We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“My favorite Hotel”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Am writing this review a year after staying there. I LOVED this hotel when I was there and having stayed in a few nice hotels subsequently, I felt moved to review this hotel. The room was perfect - not huge but totally comfortable and aesthetically appealing. It was incredibly well thought out and functioned so comfortably. The property itself is very attractive and is very well located. The staff was really helpful and nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3girlsBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    245
    76
    19
    22
See reviews for
238
741
70
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a central location. My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights as part of a European vacation. From the moment we arrived we were pleased with our choice. The hotel looks impressive from the outside and stepping inside were were not disappointed. The decor in the lobby is plush and welcoming and the staff are friendly and attentive but they were also laid back and relaxed. Our room was beautifully appointed with a gorgeous bathroom and lovely toiletries. It had a romantic ambiance. We had breakfast in the dining room overlooking the canal each morning and the staff were helpful and friendly. We also dined in the restaurant one evening for dinner and had a drink and some snacks in the bar. The food was excellent on all occasions and the prices were reasonable. The concierge was extremely helpful. Free wifi plus ipad in the room was included. The gym was in the process of being renovated but there was an attendant on hand to explain what was happening. All in all it was a luxurious experience and good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCSNJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

For my birthday on June 5 , I treated myself to a trip to Amsterdam.. This
hotel is by far one of the Best Hotels in Europe, let alone in all of
Amsterdam…. One of the things I love the most is the super friendly staff
–It starts with the doorman and bell staff I don’t know their names but
each one is always friendly and professional..
The Front desk staff remembered me from my last visit and made me feel
especially welcomed back to the hotel. Amanda, Claudia, Ed are always there
to make sure your stay is going well.
Paul, manager in the Breakfast room makes it a great way to start your day...
The concierge team headed by Eef the Chef Concierge and his assistant Roland are amazing.. They know everything you need to know about Amsterdam and are a great resource for
restaurants, shopping and tours. As I said last year, this is the
only hotel I want to stay at in Amsterdam.. Just wish it was in New York
City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycstefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of the flower market and great restaurants of this fabulous city. The hotel staff was gracious and attentive. We were upgraded to a suite with a view of the canals. The only problem was the room lighting which was overly complicated and too dark.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timeless60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

One could try to pick out the minutiae of what is "wrong" or "bad" about this hotel, but really what's he point? It is a 5 star hotel in a very old classical European building with an excellent central canal-side location. It's not cheap, but neither are a lot of other European hotels that don't come close to this. Just stay there. It's worth the $.
If you find the food expensive there's a Macca's about a minute away....

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel de l'Europe while on vacation in Amsterdam, and the hotel was delightful. Our room was spacious, quiet, well-lit, with beautiful bathroom facilities. Most of the de l'Europe is old (there is a newer wing, of which I did not see much), but has been very recently renovated, with an iPad in every room, for use as the guest directory and more. The room was air-conditioned well, and technologically so advanced that, when one would get up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, the night lights would come on as soon as one's feet hit the floor. The help was uniformly friendly and polite. The only slight downside to the room was a relative dearth of hanging space in the closet - plenty of shelves, though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinisterOfCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have been staying at many great hotels in the world. De L’ Europe is no doubt on the top of our list. The hotel is breathtaking. You will note that everybody could not help to take the photos as they pass by the hotel. However, the picture could not record all its beauty. You have to be there to truly enjoy it. The inside is as great as outside. The staff and concierge could not be more helpful. They try their best to accommodate their guests constantly. The windows are big in the suite with great view of street and river. The bed and bedding are very comfortable. The bath rooms are roomy and classic. You can feel the room and amenities are arranged in a very guest friendly fashion. Breakfast includes all essential items, which are well appointed. We ate dinner at hotel every day. The foods are excellent; all dining rooms have great canal views. We did not feel the need to go out to eat actually.
Only one problem for me. My own pillows at home are not good enough anymore after sleeping on the pillows at De L’Europe for 5 nights. I contacted the hotel with slim of hope and requested about the pillows. I did not expect the guest relationship manager, Ms. JacquelineGratz, go to extent to reach their supplier. This really shows how they really care their guests. I am really impressed.

This is the hotel you will remember for the rest of your life.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,267 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing