We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful Hotel - Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful Hotel - Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. We stayed 2 nights, and booked the room less than 2 months in advance. There was a large convention in town, and many hotels were sold out, so the per night charge was quite expensive, however we were upgraded to a Junior Suite overlooking the River Amstel. The service was extrodinary from the moment we stepped out of the taxi to the desk clerk walking us to our room to explain the features of the room. The rooms were modern, quiet and very well appointed, the bed was very comfortable, the bathrooms (Yes there was a full and half bath) were, clean, well stocked and appeared newly decorated. I agree with j9289s review that the lights in the room were a bit complicated, in that there were night lights on motion sensors that would come on, but then go out while you were still moving about. It was more humorous than a problem. We carried our own Ipad and the wifi worked well. Having one available in the room, was a nice touch, and allowed for both of us to read the news, and catch up without sharing a device.

We had breakfast in the hotel both morning, and enjoyed the buffet one day, and ordered off the menu the next. Both experiences were above average. The buffet selection was fresh and well stocked, offering a variety of items. We also enjoyed sitting on the patio each evening for drinks, watching the steady parade of tour and pleasure boats passing through the canals. The service at the outside bar was very good. We had a room credit to use, through our credit card, so we were not concerned with cost. The bartender kept trying to advise us on wines and liquors to help us select a good drink for the price. It was a very nice touch.

The location of the hotel was the reason I selected the De L'Europe. It is a short walk from Tram stops, and a leisurely walk to most of the best sites and museums in Amsterdam. If I return to Amsterdam, I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, General Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Your lovely review is most appreciated!
The comment with regards to the use of the lighting system has been taken on board and I am pleased to inform you that we are currently looking into improving the ease of use.
Please do let me know when you are thinking of staying next and I will ensure you will be well looked agter again!

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    201
    67
    16
    19
See reviews for
185
603
55
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was a great Hotel. I have seen some reviews of Service being slow etc but while we were there everything was great. We were upgraded to a suite and arrived very late so we were not Canal side but on the interior of the hotel. It turned out to be great because it was so quiet. after 7 days of touring and traveling we were really tired and slept till 10:30 in the morning. Maybe a decade since I slept that late.

The concierge is great and we prefer local restaurants to the Hotels so no comment on there food or service.

Bedroom was clean modern and worked fantastic. Our painting in our room was from 1633. Pretty cool.

If you can afford this hotel it is great!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank willtippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Your kind words are much appreciated and I will ensure these are sharded amongst the team! Hopefully we will get a chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future?

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a wonderful choice, a nice property well located and quite professionally run. Our room was in the new Dutch Masters Wing and was so amazing we had a hard time leaving it - the decor and art inside the room were amazing, the views of the Amstel priceless, the bathroom certainly among the very best we have had, and the in-room Ipad was a nice touch, as was the wi-fi and the flashy flat screen tv that rose from the edge of the bed when a button was pressed. (One odd note was that some of the room's lights seemed to come on and off at mysterious times, which we intended to ask about but never got around to it) We ate only breakfast but it was fabulous, and the bar is fantastic (what a great bartender). The workout room, while small, looks out on the water which is very nice, and there is a nice pool there as well. The concierge made an effort to introduce himself to us and was very helpful throughout our stay. All in all, there are many great hotels to choose from in Amsterdam and many that, like this hotel, have a great history, great location, great service, etc., but with the renovations here and the efforts made by the great staff, this hotel deserves a much higher ranking than it gets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your fantastic feedback!
The team takes great pride in giving the best service possible and it is nice to read when this is being recognised.
Please let us know when you are thinking of coming back and we will ensure the red carpet will be rolled out again once more!

Warm regards.

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Spent three nights here in August 2012. The hotel is beautifully located in the center of the old town. The room was large and comfortable with a great view of the canals. The bathroom was large, modern with both bath tub and separate shower stall. The concierge was great assisting with restaurant suggestions and setting up private tours. On the downside, we had no turn down service the first two nights, only on the last night. No explanation of why there was no down turn service on the previous two nights. Also the hotel restaurant was a great disappointment. We arrived each morning at 7:00 a.m., the time that the breakfast room opens. And each morning they were still setting up the buffet. The one server, each morning, looked annoyed that we were there. And of course we got very slow service (how dare we arrive when they first open). Funny, we ordered full breakfast, not his buffet and it took 25 minutes to get breakfast serviced. For two days, we were the only customers so it couldn't be the "crowds". One afternoon we sat in the bar area to have a drink. The two server/bartenders were chatting away and totally ignored us til I went up to the bar to request drinks. These people also had the attitude that we were inconveniencing them and we waited another five minutes before we got our drinks and there were no other customers at the bar or in the lounge area. Usually we don't tolerate such lousy service but for some reason found these employees amusing. So self important and more interested in not presenting customer service, we thought this was a unique Dutch work ethic. We were given a free dinner at the hotel with our reservation so although we didn't like our breakfast experience we thought dinner would be different. And we were wrong. We make 7:30 p.m. dinner reservations. We arrived at 7:30 p.m. to an empty dinning room. The server was trying to take us to the outside cafe. It was warm and muggy, we asked to sit inside with the air-conditioning. And we waited. 20 minutes to get a drink, food order was taken after another 1/2 hr. & the food started to arrive 1 1/2 after we arrived. At 9:00 p.m. the dinning room was still empty. Not one person come into the dinning room the whole time we were there. Our server stated that when it wasn't raining everyone wanted to sit outside and the staff was busy with the outside crowd. I went outside to find eight people sitting there. I guess this is considered a crowd at this hotel. Finally we were leaving, and for the life of us, we can not remember what we ate but were presented with a bill for 190 euros! Except for the 2 drinks ordered I told the server that the meal was free as part of our reservation. The front desk even made the reservation for us. No he said. He got his manager, no he said. The manager got the front desk, again no. And that clerk got her night manager, she said no. I went up to our room and got the hotel welcoming letter with the free dinner listed as one of our extras. The letter stated that to take advantage of the complimentary dinner the front desk must be told and the front take must make the reservation so we get the proper complimentary charge. The night manager said that was a mistake and the front desk clerk should not have given me that letter and should not have make the reservation. She stated that the free dinner is not offered during the summer and we were responsible for the total bill. We were now at the front desk at 10:00 p.m. and she was adamant that she was correct. Some executive of the hotel was leaving the back area and asked what was wrong. This executive spent five minutes on the computer and apologized for the confusion stating that there was a computer glitch and the dinner was complementary. She stated that we didn't need to pay for our two drinks as her apology for this confusion. It was now 10:40 p.m. What a unnecessary waste of our time. And to think that we saw no staff during our dinner but our server and when they thought we weren't paying for our meal, four (4) employees appeared, almost yelling that we were wrong and must pay. I must say that the executive seems very embarrassed about the whole situation. It was our last night in Amsterdam, shocked to be treated so shabbily and really thought we were on Candid Camera because the dinner, service and staff attitudes were over the top lousy. And guess what? As we were checking out, our bill is presented to us for final approval and the total 190 euro bill from the previous night is on the bill. And the front desk knows nothing about the previous night. I stand there for 45 minutes until they get it resolved. Unbeknownst to me, our luggage had already been put in taxi and it sat there for the 45 minutes. After many phone calls the 190 euros was removed from the bill and I left. To add insult to injury, the taxi driver started the meter when the luggage was put into the taxi by the bellman. I had to pay the additional 45 minutes charged. This experience is what I remember of my stay in Amsterdam. A totally incompetent staff (except the concierge) with absolutely no concept of customer service. I can not understand the five star rating this hotel is getting from others. The location good, the room good but I must have gotten the temporary staff as the excellent staff the other reviewers met were on vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zack477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to give us your in depth feedback with regards to your recent stay at De L'Europe. Through feedback like yours we can continuously monitor and improve our services and facilities.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the fact that you did not get to enjoy the level of service De L'Europe is known for and likes to pride itself with.
You have raised some very valid points which are inexcusable and will be addressed immediately with the relevant departments to ensure they will not get repeated.

I will very much appreciate it if you were to get in touch with myself directly via email on jbronsveld@leurope.nl in order for us to look at an opportunity to turn things around.

Lastly I would like to thank you for your compliments on the hotel room itself, the location and our Concierge. I will ensure your kind words will be passed on and look forward to hearing from you!

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Level Contributor
184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

By far the best hotel we enjoyed this trip! The renovation made the suites wonderfully guest attractive. Spacious foyer, dining area, living room, bedroom and bath relaxed the mind and body after such a long trip! The modern pampered theme works! Top restaurant in the hotel closed for summer break....but the terrace did fine with all the sunny days (including one at 96 degrees F) on the canal watching every sort of waterbourne vehicle go by with every sort of Amsterdam society. A short walk to Bridges in the Grand Hotel for seafood and Incanto on the opposite side of the canal for great Italian fare. Best room slippers ever!

Room Tip: Every room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westmauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

we had the top floor room, overlooking a canal, great view from the window, which is perfectly isolates the street sound. Bed was very comfortable, heated floors in the bathroom are fun, Service was great, the restaurants are very good as is the bar (Fredy's). The hotel's location is very central, making everything very accessible through easy walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotch666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Part of the LHW group, this hotel does not disappoint. It's very grand lobby and entrance give indication of space and decor. The rooms are quite large, we had a great room overlooking the river on the higher floor so noise was not a problem. Bed is extremely comfortable, bathroom is extremely large with marble fixtures. Check in and our service was perfect, very friendly and welcoming. The only area where service suffered were the bar and restaurant, not very attentive which was disappointing.

Despite the small service issue, I would definitely recommend staying here for the location which is absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: Premium Deluxe River View if you can justify the rate. We are LHW members so breakfast was included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukcurtisnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,251 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing