We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This is how you do Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #16 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This is how you do Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Taking the old and smashing it with the new, this hotel is modern, warm, and a happy place to be. Amsterdam was a strange city to me, but the moment I entered our room my jaw dropped. My favorite color is mustard, yea appalling to some, but it's a happy color people and out room was a bronzy mustard color with rembrandts on the wall, a stunning terrace over the canal and a modern as you can get purple bathroom. The interior designer deserves huge props to pull off such a task in such a tasteful manner. The concierge booked us dinner at two restaurants of which I will never forget. De Vief Viejen (well, something like that, English: the five flies) was the first and it was drop dead yummy. It's Dutch food made at it's best. The best experience and food I have ever eaten came from Le Rive at the intercontinental. Nothing on any continent has touched it, and I was a vegetarian at the time and the chef created an entire pre fixe menu of 5 courses which was actually like 20, and course on top of course topped the next. When you stay at hotel de l'europe, which you should, get them to book you a dinner at Le rive with drinks afterwards at the secret unmarked bar that was like hogwarts gone achy. (the concierge will instruct you on how to get in). Have fun and enjoy the tulips!

Room Tip: Try and get a canal view, and a terrace really makes the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RyFy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    222
    71
    18
    20
See reviews for
213
667
64
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very commercial location, although on a canal. Beautiful room, poor service at front desk and restaurant. Just too big - would have preferred smaller boutique hotel on more residential canal. Just sorta misses!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5807tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

From the moment you arrive until you check out you are aware that you are in a first rate old world hotel. Every amenity is available. The staff is elegant and professional and ready to assist in whatever you need. Restaurant and staff are worthy of 5 stars. Friendly, not stuffy atmosphere, but with elegance and style. Perfectly and centrally located. We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: We were in 506 which was a corner room with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kandeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I made a booking for 2 deluxe rooms, both were very disappointing for a 5 star hotel. The first room, number 432, had an unacceptable smell of sewerage - which was very odd as it wasn't from the bathroom and the room is well above the canal. Opening the tiny attic window did nothing to clear the smell. I asked Robert, the staff member who showed us to our room, for another room. He agreed that it was necessary said he would deal with it straight away. The second room reserved for us was also unacceptable. Number 322 looked into a glassed-over central courtyard giving a very claustrophobic feeling. Very little natural daylight or view of the sky and no chance to open the window for fresh air.
We waited for a hour then called reception to ask them for an update on changing rooms. The front desk did not know about our request but told us that as the hotel was fully booked we could not move rooms unless we were willing to pay and additional 150Euros per room per night. Confusing and contradictory. The hotel were not willing to send someone to check the problem with the smell in the room nor were they willing to move us from an unacceptable room at their cost. Not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. The staff should feel ashamed that they treat customers so badly. I won't ever return to this sub-standard hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 432 and 322
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milouxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am truly sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and that the service received was not the one we like to pride ourselves with. I am surprised to read that a manager was not made aware to address your area of discontent about the odour in the room, which to me sounds like it could have had something to do with the air conditioning unit.
The room with courtyard view was allocated with best intentions since your reservation stated that a quiet room was desired.
You are absolutely right that your feedback should have been dealt with in a more gracious manner and there is no excuse that you could not have moved rooms durning your entire 3 day visit.
I kindly ask you to email me directly should you wish to discuss this matter in further depth.

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
jbronsveld@leurope.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Nice hotel, cosy, stylish with that french/dutch touch. The location (as their brasserie's terrace) is sensational. The hotel consists of more buildings attached together, so around every corner there is another surprise. One more tip: great thee menu!

Room Tip: take a view on the water. hey, your in amsterdam!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms and large bed. Nice finish to things. It is certanly the best hotel in town. Friendly staff but they are slightly cocky they forgott to bring me coffee at breakefast when ordered. Listed the wrong roomservice meny when asking.
Charged me twice for the room and when contakting them they gave back 32€ so i had to contakt them twice to corekt them. But this is the best hotel i have stayed and i Will come back soon, the staff is trained good and are polite.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tobbis78
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently stayed at the recently renovated L'Europe in Amsterdam. This timeless hotel overlooking the river and canals is a gem. All the flair and beauty of 19th century with a modern 21st century interior and amenities. Our room had a balcony overlooking the river. It was just perfect. Staff are just wonderful and in my opinion, are the best in Amsterdam. I loved the terrace for lunch and the cocktail bar after a day wandering around the city. Room service was literally instant and everything hot ! We will be passing through Amsterdam in a couple of months time so we will stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river facing south - west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightofhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L'Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L'Europe has been favored by Amsterdam's elite and the hotel continues to attract the world's most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L'Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord'Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city's most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar 'Les Caves De L'Europe'. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam's inspired gentlemen's pub Freddy's Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness 'Skins Institute - De L'Europe'. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing