We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel In Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #13 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Provincetown MA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great Hotel In Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This property has been beautifully renovated in a very stylish yet elegant way. Our room overlooking the canal was fantastic and even came with an Ipad which we put to good use. The staff were fantastic. The pool and spa were spectacular and the location in the heart of Amsterdam made everything within walking distance. So why not a five star? The only area where we felt the hotel fell down was breakfast. Breakfast was included in our rate yet when we sat down the first morning we were told we could only order from one side of the menu and anything on the other side was extra. On this trip we stayed in 8 different hotels, all about the same cost, and this was the only property that limited breakfast choices. On top of that, the buffet that was set out was the most simple and uninteresting of all the hotels we stayed in. At this price point this is not what we expected. This is an easy fix and the only downside of this otherwise superb property.

Room Tip: Get a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    208
    67
    16
    20
See reviews for
195
630
55
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

An old world hotel right in the middle of Amsterdam. Nothing in the city was more then 10 minute walk from our hotel. The rooms were just re-done and very nice. Only bad thing I can say about this hotel, was in the am the staff was VERY loud in the hallway and woke my wife and I.

Otherwise, the only place to stay in Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Myron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have stayed at De L'Europe several times since 2001, the most recent March 15th for three nights. This was my first time back since the hotel was remodeled. I brought friends with me, we both had Deluxe Junior Suites, canal views, me on the 2nd floor, them on the 3rd. From the lobby to the room, perfect. Check in was a breeze, front desk staff right on their game, luggage delivered to the room in minutes. Housekeeping was low key, handling both cleaning and turn down without us ever noticing. My favorite bar in town is Freddy's, that being Freddy
Heineken, whose family owns the hotel, that has been rebuilt with all the charm. Both Gert, 20 year employee, and Marcel, 10 years, still give the best service in town. Along with the physical remodel, food and beverage has radically changed, for the better. We found ourselves eating often in the hotel. Room service was prompt, food actually still warm! Of course the location is perfect, the view from the breakfast room is of the Amstel, elegant, yet laid back. I used to stay at the Sofitel Grand, 20 visits worth, and I cannot say the same about that remodel, the charm completely gone. We had come from the Connaught in London, which I love, but my friends and I both agreed, L'Europe was at least as good, or better. Bravo!

Room Tip: Personally I like the canal view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardsonsnm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

You'll receive a friendly reception from everyone, including the concierge, bellmen, and waitstaff at this 5-star establishment. Everything is plush and immaculate. A rather impressive property. The tram stop is literally just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youthfulcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

First I would like to say entering into the lobby is quite impressive as it continues and turns into a nice cocktail lounge and bar. Hotel staff was excellent and we had a deluxe room which was very nice and the bathrooms were lovely. The marble had a finish that was not slippery and the floor was also heated. We were attending a meeting and the food for dinner and lunch in the private dinning room was wonderful. Breakfast was included in our 350 euro a night rate and very good. Very good location for getting around the city on foot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
407 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and had chosen DeL'E as it was located within reasonable walking distance of the main attractions.

We took a taxi from the airport and the cost was just under €45. This was in a large multi seater and the driver assured us that he would charge the same as a "standard" car. As the cost going back was about the same and it was then "rush hour" this seemed to have been the case. Going back we booked the taxi ourselves (TCA as recommended by other reviewers) and it arrived in about 10 minutes from our call.

The hotel staff throughout were very friendly, efficient and helpful, although we had done a lot of research and had planned our trips out, so I do not think we needed much help on that aspect.

We had booked a junior suite with a canal view, and this room was absolutely fine in terms of size, view and facilities and as we had expected. We were offered an upgrade for an extra €300, but declined this. The bed was very comfortable and the nespresso machine was a welcome addition, although a small kettle would have been useful to make tea, rather than having to use water from the nespresso which had a coffee taste. The complimentary bottled water was a nice touch. The lighting on the wardrobe side of the room is not very bright though, so not easy to see inside. Occasionally the room was cold on returning after a day out, so it is possible that this may have been on a timer?

The bed was very comfortable, although like other reviewers the automatic lighting system was a bit strange - difficult to read in the bathroom if the lights suddenly go out. Perhaps a simple guide for the room basics might help here! Also as has been mentioned the internet access was at times a bit slow, and on one occasion non-existent..

We ate in the brasserie on two evenings and the service and food was very good, we also had some excellent cocktails in Freddy's bar. The wine list in the brasserie contained many choices that were expensive, but amongst these were a handful of perfectly acceptable wines at a reasonable price for the quality hotel that it is.

Breakfast was OK, a nice range, but the cheese and meat on one morning were a little "tired" looking, but it was our latest start and no doubt would have looked better earlier on.

Housekeeping were too efficient, in that any bathroom product that had been opened seemed to be replaced on a daily basis. If these are discarded it is wasteful and unnecessary.

We bought 2 Holland Passes (5 entries each) at a total of €88. We were left with 2 windmill passes, but even so after visiting the Van Gogh and Rijks museums, the new and old church, the Hermitage and doing a canal tour, we still got our money's worth. Of these our favourite was the Hermitage (and also had a good lunch there).

I think we would have visited all regardless of whether we had the pass, so it was not a question of "we must get our money's worth".

We also visited the Anne Frank house which is not in the Holland Pass, but very worthwhile and attended the free concert on Wednesday lunchtime at Concert Gebouw - extremely popular even in early March and I do not think there were any spare seats, not sure if this was due to the quality of the performance, the fact that it is free, or that it was pouring with rain - however we enjoyed it.

The disappointing visits were the two churches, the old as it was being renovated and those parts that were visible were not all that impressive and the new as the exhibition it contained effectively meant that you could not really see the building itself all that well.

On the subject of food we had a good lunch at Ristorante Pizzeria Isola Bella at Thorbeckeplein and also at Cafe de Jaren just down the road from the hotel.

Overall we enjoyed our visit to Amsterdam, we think the length was about right for seeing the main attractions that we wished to see and it is a good city to walk around - mostly flat, with just the occasional bridge over a canal having an incline!

One final point, as we wanted to travel from Bristol we flew with easy jet and paid for speedy boarding - going out was fine, but coming back they did not differentiate between those who had paid extra for SB and those who had not, so it was a waste of money paying the extra.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing