We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, people, rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel, people, rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Perfectly situated, grand style and the most beautiful rooms for any city. My family and I had adjacent rooms (after being upgraded). The rooms had a stunning view over the canal and streets.
Dinner on the terrace was beautiful purely for watching people cruise by on their small boats, having drinks and snacks. The food on the terrace was disappointing and not close to the standard of the main restaurant.
If you want to walk everywhere in mid-town Amsterdam, this is where to go.
Use Classic Boat Tours for a private cruise on the canals - a real highlight in a 1906 boat with champagne and all... Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolRamblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    215
    69
    18
    20
See reviews for
205
654
62
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The De L'Europe is considered one of Amsterdam's premier hotels. It's located within the oldest part of the city, and comprises several buildings that have been subsequently linked together (which is the case with many hotels and institutions in Amsterdam). It's in a quiet location with a big stretch of canal-front of which the terrace and restaurant take full advantage. Most of the places tourists would want to visit are within a 15 - 20 minute scenic walk. (The railway station is about a 5 - 7 minute tram ride - the doorman correctly advised us it was as quick as getting a taxi.)

We had an interior room view, which was small and had a view across a small void to other rooms. The room was reasonably well-furnished, though the TV/DVD was housed on a mobile stand, rather than being wall-mounted. Given the size of the room, using precious floor space in a slightly awkward location (at the entry to the room and bathroom) seemed a little odd. There was ample storage space and a Nespresso machine. A small table was tucked into a corner of the room, but was not really suitable for much other than putting belongings on. As such, sitting somewhere other than the bed was not an option.

There was service at least twice a day, and the room staff, as well as the desk staff, were very polite and helpful. The desk staff quickly pointed out the main tourist sites on the map, as well as indicating more residential areas that may be of interest (e.g. the Nine Streets in Jordaan).

The restaurant serves a buffet breakfast, which was lovely, but steeply priced at 32 euros per person. The hotel has a pool, which is small, and a small gym which was under renovation during our stay.

Overall this is a very good five star hotel, but in future trips I would look around for alternatives in this price range.

Room Tip: Interior view rooms literally look across a void to other interior view rooms. Canal view rooms woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HardieBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We chose this hotel to spend our 25th Wedding Anniversary in and we were not disappointed.

The hotel advised on a pick up service from the airport - A2B. The Mercedes people carrier that picked us up from the airport and delivers us to the door of the hotel was absolutely perfect. The driver was pleasant and very helpful despite having little English ( He knew more English than I knew Dutch, so I can't complain!)

The Concierge was ver polite and made sure that we were well looked after at the check in desk.

Having booked a standard room we were immediately upgraded at no extra cost as rooms were available.

The room itself was spectacular. A fully fitted wardrobe included within its fitting a safe, a nespresso machine, a mini bar and a full range of complimentary goods.

The bathroom was a full marble affair with bath, walk in shower toilet and hand basin. There was an abundance of towels and complimentary toil interviews, which were replenished every day.

The television included a full Bose sound system.

At night when getting out of bed in the dark floor sensors lit up low level lights in the bedroom and also put a small number of lights on in the bathroom.

Given the temperature was around 28 centigrade the air conditioning in the room was good particularly as it was silent running at night.

The room was serviced twice a day, The second being a turn down service and a quick sweep of the room to replenish bottles of water etc.

The hotel offered a choice of pillows and also blankets/ duvets.

Unfortunately we did not use the Spa is it was in the middle of a renovation programme.

The saff were very friendly and unassumingly attentive. The bar staff in Freddy's bar are well worth mentioning as nothing was too much trouble and the cocktails they serve are out of his world.

We ate breakfast in the hotel each morning. They provided a great selection of very good quality hot n cold foods. The Mango smoothies were excellent.

We only ate once in the evening in the hotel as the cost of dining in the hotel is quite high. The food was very good and once again the staff were brilliant. We ate in what I would consider to be the more basic restaurant and one salad, a rib eye steak for two, four beers and two coffees cost 120 euros!

We had a brilliant five nights, the hotel is beautiful and the customer service exceptional.

We will be going back to Amsterdam again and I will not stay anywhere else but the De L'Europe.

Room Tip: Room 414 is a well appointed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p3t3rbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with a very convenient location for sightseeing in Amsterdam. The hotel is situated right on a canal, with picturesque views of the street and canal. The exterior of the hotel is so charming that I observed a number of tourists stopping to photograph it while passing by.
The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are very spacious and clean with good showers and complementary bath products (bath salts, shampoo, etc.) I stayed 2 nights in a smaller room before upgrading to a larger room for an additional 2 nights.
The breakfast was delicious and had a really good selection, including lots of fresh juices. I had lunch at the Brasserie, which was very good, but did not try the Michelin starred restaurant, but I will be sure to next time.
The best quality of this excellent hotel is the staff. Every member of the staff I encountered was pleasant, polite, and service oriented. The front desk was very helpful in providing museum tickets and city recommendations, and I got the feeling they could handle just about any request.
This really is an excellent hotel, and guaranteed to make your visit to Amsterdam comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sabol305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Preface: this is a great hotel on many aspects. Nicely appointed rooms and spacious marble bathrooms with luxury amenities. Right by a canal, the view from the meeting rooms and the restaurant is what makes you fall in love with Amsterdam.

However, two mice paid us visit while having drinks at the Frieddie's bar around midnight. They freely roamed around the beer glasses and the counter. No wonder the waiter got the last few drinks on the house...I understand that Amsterdam has this problem, being largely built on water BUT you would think that a five star hotel could source a few mousetraps (?)

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind words about the hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the fact that you had been confronted with an unwelcome visitor. Due to the warm weather and open doors to the bar and terrace this they must have slipped through. Please note that we take this very seriously and have acted upon it with immediate affect.

We hope thatt we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to the hotel in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice hotel, .... but be aware of the price!

The price charged for specific rooms are definitely not the room available! .... The description of the room and the price described on the reservation, are not even close to the room they have available! ..... I reserved the most expensive Junior Suite rooms in the hotel; at 500 Euros a night; which is described in their site as a Junior Suite River View offered at 419 Euros and a Junior Suite offered at 381.80 Euros. The room they had available is located on a high floor, but has no view, and very small windows. It feels like we are locked in the attic! .... Very important also, .... is to verify if the Gym, the Spa, and the Sauna are really available for the guests as they advertise in several sites! I specifically chose the DE L'EUROPE Hotel in Amsterdam because I really use these facilities and only after I checked in, and asked for the sauna, is that they informed that the facilities were not available for the guests at these time! "Summer 2013" "July 15 to 18, 2013"
Since I stay in hotels, 4 to 5 stars, 80% of the year, around the world, ... I suggest that if you are planning to go visit Amsterdam, one of the most interesting cities in Europe! .... and enjoy beautiful views from your hotel room! ..... Choose another hotel! .... or cross your fingers to find available at this hotel! ..... a nice room with a view! ....even if you pay 500 Euros a night!

Room Tip: When making the reservation, PRINT the description of the room you reserved, specially the picture o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarinaLV2Tavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at De L'Europe. It saddens me te read that your experience at the hotel did not meet your expections.

At De L'Europe, we pride ourselves with having a large number of beautifully located river view accomodations, many with private terraces overlooking the Amstel river.
It surprises me to read that you are under the understanding that you were not given type of accomodation you had reserved. I would appreciate it if you could let me know by private email in which room you have stayed and how the reservation was made.

In reference to the SPA, we are about to commence a renovation which is due end of summer. Until then, our guests are still able to use the GYM and swimming pool facilities with whirlpool and jetstream. On our website and the 3rd party sites we work together with this information is also stated.

Please get in touch with me via jbronsveld@leurope.nl in order for us to investigate what happened with your booking.

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York/CT Area
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The good (really excellent, actually): location, rooms, staff service attitude. Not a quiet location, but if you want to be in the middle of things, with great access to public transportation along with river views, it's great. The rooms in the new wing are very handsome and in the old wing have been redecorated. The staff is courteous and enthusiastically helpful. So why isn't it a "five"? Because a hotel in this price category should: 1) be able to clean your room before 15:30 (one day), 2) should replace dirty glasses when they do clean (failed virtually every day), and 3) should be able to give you a junior suite in the new wing with a river balcony if you specifically reserved and paid for one with a transatlantic phone call to their reservations office, even if they are busy and even if the room they give you in the old wing on the second replacement try (after you've inspected and turned down a cramped and gloomy room in the old wing on the first try) is nice enough (not an upgrade, just the same category room in the old wing).

At this level of the game, details matter. This hotel could be among the very best if they could get them right.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor in the old wing. Sloped ceilings feel cramped and windows are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m6882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing