We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LUXURLY (FINALLY) COMES TO AMSTERDAM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
656 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“LUXURLY (FINALLY) COMES TO AMSTERDAM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had heard that a great hotel in Amsterdam was amongst the missing and the first hotel we checked into certainly seemed to underscore this belief.

Checking Virtuoso’s other Amsterdam properties we called the De L’Europe to seee if they had room in their inn as it could not have been worse than the depressing dump in which we were staying.

The De L’Europe is conveniently located on a canal a few minutes from Dam Square. Immediately on arriving and being greeted by the top hatted door man, the polished brass stair rails and the long expansive lobby looking out across the river, a long way away, we felt peacefully at home. We could have been in the Bristol, the Dorchester or the De Russie.

Service was perfect; attentive but low key.

And then there was the suite. Big, with a terrace overlooking the city and the canal view marred only the sight of the ugly concert hall (NEW).
The rooms big and comfortable. We will not share with you the suite number as we do not want others competing for it, but we found it special.

And then there were the 21st Century electronics. The I-pad on the desk that included all the hotel information. Gone were the leather bound books. We were told that soon one would be able to use it to order room service. Gone would be the curt voices and misunderstood words.

The new marbled bath with fragrant and unusual amenities had a heated floor and the slippers which I usually find more of a hassle than they are useful, were uniquely clog like and the only ones I have ever taken with me.

In the middle of the night I arose from the overly large, very comfortable bed and was shocked by a soft light. There was a night-light under the bed table on a motion sensor that I had set off. This was the attention to detail.

We had dinner twice in their Brasserie Hoofdstad and the food was superb along with the view of the canal. It was romantic dining along the canal with a view of the city beyond.

My only nit is they should reconfigure the layout of the breakfast buffet. The buffet itself was above average but the serving dishes are on the pass-thru into the kitchen which requires one to be an NBA player to view the offerings and eggs and meats are crammed into the same corner with the bread and pastries creating a traffic jam. I realize there are space and access considerations but not enough thought has been applied to the ease of offering their breakfast buffet.

We did not try “Bord’Eau”, their Michelin starred restaurant but it looked spacious and glitteringly elegant. We were told they offered a $36E fixed menu lunch.

We did however make extensive use of Freddy’s the hotel bar, especially the English Library cigar-bar that is adjacent. Indoor smoking in an English library setting with bar service is heaven for a smoker in today’s smoking abhorrent world.

Freddy, who’s portrait graces the hotel lobby, was Freddy Heineken, the late owner of Heinekens who’s daughter Charlene seceded him.

Maybe in it Charlene that attracted Bill Clinton who reputedly was in residence in the Presidential Suite just before we arrived.

The De L’Europe exudes the aura and excellence that comes from an owner with the interest, money and commitment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    234
    73
    18
    20
See reviews for
223
707
66
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Was warmly greeted by the night staff, as I arrived late. Mohamed, the concierge was fantastic and explained everything, was professional and properly represented the hotel. Rooms were luxurious and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good with a great view. Dinner was good, although they should be careful with their cornish-hin special (two of the chicken dishes served to our party were undercooked, and you don't want to see that in a chicken dish).

Hotel staff was extremely helpful, got us taxis whenever we needed them and helped us find other good restaurants and cafes nearby.

Would highly recommend this hotel for business travelers as well as for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDiplomats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here and found out right from the start that the staff were very helpful and friendly,the porter gave us some excellent info on local bars depending on what we were looking for. Really good location with a couple of restaurants and a cocktail bar.room had a wonderfully big bed, and everything was super clean.the only strange thing was the room lighting but once you remember not to read too long on the toilet you'll be fine.breakfast was really good too but then you are paying for it.will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a part of the leading hotels of the world and is an amazing hotel. We loved the room and the location of the hotel. It is centrally located and has a very nice and grand lobby. The coffee shop has a great view of the river. The service is amazing and this is a classy hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was our very first time in Amsterdam and let me tell you we never really left the hotel! They had it all! right in the heart of town! We went down to hotel restaurant and had a one of the best dinners iv ever had in my life and I have had my fair share of 5 star cuisine! I could not of dreamed this place could be so romanic the view of the city and the canals was breathtaking and the wine parring was carefully thought out. The meal all together was divine. Our room was fantastic the bed was enormous and so was the bathtub! We just loved the pool Do not forget the check that out!
Then high tea it was such fun but it took up the whole afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

A beautiful hotel with impeccable service, attending to your every need. Large American size bathrooms, king size beds and very quiet rooms. Our room didn't have a window, but it was extremely quiet. Breakfast was excellent, as was tea and cocktail service. Hotel arranged for our guide, Peter, who I highly recommend. We hired Peter for two days and we can't say enough about his services. He showed us everything we wanted to see and more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefBette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stay very often in hotels of the five star category or five star superior. But the service in this hotel was outstanding compared to most of all the other luxury hotels. Very personal, very committed, very care-taking. Felt like home abroad. Rooms are tasteful and well equipped, but the difference came from the people. My no one choice in Amsterdam, had been in intercontinental, Pulitzer and others, de L'Europe is the best in town.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms to the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L'Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L'Europe has been favored by Amsterdam's elite and the hotel continues to attract the world's most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L'Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord'Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city's most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar 'Les Caves De L'Europe'. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam's inspired gentlemen's pub Freddy's Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness 'Skins Institute - De L'Europe'. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing