We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
DUBAI
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very nice hotel location in the middle of the city .. very friendly staff fast check in .. I booked through booking.com and front desk upgrade my rooms to suits .. very nice suits and very comfortable large enough .. coffee machine in the room and nice TV with IPad connected to the internet free of charge ..every room with different decoration and very nice decorated ... this hotel recommended by my wife ... very easy to reach the shops and restaurants .. nice Islamic restaurants around the hotel.. parking cost 57 euro

Room Tip: some rooms and suits with poor view .. then I you want a view you should ask the hotel before .. kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALMARZOUQI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    201
    67
    16
    19
See reviews for
185
603
55
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Beautiful hotel, quirky as probably any large site in Amsterdam would have to be. Our rooms were large and beautiful, with gorgeous views over the Amstel River. Weather permitting, eating outside provides a nice canal-side experience. A few small flaws (some confusion at check-in, occasionally inattentive service in the restaurant, hot water issues in one of our rooms, hard-to-figure-out video system) did not meaningfully detract from otherwise responsive and polite service. Very good concierge. Easy walk to major sites.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGosivetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Staying in the Hotel de L'Europe was a highlight of my trip to Amsterdam. The hotel is in an excellent location, my room was beautiful, overlooked the Amstel River, had a large bathroom, included the use of a iPad and a I had lovely chocolates upon my arrival. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast in the restaurant was a great way to start the day and having a cocktail in the lobby was a great way to end the evening.

I was very sorry to have to leave and I hope to return again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place has it all! In fact, for us, it was kind of laughable as they had so many new and innovative electronics and technology that we not only had a great stay, but we had a learning experience. Jerome who is at the front desk is charming and helpful. The greeter, Mohammed was just extra nice and helpful. Everyone was smiling and this helped make the experience a great one for us. The hotel is centrally located on one of the canals, but they also have an outside patio for drinks or food...and why go anywhere when you are at the best! Food was delicious and they had a varied menu. We loved their bar as well. We had a Junior Suite. I just can't think of anything negative to say about this place.

Room Tip: You probably do not have to get a Junior Suite inasmuch as the main bedroom is designed beautifully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ciraulo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sappington, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Gorgeous suite, overlooking the river. Easy walk to most places. Impeccably furnished and outfitted. Expensive but oh so worth it. Dinner in the restaurant was a wonderful experience :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grneyesntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

De L'Europe Amsterdam was excellent in every respect - location, room, service, comfort, staff. We recently completed a four night stay and highly recommend this hotel. A bit expensive, but we thought we got value for our money here.

Room Tip: rooms facing the canal are surprisingly quiet and the view is terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Wow!! -That's how I have to begin my review.. Wow... One of the best hotels stays I have ever experienced, and I travel a lot. Decided to stay at this property based on its reputation and location..
But, Now, I plan to return here based on its Service and Staff. Words cannot express how this hotel Wowed me.. Everything done to perfection with attention to detail. It never let me down during my stay. This hotel has some of the most professional and courteous staff members of any hotel I've ever stayed at..
Upon arrival, Rene, the doorman greeted me with a big smile. Jordan the bellman was friendly and super efficient handling my luggage, and he did it with care, as I told him I had my camera equipment inside. Then Claudia at reception began my check-in as professionally as one could expect. Lizabeth at reception was extremely helpful every time I needed something when others were busy attending other guests at the reception desk. During Breakfast Paul was so cordial and friendly I wanted to have breakfast everyday in the hotel brasserie overlooking the canal. The Buffet was delicious and well priced.
The Concierge Chef Concierge, Eff, is an invaluable asset to this hotel. He was so insightful, and knowledgeable that I wish he was the concierge at every hotel I'll ever stay at. He went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure my stay was a memorable one..Never once did I feel the service was anything less than 5 Star and 5 Diamond....
The rooms were another WOW.. If you can afford the Dutch Masters Rooms..Go for it!! these Rooms are amazing with terrific canal views!! You won't be disappointed if you stay in one..
Btw, I loved the dual 110-220 volts outlets!!! Great idea!
In Amsterdam if there is a finer hotel, I'd like to see it.. Gresham Palace in Budapest comes close to this but, "De L'Europe" is hard to beat. Absolutely, it's a 5 Star, 5 Diamond Experience.

Room Tip: I only want to stay in the Dutch Masters Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nycstefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,250 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing