We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“All good until unexpected visit...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“All good until unexpected visit...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Preface: this is a great hotel on many aspects. Nicely appointed rooms and spacious marble bathrooms with luxury amenities. Right by a canal, the view from the meeting rooms and the restaurant is what makes you fall in love with Amsterdam.

However, two mice paid us visit while having drinks at the Frieddie's bar around midnight. They freely roamed around the beer glasses and the counter. No wonder the waiter got the last few drinks on the house...I understand that Amsterdam has this problem, being largely built on water BUT you would think that a five star hotel could source a few mousetraps (?)

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind words about the hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the fact that you had been confronted with an unwelcome visitor. Due to the warm weather and open doors to the bar and terrace this they must have slipped through. Please note that we take this very seriously and have acted upon it with immediate affect.

We hope thatt we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to the hotel in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    205
    67
    16
    19
See reviews for
189
614
56
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice hotel, .... but be aware of the price!

The price charged for specific rooms are definitely not the room available! .... The description of the room and the price described on the reservation, are not even close to the room they have available! ..... I reserved the most expensive Junior Suite rooms in the hotel; at 500 Euros a night; which is described in their site as a Junior Suite River View offered at 419 Euros and a Junior Suite offered at 381.80 Euros. The room they had available is located on a high floor, but has no view, and very small windows. It feels like we are locked in the attic! .... Very important also, .... is to verify if the Gym, the Spa, and the Sauna are really available for the guests as they advertise in several sites! I specifically chose the DE L'EUROPE Hotel in Amsterdam because I really use these facilities and only after I checked in, and asked for the sauna, is that they informed that the facilities were not available for the guests at these time! "Summer 2013" "July 15 to 18, 2013"
Since I stay in hotels, 4 to 5 stars, 80% of the year, around the world, ... I suggest that if you are planning to go visit Amsterdam, one of the most interesting cities in Europe! .... and enjoy beautiful views from your hotel room! ..... Choose another hotel! .... or cross your fingers to find available at this hotel! ..... a nice room with a view! ....even if you pay 500 Euros a night!

Room Tip: When making the reservation, PRINT the description of the room you reserved, specially the picture o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarinaLV2Tavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at De L'Europe. It saddens me te read that your experience at the hotel did not meet your expections.

At De L'Europe, we pride ourselves with having a large number of beautifully located river view accomodations, many with private terraces overlooking the Amstel river.
It surprises me to read that you are under the understanding that you were not given type of accomodation you had reserved. I would appreciate it if you could let me know by private email in which room you have stayed and how the reservation was made.

In reference to the SPA, we are about to commence a renovation which is due end of summer. Until then, our guests are still able to use the GYM and swimming pool facilities with whirlpool and jetstream. On our website and the 3rd party sites we work together with this information is also stated.

Please get in touch with me via jbronsveld@leurope.nl in order for us to investigate what happened with your booking.

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York/CT Area
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The good (really excellent, actually): location, rooms, staff service attitude. Not a quiet location, but if you want to be in the middle of things, with great access to public transportation along with river views, it's great. The rooms in the new wing are very handsome and in the old wing have been redecorated. The staff is courteous and enthusiastically helpful. So why isn't it a "five"? Because a hotel in this price category should: 1) be able to clean your room before 15:30 (one day), 2) should replace dirty glasses when they do clean (failed virtually every day), and 3) should be able to give you a junior suite in the new wing with a river balcony if you specifically reserved and paid for one with a transatlantic phone call to their reservations office, even if they are busy and even if the room they give you in the old wing on the second replacement try (after you've inspected and turned down a cramped and gloomy room in the old wing on the first try) is nice enough (not an upgrade, just the same category room in the old wing).

At this level of the game, details matter. This hotel could be among the very best if they could get them right.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor in the old wing. Sloped ceilings feel cramped and windows are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m6882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne, nj
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This would be the only place I'd stay if I were going to amsterdam. The location is perfect. My wife and I walked everywhere. We were here from July 11th thru July 14th and felt right at home. Everyone from the front desk to concierge were friendly,friendly,friendly and never stopped smiling. And they knew their jobs well. Check in was easy, questions were answered, recommendations were all great. We had a deluxe double with a king bed. Room was great. Even the bathroom floor has a heater! This hotel also has spa and pool. You can't go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devlsfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level Contributor
199 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Am writing this review a year after staying there. I LOVED this hotel when I was there and having stayed in a few nice hotels subsequently, I felt moved to review this hotel. The room was perfect - not huge but totally comfortable and aesthetically appealing. It was incredibly well thought out and functioned so comfortably. The property itself is very attractive and is very well located. The staff was really helpful and nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3girlsBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a central location. My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights as part of a European vacation. From the moment we arrived we were pleased with our choice. The hotel looks impressive from the outside and stepping inside were were not disappointed. The decor in the lobby is plush and welcoming and the staff are friendly and attentive but they were also laid back and relaxed. Our room was beautifully appointed with a gorgeous bathroom and lovely toiletries. It had a romantic ambiance. We had breakfast in the dining room overlooking the canal each morning and the staff were helpful and friendly. We also dined in the restaurant one evening for dinner and had a drink and some snacks in the bar. The food was excellent on all occasions and the prices were reasonable. The concierge was extremely helpful. Free wifi plus ipad in the room was included. The gym was in the process of being renovated but there was an attendant on hand to explain what was happening. All in all it was a luxurious experience and good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCSNJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

For my birthday on June 5 , I treated myself to a trip to Amsterdam.. This
hotel is by far one of the Best Hotels in Europe, let alone in all of
Amsterdam…. One of the things I love the most is the super friendly staff
–It starts with the doorman and bell staff I don’t know their names but
each one is always friendly and professional..
The Front desk staff remembered me from my last visit and made me feel
especially welcomed back to the hotel. Amanda, Claudia, Ed are always there
to make sure your stay is going well.
Paul, manager in the Breakfast room makes it a great way to start your day...
The concierge team headed by Eef the Chef Concierge and his assistant Roland are amazing.. They know everything you need to know about Amsterdam and are a great resource for
restaurants, shopping and tours. As I said last year, this is the
only hotel I want to stay at in Amsterdam.. Just wish it was in New York
City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycstefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing