We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #18 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I just came back from a wonderful stay at De L'Europe and I wanted to take the time to praise them for doing such a great job....I have been to some of the most amazing hotels in many different countries but this hotel was one of my favorites...it's in a great location, the staff is wonderful, the rooms are beautiful and extremely clean, and the mood in Amsterdam is great....I recommend this hotel to anyone that us looking for excellence and elegance in Amsterdam....!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pukieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,532)
There are newer reviews for De L'Europe Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent a weekend at the De L'Europe and was pleased with everything about the hotel. From the moment I was greeted until the minute of departure the staff was truly excellent. Most even remembered my name, which is unheard of in a big city hotel. I had a junior suite overlooking the river/canal and it was fantastic. Well appointed, very clean and had one interesting feature I have never experienced before, when you got out of bed in the middle of the night, there was a sensor that turned on the lights in the toilet area.

The hotel is geographically well situated in the middle of the Old City. Close to Rembrandt Square, the Red Light District and the museum district and any kind of restaurant you could ever want to experience. Healthy walking distance to just about every activity.

My hotel of choice in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Armstrong56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Super location. Lovely hotel. Room was beautiful. Very clean.

Only problem was with restaurants and food. Food - OK. Not great, better selection would be appreciated. Had trouble cooking a steak. Service - not good. Breakfast buffet usually in need of replenishing. Ask for an omlette - cook tells you to wait - I'm busy!!!! Mentioned to hotel but they are very happy with the service they provide!!!

So suggest use hotel - very expensive but great. DO not eat there. Find lots of local restaurants - that want your business,

Room Tip: Old Masters wing with special rooms - wonderful. View of the river a must.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceangirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is definately the best Hotel in Amsterdam. The location is perfect, the staff excellent the room fantastic, great bed , great shower. The food is excellent. Went to the Bourdeux restaurant in the Hotel, have never eaten better and I have been to many Michelin Restaurants all over the world. Definately stay here, you will love it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luiz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We can't say enough about this wonderful hotel. The rooms are beautiful, service is great and the location and ambiance is perfect. Beautiful hotel in a very historic area with access to transportation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crisco45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great room and Great staff, this place made our trip. We needed a room for only one night and day because we were cruising down the Rhine river the next day with Viking River cruises. This Hotel was so nice that when we got there we where given a upgrade to a suit that was very nice. The day and night at this Hotel gave us the best location for all our sight seeing for one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was far and away one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. The hotel is in a perfect location to walk to all of the sights in the city and sits right on the canal. The property itself is magnificent - from the moment you enter the gorgeous lobby with a huge urn of fresh pink roses and reproductions of famous paintings by Dutch masters you know you are in a 5-star hotel. One end of the lobby has a huge window overlooking the canal and everything is pristine. Even the lobby bathrooms are out of this world. Our room was spectacular with every amenity you could possibly imagine (including free Ipod, softest robes ever, the most comfortable linens and beds, abundant towels, wonderful toiletries, amazing marble bathroom, rainfall shower head, overabundance of closets, etc.) However, what puts this hotel over the top is the staff. They are true professionals and were just the best. The folks at reception, the two wonderful gentlemen at the concierge, Mohammed (the gentlemen who showed us to our room), bellhops, doormen, etc are all best in class! They were friendly and professional and helpful without the least bit of arrogance. Can't imagine a hotel ever having a better staff!

The only downside to this hotel is the restaurant. The food is just mediocre (including breakfast) and the service outside was atrocious! I am not sure why the level of service there is so different from the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nyc1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
747 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $403 - $1,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing