We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a great hotel. From the moment we arrived (very early) the helpful friendly staff showed us to our beautiful room. We were jet lagged as we had just come off a 9 hour flight from Alberta, but did not want to give into a nap right away. After a quick change and a tour around Amsterdam (everything is within walking distance) we were ready to sleep. The room was extremely quiet and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. Great bathrooms a wonderful restaurant on the canal. This hotel is a must!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moniquestephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    201
    67
    16
    19
See reviews for
185
602
55
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
167 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I booked this even though it wasn't highly rated with Trip Advisor. (The Holiday Inn had a higher rating, seriously?). The property is Leading Hotels, which in our travels, rates highly. I'm glad I was here. Expensive? Yes, about $450 a night, but for this I was upgraded to a Junior Suite on the canal. It was beautiful. Had cocktails at the Terrace, which was wonderful, outside, looking at all the boats going past, and had dinner in the Brasserie, very simple soup and salad, which for us in the evenings is a lot of food. The other meals we saw looked very good. All-in-all, L'Europe impressed me, and I would come back.

Room Tip: If you are coming here, don't skimp. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grapdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A fusion of traditional and modern that works quite well, although a little too much red going on for my liking! Booked a standard double which was immaculate but very very compact, beautiful marble bathroom but no bath! Beware they want to charge your card with a €150/day security deposit even when we prepaid the room, we objected and they took €150 cash for the 3 day stay!! Bar prices are high and the service a little slow. Nice terraced area at side of the canal, and lovely smoking lounge area. Great location, but quite alot of gay bars in the immediate vacinity of Rembrant Square. All in all, about as good as it gets in Amsterdam, but it's certainly no George CInq!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to a Jr Suite and it was marvelous having been renovated within the last year or two. Bathroom was huge, even by American standards. Bed comfort was superb. The integrated lighting system, of all things, takes some getting used to and can be frustrating, perhaps the only complaint we had of the room. The staff is friendly and helpful.

The lobby is beautiful and engaging, perfect for afternoon tea or cocktails. Freddy Heineken's bar (attached) is a totally different atmosphere, sort of clubby, and fun as well. Don't miss dining alfresco by the canal. Food is very good and ambiance, on a cool summer night, is truly what vacation brochures try to capture. At this property, it's real. Restaurant service is good for Europe, but not exceptional (and one must remember we travel to Europe because it is different). I was fine with it.

We loved Amsterdam and will book at this fine property again for our next visit.

Room Tip: A view of the canal is certainly preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

One of the leading hotels of Europe keeping up nicely with its tradition.
Located in the glorious center of towns surrounded by the canals was perfect to stay for a couple of days and discover Amsterdam highlights in all its facets as all museums, restaurants all in a walking.
The room was large and luxuriously decorated in good taste. The bed was very comfortable and surrounded with amenities like I pad tablet, i phone console all interconnected with the room music system !
My wife and I were disappointed by the hotel's terrace restaurant which was embarrassingly skimpy on the serving of pedestrian but expensive wines as well as the food was not to be remembered but by its overpricing. Still the location on the canal is fabulous and may be worth not going to the even higher priced restaurant inside on the premises.
Breakfast buffet or a la carte was great and the atmosphere, again overlloking the canals, was very pleasant.
Overall it is great dutch hospitability and friendliness that shall win you back here... possibly asking for a "view" (in the back),and know to leave my car at one of the town outskirts parking lots to avoid the steep about $60 a day at the hotel.

Room Tip: Room in back with a balcony overlooking the canal is the tip !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grapeman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Amsterdam was not a place on our itinerary, but we loved it and we loved L'Europe as well. we were upgraded (bonus) to a junior suite that was one floor up on the corner overlooking the canal. We had 2 balconies, a small off the bedroom and a long one that wrapped around the corner of the lounge. We felt totally spoilt and the facilities were incredible. I've never seen so many towels offered in a bathroom - everything, head rest for bath, nespresso coffee in the room and the staff were happy and extremely helpful. We hired bikes and rode around the city and the location is perfect. I would love to stay there again if the budget stretches.

Room Tip: a Room over the canal is really worth it -the canal comes alive at night, especially I guess in summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenwal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

While booking my 'normal' room over the phone I explained the staff that the stay we had was to celebrate our fifth wedding anniversary. While checking in we got a fantastic surprise; we got a serious upgrade to the fantastic suite with a view over Amsterdam, a bubblebath and fantastic interior. What a great start of our stay. The staff is extremely friendly, professional and guest focused. After a nice breakfast with very friendly personnel we could use the 'hotel bikes' to cycle through Amsterdam. We have had two fantastic days in this great hotel. Compliments for the design, interior, the art and most important great staff. Customer service at the highest degree! The location is fantastic since it is in the center but very close to the Jordaan (what we prefer over the city center) and close to musea and concert venues. We will for sure come back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank B v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,246 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing