'europe! Thank you so much for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadya_ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,267 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing