We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, ...... but be aware of the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #18 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice hotel, .... but be aware of the price!

The price charged for specific rooms are definitely not the room available! .... The description of the room and the price described on the reservation, are not even close to the room they have available! ..... I reserved the most expensive Junior Suite rooms in the hotel; at 500 Euros a night; which is described in their site as a Junior Suite River View offered at 419 Euros and a Junior Suite offered at 381.80 Euros. The room they had available is located on a high floor, but has no view, and very small windows. It feels like we are locked in the attic! .... Very important also, .... is to verify if the Gym, the Spa, and the Sauna are really available for the guests as they advertise in several sites! I specifically chose the DE L'EUROPE Hotel in Amsterdam because I really use these facilities and only after I checked in, and asked for the sauna, is that they informed that the facilities were not available for the guests at these time! "Summer 2013" "July 15 to 18, 2013"
Since I stay in hotels, 4 to 5 stars, 80% of the year, around the world, ... I suggest that if you are planning to go visit Amsterdam, one of the most interesting cities in Europe! .... and enjoy beautiful views from your hotel room! ..... Choose another hotel! .... or cross your fingers to find available at this hotel! ..... a nice room with a view! ....even if you pay 500 Euros a night!

Room Tip: When making the reservation, PRINT the description of the room you reserved, specially the picture o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarinaLV2Tavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at De L'Europe. It saddens me te read that your experience at the hotel did not meet your expections.

At De L'Europe, we pride ourselves with having a large number of beautifully located river view accomodations, many with private terraces overlooking the Amstel river.
It surprises me to read that you are under the understanding that you were not given type of accomodation you had reserved. I would appreciate it if you could let me know by private email in which room you have stayed and how the reservation was made.

In reference to the SPA, we are about to commence a renovation which is due end of summer. Until then, our guests are still able to use the GYM and swimming pool facilities with whirlpool and jetstream. On our website and the 3rd party sites we work together with this information is also stated.

Please get in touch with me via jbronsveld@leurope.nl in order for us to investigate what happened with your booking.

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

The good (really excellent, actually): location, rooms, staff service attitude. Not a quiet location, but if you want to be in the middle of things, with great access to public transportation along with river views, it's great. The rooms in the new wing are very handsome and in the old wing have been redecorated. The staff is courteous and enthusiastically helpful. So why isn't it a "five"? Because a hotel in this price category should: 1) be able to clean your room before 15:30 (one day), 2) should replace dirty glasses when they do clean (failed virtually every day), and 3) should be able to give you a junior suite in the new wing with a river balcony if you specifically reserved and paid for one with a transatlantic phone call to their reservations office, even if they are busy and even if the room they give you in the old wing on the second replacement try (after you've inspected and turned down a cramped and gloomy room in the old wing on the first try) is nice enough (not an upgrade, just the same category room in the old wing).

At this level of the game, details matter. This hotel could be among the very best if they could get them right.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor in the old wing. Sloped ceilings feel cramped and windows are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m6882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This would be the only place I'd stay if I were going to amsterdam. The location is perfect. My wife and I walked everywhere. We were here from July 11th thru July 14th and felt right at home. Everyone from the front desk to concierge were friendly,friendly,friendly and never stopped smiling. And they knew their jobs well. Check in was easy, questions were answered, recommendations were all great. We had a deluxe double with a king bed. Room was great. Even the bathroom floor has a heater! This hotel also has spa and pool. You can't go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devlsfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Am writing this review a year after staying there. I LOVED this hotel when I was there and having stayed in a few nice hotels subsequently, I felt moved to review this hotel. The room was perfect - not huge but totally comfortable and aesthetically appealing. It was incredibly well thought out and functioned so comfortably. The property itself is very attractive and is very well located. The staff was really helpful and nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3girlsBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a central location. My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights as part of a European vacation. From the moment we arrived we were pleased with our choice. The hotel looks impressive from the outside and stepping inside were were not disappointed. The decor in the lobby is plush and welcoming and the staff are friendly and attentive but they were also laid back and relaxed. Our room was beautifully appointed with a gorgeous bathroom and lovely toiletries. It had a romantic ambiance. We had breakfast in the dining room overlooking the canal each morning and the staff were helpful and friendly. We also dined in the restaurant one evening for dinner and had a drink and some snacks in the bar. The food was excellent on all occasions and the prices were reasonable. The concierge was extremely helpful. Free wifi plus ipad in the room was included. The gym was in the process of being renovated but there was an attendant on hand to explain what was happening. All in all it was a luxurious experience and good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCSNJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

For my birthday on June 5 , I treated myself to a trip to Amsterdam.. This
hotel is by far one of the Best Hotels in Europe, let alone in all of
Amsterdam…. One of the things I love the most is the super friendly staff
–It starts with the doorman and bell staff I don’t know their names but
each one is always friendly and professional..
The Front desk staff remembered me from my last visit and made me feel
especially welcomed back to the hotel. Amanda, Claudia, Ed are always there
to make sure your stay is going well.
Paul, manager in the Breakfast room makes it a great way to start your day...
The concierge team headed by Eef the Chef Concierge and his assistant Roland are amazing.. They know everything you need to know about Amsterdam and are a great resource for
restaurants, shopping and tours. As I said last year, this is the
only hotel I want to stay at in Amsterdam.. Just wish it was in New York
City.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycstefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of the flower market and great restaurants of this fabulous city. The hotel staff was gracious and attentive. We were upgraded to a suite with a view of the canals. The only problem was the room lighting which was overly complicated and too dark.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timeless60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
792 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,634 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $376 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing