We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“We came to see Amsterdam, but had a hard time leaving our room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Maui
Level Contributor
184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“We came to see Amsterdam, but had a hard time leaving our room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

By far the best hotel we enjoyed this trip! The renovation made the suites wonderfully guest attractive. Spacious foyer, dining area, living room, bedroom and bath relaxed the mind and body after such a long trip! The modern pampered theme works! Top restaurant in the hotel closed for summer break....but the terrace did fine with all the sunny days (including one at 96 degrees F) on the canal watching every sort of waterbourne vehicle go by with every sort of Amsterdam society. A short walk to Bridges in the Grand Hotel for seafood and Incanto on the opposite side of the canal for great Italian fare. Best room slippers ever!

Room Tip: Every room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westmauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    200
    67
    16
    19
See reviews for
184
600
54
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

we had the top floor room, overlooking a canal, great view from the window, which is perfectly isolates the street sound. Bed was very comfortable, heated floors in the bathroom are fun, Service was great, the restaurants are very good as is the bar (Fredy's). The hotel's location is very central, making everything very accessible through easy walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotch666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Part of the LHW group, this hotel does not disappoint. It's very grand lobby and entrance give indication of space and decor. The rooms are quite large, we had a great room overlooking the river on the higher floor so noise was not a problem. Bed is extremely comfortable, bathroom is extremely large with marble fixtures. Check in and our service was perfect, very friendly and welcoming. The only area where service suffered were the bar and restaurant, not very attentive which was disappointing.

Despite the small service issue, I would definitely recommend staying here for the location which is absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: Premium Deluxe River View if you can justify the rate. We are LHW members so breakfast was included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukcurtisnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at De L'Europe for three nights. We just wanted to see Amsterdam but , wow, the hotel experience was amazing. From our checking in process it was first class service. It's location is very convenient to anything you want to see and do downtown Amsterdam. We had the bed and breakfast option and even though some have said it is costly, we think it was a good value because food in Amsterdam is not cheap. Each day, after playing tourist, we would wind down at the lobby bar where the fabulous Atuel took care of us remembering what we liked to drink. He even made arrangements for an evening tour of downtown on a pedal powered taxi. What a great experience! Overall it was a fantastic experience. We will stay here again when we come back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53marialadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a great hotel. From the moment we arrived (very early) the helpful friendly staff showed us to our beautiful room. We were jet lagged as we had just come off a 9 hour flight from Alberta, but did not want to give into a nap right away. After a quick change and a tour around Amsterdam (everything is within walking distance) we were ready to sleep. The room was extremely quiet and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. Great bathrooms a wonderful restaurant on the canal. This hotel is a must!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moniquestephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
167 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I booked this even though it wasn't highly rated with Trip Advisor. (The Holiday Inn had a higher rating, seriously?). The property is Leading Hotels, which in our travels, rates highly. I'm glad I was here. Expensive? Yes, about $450 a night, but for this I was upgraded to a Junior Suite on the canal. It was beautiful. Had cocktails at the Terrace, which was wonderful, outside, looking at all the boats going past, and had dinner in the Brasserie, very simple soup and salad, which for us in the evenings is a lot of food. The other meals we saw looked very good. All-in-all, L'Europe impressed me, and I would come back.

Room Tip: If you are coming here, don't skimp. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grapdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A fusion of traditional and modern that works quite well, although a little too much red going on for my liking! Booked a standard double which was immaculate but very very compact, beautiful marble bathroom but no bath! Beware they want to charge your card with a €150/day security deposit even when we prepaid the room, we objected and they took €150 cash for the 3 day stay!! Bar prices are high and the service a little slow. Nice terraced area at side of the canal, and lovely smoking lounge area. Great location, but quite alot of gay bars in the immediate vacinity of Rembrant Square. All in all, about as good as it gets in Amsterdam, but it's certainly no George CInq!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing