We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What 5 star is all about!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #17 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What 5 star is all about!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A warm welcome awaited the moment we entered the lobby .Reception staff and Concierge were outstanding during our stay. Advice available on the best eating places and the booking of tickets for events easily arranged. Room service staff also very friendly and efficient .Excellent breakfast and the room service menu suits all tastes.
The room on the 4th floor was well appointed with large bathroom,marble fittings and underfloor heating.
An i Pad was available plus state of the art Hi Fi. Unique feature was the reproduction of paintings by the old masters in some of the bedrooms and also in public areas of the hotel. After a day exploring Amsterdam it was nice to be greeted with smiles by the whole staff. Can't wait to return for more cosseting in Spring.

Room Tip: just make your needs known the staff will move mountains to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 856jeanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    246
    77
    19
    22
See reviews for
240
744
70
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Location, style, charm and local knowledge a joy here. Close to bars, excellent restaurant recommendations and fast passes to museums. You can just relax and enjoy the canals, the cannabis and cakes. The bar has been voted Ansterdams best and with a pianist and great barman I is easy to see why.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinaJoe889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Where do I begin, perfect location for seeing Amsterdam
From the moment we arrived we felt looked after
We stayed for a four day Christmas break and didn't want to leave the room
Great views of the Amstel great balcony great bed great toiletries great amenities
Above all that perfection was the service
Second to none from the doorman reception restaurant and breakfast staff I could not find fault and I always try
This is how a hotel should be run!! Well done

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Foodmad20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed overnight at the De L'Europe for business. It was my first time here and the location seemed top notch right next to the canal with many interesting shops and restaurants within walking distance.

The lobby is quite striking with its red decor, check-in was efficient and my room was reasonably spacious (as European hotels go), tastefully furnished albeit a little sparse (a very small writing desk and no lounge chair), a very small bathroom which was nevertheless very clean, functional and well appointed), a small TV in a tight corner and a nice view of the canal out of my one window.

I had dinner at the restaurant where the menu was a little odd, more fusion than traditional european and while the food was ok I wouldn't say the meal was anything to rave about. I ordered room service for breakfast which I thought was little sloppy in presentation but nevertheless ok.

I don't have a basis of comparison with other Amsterdam hotels but based on other European experience, the L'Europe seems to justify the view some of my friends have that it is "the" place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

where to begin, De L' Europe is a stunning Hotel its position on the canal is amazing right in the heart of Amsterdam with views to die for , we stayed originally in a one bedroom suite with 4 balconies overlooking Amsterdam while our room was a little older this only added to its charm , the room felt more like an Apartment , we were then upgraded to the Penthouse as on our first night the people upstairs were a little noisy which I guess when in Amsterdam is to be expected and the rooms being a little older in this part of the hotel may have contributed , not wanting to focus on that I would like to tell you how this hotel's service is like no other , from the moment we arrived the reception staff were swift , the room was ready straight away and we were taken to our room where champagne was poured while showing us the details of the room , nothing was a problem , when asked for a heater as the room being so big I felt a little cool was brought up straight away , when we mentioned the noise upstairs , moving us up to the penthouse was also not an issue , they could not help us enough a private boat tour of the canals was organised at the last minute without a problem , the hotel food was great and to top it off when we left to go to the train station with their compimentary luxury sedan the porter came too and found out our platform and took our luggage up to the train , I mean it really doesn't get any better than that . So I thankyou staff and Management at the De L' Europe your friendliness and service is impeccable , your hotel is beautiful , I am only sorry we couldn't stay longer but be sure we are coming back if only to see you all again.

Room Tip: corner suites are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennedysGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

From beginning to end our stay at De L'Europe was more than we could have ever expected. Staff were helpful from check in to checkout. Concierge helped out with every request.
#1 Location: Perfect home base from which to shop, dine, and enjoy all of Amsterdam.
#2 Rooms: Lovely - comfortable bed, great views, and spacious and beautifully appointed bathrooms.
#3 Cuisine: Excellent food, especially at the Bord'eau Restaurant.
#4 Staff: Top-notch staff! The service, from reception to food to concierge to housekeeping, was spot on.
# Cleaniliness: The rooms and hotel are beautiful and spotlessly clean.

The room, location, facilities and service were excellent. We could not have made a better choice. The hotel is not only beautiful and conveniently located, we must stress that the staff was incredibly friendly, professional, and helpful. HIGHLY recommend this hotel for anyone looking for first class service and accommodations in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: opt for a room with a view of the canal. our room was spacious and there was more than adequate clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
656 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had heard that a great hotel in Amsterdam was amongst the missing and the first hotel we checked into certainly seemed to underscore this belief.

Checking Virtuoso’s other Amsterdam properties we called the De L’Europe to seee if they had room in their inn as it could not have been worse than the depressing dump in which we were staying.

The De L’Europe is conveniently located on a canal a few minutes from Dam Square. Immediately on arriving and being greeted by the top hatted door man, the polished brass stair rails and the long expansive lobby looking out across the river, a long way away, we felt peacefully at home. We could have been in the Bristol, the Dorchester or the De Russie.

Service was perfect; attentive but low key.

And then there was the suite. Big, with a terrace overlooking the city and the canal view marred only the sight of the ugly concert hall (NEW).
The rooms big and comfortable. We will not share with you the suite number as we do not want others competing for it, but we found it special.

And then there were the 21st Century electronics. The I-pad on the desk that included all the hotel information. Gone were the leather bound books. We were told that soon one would be able to use it to order room service. Gone would be the curt voices and misunderstood words.

The new marbled bath with fragrant and unusual amenities had a heated floor and the slippers which I usually find more of a hassle than they are useful, were uniquely clog like and the only ones I have ever taken with me.

In the middle of the night I arose from the overly large, very comfortable bed and was shocked by a soft light. There was a night-light under the bed table on a motion sensor that I had set off. This was the attention to detail.

We had dinner twice in their Brasserie Hoofdstad and the food was superb along with the view of the canal. It was romantic dining along the canal with a view of the city beyond.

My only nit is they should reconfigure the layout of the breakfast buffet. The buffet itself was above average but the serving dishes are on the pass-thru into the kitchen which requires one to be an NBA player to view the offerings and eggs and meats are crammed into the same corner with the bread and pastries creating a traffic jam. I realize there are space and access considerations but not enough thought has been applied to the ease of offering their breakfast buffet.

We did not try “Bord’Eau”, their Michelin starred restaurant but it looked spacious and glitteringly elegant. We were told they offered a $36E fixed menu lunch.

We did however make extensive use of Freddy’s the hotel bar, especially the English Library cigar-bar that is adjacent. Indoor smoking in an English library setting with bar service is heaven for a smoker in today’s smoking abhorrent world.

Freddy, who’s portrait graces the hotel lobby, was Freddy Heineken, the late owner of Heinekens who’s daughter Charlene seceded him.

Maybe in it Charlene that attracted Bill Clinton who reputedly was in residence in the Presidential Suite just before we arrived.

The De L’Europe exudes the aura and excellence that comes from an owner with the interest, money and commitment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,271 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing