We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Royal stay in the heart of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Royal stay in the heart of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in the Premium Deluxe Room with my family. Excellent room standard with iPad available at the nigth table and free WiFi. Delicious royal style bathroom. Staffs friendliness, hospitality and quick response to requests made the stay even better. Very nice breakfast served in the room.
Location at Muntplein is perfect with 5 min walk to Rembrandtplein.11 tram and bus lines halts just outside and connects you with all parts of the city.
Only drawback was the credit card bill I received back home, but it was worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for channel view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    216
    69
    18
    20
See reviews for
205
655
62
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

A very good location in the old city center with wonderful views to the Amstel. The entire hotel has been recently refurbished with good taste and comfortable solutions in the public areas. The equipment in the rooms is remarkable, with a very comfortable bed and bathroom. The friendly attitude of all the staff, from the doorman to the manager on duty is surprising. All our requirements were solved efficiently and promptly as one can expect in a five star hotel, but unfortunately too often the service received in de luxe hotels is a “four and a half” being generous in the qualification. Good quality food and excellent service for breakfast and dinner. Freddie’s Bar is a must to be visited.
I believe it is the best hotel in Amsterdam and no doubt it is in the select bunch of best hotels in the World. Bravo ¡¡

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown MA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

This property has been beautifully renovated in a very stylish yet elegant way. Our room overlooking the canal was fantastic and even came with an Ipad which we put to good use. The staff were fantastic. The pool and spa were spectacular and the location in the heart of Amsterdam made everything within walking distance. So why not a five star? The only area where we felt the hotel fell down was breakfast. Breakfast was included in our rate yet when we sat down the first morning we were told we could only order from one side of the menu and anything on the other side was extra. On this trip we stayed in 8 different hotels, all about the same cost, and this was the only property that limited breakfast choices. On top of that, the buffet that was set out was the most simple and uninteresting of all the hotels we stayed in. At this price point this is not what we expected. This is an easy fix and the only downside of this otherwise superb property.

Room Tip: Get a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

An old world hotel right in the middle of Amsterdam. Nothing in the city was more then 10 minute walk from our hotel. The rooms were just re-done and very nice. Only bad thing I can say about this hotel, was in the am the staff was VERY loud in the hallway and woke my wife and I.

Otherwise, the only place to stay in Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Myron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have stayed at De L'Europe several times since 2001, the most recent March 15th for three nights. This was my first time back since the hotel was remodeled. I brought friends with me, we both had Deluxe Junior Suites, canal views, me on the 2nd floor, them on the 3rd. From the lobby to the room, perfect. Check in was a breeze, front desk staff right on their game, luggage delivered to the room in minutes. Housekeeping was low key, handling both cleaning and turn down without us ever noticing. My favorite bar in town is Freddy's, that being Freddy
Heineken, whose family owns the hotel, that has been rebuilt with all the charm. Both Gert, 20 year employee, and Marcel, 10 years, still give the best service in town. Along with the physical remodel, food and beverage has radically changed, for the better. We found ourselves eating often in the hotel. Room service was prompt, food actually still warm! Of course the location is perfect, the view from the breakfast room is of the Amstel, elegant, yet laid back. I used to stay at the Sofitel Grand, 20 visits worth, and I cannot say the same about that remodel, the charm completely gone. We had come from the Connaught in London, which I love, but my friends and I both agreed, L'Europe was at least as good, or better. Bravo!

Room Tip: Personally I like the canal view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardsonsnm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

You'll receive a friendly reception from everyone, including the concierge, bellmen, and waitstaff at this 5-star establishment. Everything is plush and immaculate. A rather impressive property. The tram stop is literally just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youthfulcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing