We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #18 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

From the moment I arrived at the hotel we was treated like a very important guest. Our room was a suite and it was very comfortable with everything we could need. We had a beautiful view of the heart of Amsterdam, the hotel is very well located. The bathroom was well appointed super bath and shower.
We ate breakfast in the Brasserie and had dinner one night, could not fault the food very good.
The one thing that made our stay special were the staff, they were very professional and very capable. I highly recommend this hotel to add some style to your stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 937 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Fantastic hotel with good staff and great level of service, my room was a bit dark but it is my sole complaint.

The location is ideal, close to many points of interests and the airport.

Spacious room with Dutch School theme and marvelous bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zerosum71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have stayed in several Amsterdam hotels over the years but this hotel is the best of the best. The staff is very accommodating and pleasant and not do enough to make your stay in Amsterdam wonderful. Our room was spacious, well appointed, large bathroom with an enclosed shower and had a great bed with a wonderful view of the Amstel River and all the activity on the river. The hotel is centrally located being very close to the Flower Market and is within walking distant to the Red Light District, the museums and a shopping mall. The hotel set up a canal tour which picked us up at the hotel and was a delight. We have done the regular canal tour but this one was very nice with coffee, tea and snacks being served while seeing Amsterdam. We are sold on this hotel and our visit to Amsterdam will include a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Location is as good as it gets, a quiet area very near the center of Amsterdam looking out over a canal. I have visited a few hotels in Amsterdam and I recently chose this hotel as the most romantic place to propose to my now Fiancé. The rooms have been recently renovated and the one I stayed in was amazing. The staff are incredibly friendly and very helpful, they were quick to respond to emails and did everything they could to make my stay enjoyable. The staff exceeded themselves in going out of their way to help me organize a romantic candlelit dinner overlooking the canal and even decorated my room with roses.
I cant imagine a better place to stay, however if you do choose to stay somewhere else be sure to visit this hotel for high tea and find out what you're missing!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The location makes for an excellent base to explore museums, shopping etc. On Tram route 4# which goes directly to the Rai Conference Centre.

Surrounding main streets are busy but the hotel offers a calm base to retreat to. We read other reviews about the various room arrangements and pre-booked a canal view room. This was spacious, comfortable and well decorated. In this part of the hotel double glazing and what must be the best insulation anywhere, meant very little street noise and virtually no noise from other rooms or corridors. Probably the quietest hotel I have ever stayed in. Loved the mix of wooden floors and carpet.

Bathroom was excellent. A water circulation system sometimes sounds as if there is a tap running but is designed to keep all water fresh.

As mentioned by others ipads are useful. Wireless was at times a bit variable but generally good. Nespresso with complimentary coffee was a bonus though not so good for making tea. In room dining and room service was prompt and charming.

Desk staff were responsive and helpful, keen to ensure guests get the best Amsterdam has to offer. Concierge assistance was truly outstanding. Take up the offer for tickets to exhibitions, recommendations to restaurants etc. This assistance will streamline your visit.

Hotel offers bikes... we were not brave enough to take on the locals.

Room Tip: Book a canal view if you can. Twin bedding is not available but German twins can be made as two sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curioustraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We just completed a stay at this hotel and found it to be great. The location in the city center is certainly ideal for seeing sights and shopping. The antique district is a short walk away, and the hotel staff were always eager to help with arranging museum visits, etc. The lobby and bar are very nice, spacious with great views of the canal. We were not impressed with the Bloody Mary however which was supposed to be their specialty. We wanted to try their fine dining restaurant but we were there on a Sunday and Monday when they are closed. In fact, we had a bit of a time finding a restaurant open on these two days, but again the hotel staff were very helpful in finding a great restaurant for us. All in all, no complaints and we would return.

Room Tip: Request a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel was really fantastic. Flowers were everywhere and beautiful. Breakfast was amazingly rich and tasty. The room was nice but the bed was quiet hight. Bathroom was clean and nice with every hygiene I needed. Restaurant in lobby was perfect. And the location is very interesting. Nice stay

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaStraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,356 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
788 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,631 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $374 - $745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing