We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in the Diamond District” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sappington, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the Diamond District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Gorgeous suite, overlooking the river. Easy walk to most places. Impeccably furnished and outfitted. Expensive but oh so worth it. Dinner in the restaurant was a wonderful experience :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grneyesntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    200
    67
    16
    19
See reviews for
184
600
54
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

De L'Europe Amsterdam was excellent in every respect - location, room, service, comfort, staff. We recently completed a four night stay and highly recommend this hotel. A bit expensive, but we thought we got value for our money here.

Room Tip: rooms facing the canal are surprisingly quiet and the view is terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Wow!! -That's how I have to begin my review.. Wow... One of the best hotels stays I have ever experienced, and I travel a lot. Decided to stay at this property based on its reputation and location..
But, Now, I plan to return here based on its Service and Staff. Words cannot express how this hotel Wowed me.. Everything done to perfection with attention to detail. It never let me down during my stay. This hotel has some of the most professional and courteous staff members of any hotel I've ever stayed at..
Upon arrival, Rene, the doorman greeted me with a big smile. Jordan the bellman was friendly and super efficient handling my luggage, and he did it with care, as I told him I had my camera equipment inside. Then Claudia at reception began my check-in as professionally as one could expect. Lizabeth at reception was extremely helpful every time I needed something when others were busy attending other guests at the reception desk. During Breakfast Paul was so cordial and friendly I wanted to have breakfast everyday in the hotel brasserie overlooking the canal. The Buffet was delicious and well priced.
The Concierge Chef Concierge, Eff, is an invaluable asset to this hotel. He was so insightful, and knowledgeable that I wish he was the concierge at every hotel I'll ever stay at. He went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure my stay was a memorable one..Never once did I feel the service was anything less than 5 Star and 5 Diamond....
The rooms were another WOW.. If you can afford the Dutch Masters Rooms..Go for it!! these Rooms are amazing with terrific canal views!! You won't be disappointed if you stay in one..
Btw, I loved the dual 110-220 volts outlets!!! Great idea!
In Amsterdam if there is a finer hotel, I'd like to see it.. Gresham Palace in Budapest comes close to this but, "De L'Europe" is hard to beat. Absolutely, it's a 5 Star, 5 Diamond Experience.

Room Tip: I only want to stay in the Dutch Masters Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nycstefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just came back from a short trip to Amsterdam and stayed at the De L'Europe. We took the shuttle from the airport to the hotel which was quick and easy (and cheaper than taking a taxi - 14E instead of 50E by taxi). Once we got to the hotel, after travelling and being awake for almost 24 hours, I was pleasantly pleased that a room was ready for us, despite it being only 11am. The CSR was polite, lovely and walked us up to the room. She showed us all of the amenities including the iPad and the heated marble floors. She was very observant for as soon as we entered the room and noticed our reaction to the chill she immediately turned up the heat.
We ate at the restaurant on site and although expensive (relative to the restaurants around) the food was quite good and worth the price. The service there was excellent as well. Over the next few days we visited as much of Amsterdam as we could. Tips:
1. Book your trip to the Ann Frank House online as the wait to get in is VERY long. You can bypass the line with a pre-purchased ticket.
2. You can combine a canal tour with hop-on/hop-off service to see the city by Canal and visit the museums as well.
3. Bagels and Beans (close to the Ann Frank house) is GREAT for a cheap but YUMMY lunch - the smoked chicken and avocado sandwich was delicious!
4. Begin your trip at the Amsterdam Museum; you get a good sense of the history and architectural design on Amsterdam which helps the other museums make a bit more sense.
My only issue on this trip was booking the shuttle back to the airport. Although I pre-paid for the ticket and the concierge was kind enough to reserve the shuttle, the shuttle failed to arrive. Because of the delay, I ended up having to take a taxi to the airport and pay an additional 50E.
I am going to try to get my money back, but I am aware that this will probably be an exercise in futility.
Overall I had a wonderful trip. The hotel is well positioned (in the heart of the city) beautiful, clean, and well-appointed with a caring and very dedicated staff. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: We had an inside room which was lovely. Obviously the canal view rooms will be nicer, but because th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsahai85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Recent stay was in May 2012. We found the hotel staff to be so friendly, helpful and courteous.
The Hotel is one of the best I have stayed in, their high tea is to die for. The Hotel is situated right in the middle of the city on a canal, beautifully renovated, the best restaurants. Huge rooms, the decor is different in each one. The bathrooms are stunning, and the latest in design. The towels were the best in Europe. I did not think the hotel was expensive, it was worth every cent. This trip I stayed in other 5 star hotels that were more expensive but not as luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I must say I have been impressed by the service and the welcome that the Hotel provided me and my family during my visit. All the staff are friendly and helpful. A point any tourist shall appreciate. I'm glad I booked this hotel which is well located and at the same time makes one's stay comfortable.

Look forward to another visit soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimbus1281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The only two cabs we took were from and to the Rail station, everywhere else we walked. Love the decor of this hotel. Fun. We had a beautiful room, large by european standards. The Bathroom was superlative, huge with separate shower and bath. The towels were glorious. Front desk folks were excellent. Hotel is not cheap which made their breakfast all the more disappointing. A very weak effort at a s deep price. Any cafe in a six block radius would give you a better experience and certainly weren't charging the same price. A good location, a good hotel that could have been much better if they addressed the breakfast issue.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canamital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing