We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #19 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

One could try to pick out the minutiae of what is "wrong" or "bad" about this hotel, but really what's he point? It is a 5 star hotel in a very old classical European building with an excellent central canal-side location. It's not cheap, but neither are a lot of other European hotels that don't come close to this. Just stay there. It's worth the $.
If you find the food expensive there's a Macca's about a minute away....

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel de l'Europe while on vacation in Amsterdam, and the hotel was delightful. Our room was spacious, quiet, well-lit, with beautiful bathroom facilities. Most of the de l'Europe is old (there is a newer wing, of which I did not see much), but has been very recently renovated, with an iPad in every room, for use as the guest directory and more. The room was air-conditioned well, and technologically so advanced that, when one would get up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, the night lights would come on as soon as one's feet hit the floor. The help was uniformly friendly and polite. The only slight downside to the room was a relative dearth of hanging space in the closet - plenty of shelves, though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinisterOfCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have been staying at many great hotels in the world. De L’ Europe is no doubt on the top of our list. The hotel is breathtaking. You will note that everybody could not help to take the photos as they pass by the hotel. However, the picture could not record all its beauty. You have to be there to truly enjoy it. The inside is as great as outside. The staff and concierge could not be more helpful. They try their best to accommodate their guests constantly. The windows are big in the suite with great view of street and river. The bed and bedding are very comfortable. The bath rooms are roomy and classic. You can feel the room and amenities are arranged in a very guest friendly fashion. Breakfast includes all essential items, which are well appointed. We ate dinner at hotel every day. The foods are excellent; all dining rooms have great canal views. We did not feel the need to go out to eat actually.
Only one problem for me. My own pillows at home are not good enough anymore after sleeping on the pillows at De L’Europe for 5 nights. I contacted the hotel with slim of hope and requested about the pillows. I did not expect the guest relationship manager, Ms. JacquelineGratz, go to extent to reach their supplier. This really shows how they really care their guests. I am really impressed.

This is the hotel you will remember for the rest of your life.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in June. The hotel is centrally located but easy to reach by car. It has valet parking. The Hotel is generally what you would expect for a 5 Star hotel with comfortable well furnished rooms. It has good soundproofing so is quiet at night. The most impressive aspect is that every member of staff was helpful, cheerful and very oriented to service. The breakfast in the brasserie in the morning is great with a full buffet but you can eat quickly if you need to. Wake up calls on time with a cup of tea.

Room Tip: Boom online direct with hotel and just before you leave the site after booking they offer you the ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhbeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two days. The first impression was very good: sumptuous foyer, friendly staff at reception. We even got a double upgrade for no particular reason which was a nice surprise!
The room was impressive: spacious (separate bedroom and living room), with lots of gadgets and plenty of wardrobes, the bathroom had a TV which I first took for mirror, separate bath tub and a shower, as well as built in speakers...
In the evening there was once live grand piano music in the main lobby/bar area - perfect atmosphere to unwind with a drink!
The only reason I'm not rating this hotel as excellent is the breakfast experience - limited choice of food, a bit cramped together tables, no attention from the staff during breakfast at all - our table had dirty dishes and glasses piled up on top of each other by end of our breakfast and nobody from the staff showed any sign of interest if everything was all right or not, clearing used dishes etc. I couldn't face it on the second morning of our stay so we went to a nearby Sofitel hotel which provided excellent breakfast experience for a similar price.

Room Tip: Room 248 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha21by
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A superb hotel with an outstanding location. A short walk to most sights and a mile walk to the museums. Situated right on the Amstel river with dining near the water options. Very attentive and cordial staff. Good restaurants on site. The only draw back is if you are family there are no rooms with twin beds. They can make up the beds as twins but they are still one bed which makes it awkward if you are rooming with someone you do not want to sleep that close to.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed 2 nights as a last minute arrangement by Tauck River Cruises due to the rising water levels on the Rhine. I believe there were around 50 of us that had to be put up at this hotel and therefore we all were given different categories of rooms. Ours was room 520 which was a good size and had a view of a canal partially obscured by the roof of the floor below us. It was located behind the elevator which concerned us but we heard absolutely nothing.

The room had plenty of closet space with only 3 hangers...I'm sure we could have asked for more. Beautiful marble bathroom with separate shower and tub, makeup mirror, in floor heating, and high quality toiletries. The room had large, comfortable bed with beautiful quality linens and supplied a robe and slippers for two. There was a tv, Bose docking station for my iPod with a speaker system which included the bathroom, a writing desk with an iPad charged up and ready for use with the free WiFi.

The hotel is about six blocks from the Red Light District and about a 15 minute walk from the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gough museum.

The only blip was the service in the restaurant which was friendly but very disorganized. In fairness to them, almost our entire group did show up within half an hour but we were one of the first to be seated and one of the last to be fed and only after I went and questioned the waitress. When they did bring my meal the meat was almost raw on the inside. I'm sure they would have gladly fixed it had I pointed it out but no one ever came to ask so I ate what I could.

Cannot comment on the value because we didn't pay for the room but the card we filled out for registration said 370 Euros.

Room Tip: Some of the others in our group had room 417 and said it was really, really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgdann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,428 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 375 in Amsterdam
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,873 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $340 - $656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing