We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel In Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #16 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Provincetown MA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Hotel In Great Location”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This property has been beautifully renovated in a very stylish yet elegant way. Our room overlooking the canal was fantastic and even came with an Ipad which we put to good use. The staff were fantastic. The pool and spa were spectacular and the location in the heart of Amsterdam made everything within walking distance. So why not a five star? The only area where we felt the hotel fell down was breakfast. Breakfast was included in our rate yet when we sat down the first morning we were told we could only order from one side of the menu and anything on the other side was extra. On this trip we stayed in 8 different hotels, all about the same cost, and this was the only property that limited breakfast choices. On top of that, the buffet that was set out was the most simple and uninteresting of all the hotels we stayed in. At this price point this is not what we expected. This is an easy fix and the only downside of this otherwise superb property.

Room Tip: Get a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    245
    76
    19
    21
See reviews for
238
740
70
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

An old world hotel right in the middle of Amsterdam. Nothing in the city was more then 10 minute walk from our hotel. The rooms were just re-done and very nice. Only bad thing I can say about this hotel, was in the am the staff was VERY loud in the hallway and woke my wife and I.

Otherwise, the only place to stay in Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Myron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have stayed at De L'Europe several times since 2001, the most recent March 15th for three nights. This was my first time back since the hotel was remodeled. I brought friends with me, we both had Deluxe Junior Suites, canal views, me on the 2nd floor, them on the 3rd. From the lobby to the room, perfect. Check in was a breeze, front desk staff right on their game, luggage delivered to the room in minutes. Housekeeping was low key, handling both cleaning and turn down without us ever noticing. My favorite bar in town is Freddy's, that being Freddy
Heineken, whose family owns the hotel, that has been rebuilt with all the charm. Both Gert, 20 year employee, and Marcel, 10 years, still give the best service in town. Along with the physical remodel, food and beverage has radically changed, for the better. We found ourselves eating often in the hotel. Room service was prompt, food actually still warm! Of course the location is perfect, the view from the breakfast room is of the Amstel, elegant, yet laid back. I used to stay at the Sofitel Grand, 20 visits worth, and I cannot say the same about that remodel, the charm completely gone. We had come from the Connaught in London, which I love, but my friends and I both agreed, L'Europe was at least as good, or better. Bravo!

Room Tip: Personally I like the canal view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardsonsnm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

You'll receive a friendly reception from everyone, including the concierge, bellmen, and waitstaff at this 5-star establishment. Everything is plush and immaculate. A rather impressive property. The tram stop is literally just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youthfulcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

First I would like to say entering into the lobby is quite impressive as it continues and turns into a nice cocktail lounge and bar. Hotel staff was excellent and we had a deluxe room which was very nice and the bathrooms were lovely. The marble had a finish that was not slippery and the floor was also heated. We were attending a meeting and the food for dinner and lunch in the private dinning room was wonderful. Breakfast was included in our 350 euro a night rate and very good. Very good location for getting around the city on foot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and had chosen DeL'E as it was located within reasonable walking distance of the main attractions.

We took a taxi from the airport and the cost was just under €45. This was in a large multi seater and the driver assured us that he would charge the same as a "standard" car. As the cost going back was about the same and it was then "rush hour" this seemed to have been the case. Going back we booked the taxi ourselves (TCA as recommended by other reviewers) and it arrived in about 10 minutes from our call.

The hotel staff throughout were very friendly, efficient and helpful, although we had done a lot of research and had planned our trips out, so I do not think we needed much help on that aspect.

We had booked a junior suite with a canal view, and this room was absolutely fine in terms of size, view and facilities and as we had expected. We were offered an upgrade for an extra €300, but declined this. The bed was very comfortable and the nespresso machine was a welcome addition, although a small kettle would have been useful to make tea, rather than having to use water from the nespresso which had a coffee taste. The complimentary bottled water was a nice touch. The lighting on the wardrobe side of the room is not very bright though, so not easy to see inside. Occasionally the room was cold on returning after a day out, so it is possible that this may have been on a timer?

The bed was very comfortable, although like other reviewers the automatic lighting system was a bit strange - difficult to read in the bathroom if the lights suddenly go out. Perhaps a simple guide for the room basics might help here! Also as has been mentioned the internet access was at times a bit slow, and on one occasion non-existent..

We ate in the brasserie on two evenings and the service and food was very good, we also had some excellent cocktails in Freddy's bar. The wine list in the brasserie contained many choices that were expensive, but amongst these were a handful of perfectly acceptable wines at a reasonable price for the quality hotel that it is.

Breakfast was OK, a nice range, but the cheese and meat on one morning were a little "tired" looking, but it was our latest start and no doubt would have looked better earlier on.

Housekeeping were too efficient, in that any bathroom product that had been opened seemed to be replaced on a daily basis. If these are discarded it is wasteful and unnecessary.

We bought 2 Holland Passes (5 entries each) at a total of €88. We were left with 2 windmill passes, but even so after visiting the Van Gogh and Rijks museums, the new and old church, the Hermitage and doing a canal tour, we still got our money's worth. Of these our favourite was the Hermitage (and also had a good lunch there).

I think we would have visited all regardless of whether we had the pass, so it was not a question of "we must get our money's worth".

We also visited the Anne Frank house which is not in the Holland Pass, but very worthwhile and attended the free concert on Wednesday lunchtime at Concert Gebouw - extremely popular even in early March and I do not think there were any spare seats, not sure if this was due to the quality of the performance, the fact that it is free, or that it was pouring with rain - however we enjoyed it.

The disappointing visits were the two churches, the old as it was being renovated and those parts that were visible were not all that impressive and the new as the exhibition it contained effectively meant that you could not really see the building itself all that well.

On the subject of food we had a good lunch at Ristorante Pizzeria Isola Bella at Thorbeckeplein and also at Cafe de Jaren just down the road from the hotel.

Overall we enjoyed our visit to Amsterdam, we think the length was about right for seeing the main attractions that we wished to see and it is a good city to walk around - mostly flat, with just the occasional bridge over a canal having an incline!

One final point, as we wanted to travel from Bristol we flew with easy jet and paid for speedy boarding - going out was fine, but coming back they did not differentiate between those who had paid extra for SB and those who had not, so it was a waste of money paying the extra.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,264 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing