We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #17 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our stay at the hotel was a pleasant and comfortable experience , highly recommadated very central and close to all shopping and museums and sightseeings ! high quality off food, drinks and the staff ere very helpful .. will go there when ever visiting amsterdam

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharlely B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    248
    77
    19
    22
See reviews for
244
751
71
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

While on a three week business trip in London, I decided to sneak away to Amsterdam for the weekend to stay at the de l'europe. I didn't receive the welcome you would expect when paying $550 per night. In fact, the look I received from the receptionist suggested she thought I was in the wrong place. When asking for suggestions on things to do during my short stay, I was given a tourist map with a highlighted x to show me where I was. The doorman and bellhop were very nice, and I did take advantage of the boat tour from the hotel which was quite enjoyable. They have iPads in each of the rooms as a nice touch, just don't order room service off of it....turns out it won't make it to the kitchen. I have stayed at quite a few 5 star hotels, but this isn't one I would rush back too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

It was 41 years since my last visit to Amsterdam, so I decided to mark my 60th birthday with a return 4 night break with my wife and as it was a special occasion I can honestly say that I couldn't have chosen a better hotel and is in a great central location, although it did initially come highly recommended by the travel agency.
As others have indicated the warm welcome starts from the moment the taxi door is opened and the doorman addresses you by name and I don't think I have been anywhere before where the all the staff are so welcoming and more importantly this continues throughout the whole break.
When we booked I was keen to have a view and the reception staff immediately offered us an upgrade (for an extra 100 euros a night, so not cheap) and I was very pleased that I took it.
We had a fantastic room overlooking the Amstel river with a large balcony and as it faced east it took the limited February sun in the morning. Sadly the weather was a bit chilly to use the balcony but we had a nice view and it wasn't noisy except when the police sirens kicked off.
Every thing was quality and it even included an Ipad, although the hotel really ought to clear the previous occupants history.......not too clever when you open it open to be confronted with gay porn!
Room was initially a bit chilly but the staff promptly righted the controls and we had no problems from then on.
The breakfasts are brilliant, nothing was too much trouble and again all the staff were super attentive and very welcoming plus the breakfast / restaurant area overlooks the canal.
When they knew it was my birthday, Denise even gave me a hotel baseball cap (with loose stitching) and a compliments happy birthday slip and for an added bonus they even took 10 years off my birth date.........if only!............still, it was a much appreciated gesture.
The hotels recent refurbishment has been done to a very high standard and just about succeeds in mixing traditional with contemporary, but I think its the staff which made it special. If I had a gripe its just that the coffee, tea and milk in the room was a too light and you would quickly run out, it was always topped up but a little more would have been helpful.
We would definitely stay there again and would always go for that room, great break and a memorable, pleasurable 60th birthday.

Room Tip: East elevation, overlooking the Canal is worth going for, may get noise but its outweighed by the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midget73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing this glowing review with us. We sincerely hope hat we will be able to welcome you back again when celebrating the next land mark. Your comment about the iPad content is a very valid one and has been addressed with immediate effect.

Kind regards

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

After 46 years we have finally made the visit to Amsterdam. What better place to call home than the Hotel De L' Europe.

Completely rennovated with both modern or traditional rooms that are all extremley and tastefully well appointed and in the heart of the City Center.

The staff so extremely well informed and willing to please made our visit a special and memorable experience.

There are some other hotels trying their hand in the 5 star category. After visitinig them all, The Hotel De L' Europe is by far the winner!!!!

Room Tip: Room 524 an amazing suite with views of the canals and Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Anthony,

Wow! We could not have asked for a nicer review. Your comments about our team and the accolade of 'best hotel in Amsterdam' are most appreciated! We hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

In the middle of Amsterdam, at the end of the Amstelriver, this majestic hotel re-opened in 2011 after a major refurbishment. The adjacent bank Theodoor Gilissen had left and the extra space was added to this reknown hotel. At the same time a complet enew look and feel led to the opening of one of the best hotels I know. Its grandeur and style, the spacious arcaded, the beautiful rooms, the excellent facilities (such as the Freddy's Bar, the one michelin star restaurant Bord d'eau, the Spa), it all adds up and makes this a superb hotel. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite with Amstel view: great. Only one comment (but that is with all major hotels: at night the lights which guide you to the bathroom stay on so long that it may wake up your partner. Apart from that: this is a great hotel, ultra high class, beautiful and it deserves a detrour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArentvanWassenaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

At arrival, the front desk employee and the guest relation manager where waiting for me with the key. The guest relation manager took me and my partner to to the room personally. I had organized a special Valentine's day for my partner to give him a ring. We also got a free upgrade to a beautiful room and the complimentary champagne was waiting for us on the room. My partner said, it was as if they knew who I was, treated like VIPs. Anyway, it was just a one night stay but the experience was excellent. We dined in the hotel and the have amazingly well priced offers for such a luxury hotel. Go eat at the brasserie Hoofdstad any time. Finally, breakfast was delicious with good service. I stayed in many hotels world wide but they were the first to get me my eggs to our table instead of myself having to go to the egg station. Thank you hotel De L'Europe for an excellent experience and I hope to come back in time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShadyShimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radomlje
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wow... I am used to excellent hotels but I think this one has the best location in Amsterdam, not to mention the reward winning Freddy's bar and Bord'Eau restaurant with. Staff was great as was the room with large bathroom and a nice view of the city and Amstel river. All rooms are equipped with iPads and Bose sound system. Breakfast is amazing as is the vine selection in Bord'Eau and Brasserie. Great concierge service too.
Highly recommended and if you are staying there or just passing buy make sure you try the 5 or 6 course Menu Alliance in Bord'Eau restaurant or just go for the best ever gin-tonic in Freddy's bar.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SasaNemanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,292 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
709 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,703 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing