We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$241
$192
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $276/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$193
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sebastian's(Amsterdam)
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$173
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $327/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH City Centre Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$177
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$282
$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of $435/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$209
$200
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$464
$316
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$268
$171
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,672)
Filter reviews
1,672 results
Traveler rating
1,268
271
87
22
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,268
271
87
22
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfreddy's baramstel riverdutch mastersleading hotels of the worldmarble bathroomjunior suitebeautiful hotelheated floorsconcierge staffoverlooking the canalluxury hotelturn down serviceflower marketan upgradebeautiful roomnespresso machinethe heart of the city
Filter
Updating list...
1,104 - 1,109 of 1,672 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We were personally greeted by Mr. Jeroen Bronsveld (Front Office Manager) upon arrival. He escorted us to a beautiful Red Suite with views of the Amstel river and the city. A bottle of Billecart-Salmon Champagne was then sent to the room. Both Mr. Bronsveld and Titta (in Guest Relations) were aware that we were celebrating a special occasion. We had a wonderful celebratory dinner at Bord'Eau that evening- only an elevator ride away.
The hotel has just been magnificently renovated (it is owned by the Heineken family). There is marble- marble- marble- and more marble- all slabs matched perfectly with each other. Every room comes with its own iPad.
The entire staff could not be more warm, welcoming and friendly--including the doormen and the wait staff at breakfast and tea. The concierge (Eef Sparla) arranged our tickets to both the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum--just a short walk from the hotel. The location of this hotel is superb--whereas The Amstel Intercontinental is remote--STAY HERE !--we definitely made the correct decison !
The hotel was just featured in an article in the Sunday New York Times travel section. We are longing to return here on our next trip to Amsterdam !!!

Room Tip: Get an Amstel iver View
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravellerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear both,

Thank you very much for this amazing review. It has been great to have you with us and to have been chosen by yourselves as THE hotel to celebrate your special occasion. Please make sure to come and visit us again soon! In the meantime, we wish you a wonderful festive season!

Team De L'Europe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Smooth arrival with the doorman taking charge of our car immediately (garage is expensive but that is normal for Amsterdam).
Some difficulties with check-in as our package was not well transmitted by LHW. After verification all was settled well and all LHW advantages (upgrade, welcome gift, etc..) were considered.
We booked a De Luxe One Bedroom Suite and were upgraded to a Prestige One Bedroom Suite with a small balcony and view of the Munt Tower and the Amstel River. Very spacious separate living area and a small but cosy bedroom with a great bed. The room was very comfortable and pleasant to stay in.
During our stay the staff was always very friendly and helpful. (Special thanks to Mrs. Jacqueline Grätz who really made us feel at home). Most of the time we were addressed with our family name, which is exceptional.
Breakfast sometimes a little disorganised, depending on the staff.
All in all we had an excellent time in hotel de l'Europe and when in Amsterdam again, we will surely stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRTravellerLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I've decided to book at the De L'Europe Amsterdam for a very special occasion - birthday of my wife and our wedding anniversary. We had only one night, but what we've got, was great.

Already through the booking process the staff was very helpful. They advised me to book via the booking engine of LHW (Leading Hotels of the World), as there was a special promotion running for club members. I informed the hotel about my preferences and about the occasion of my stay.

When we arrived (actually quiet early in the morning) we've got a welcome of the guest relations manager. We've booked a superior double room - and we ended up in a deluxe one bedroom suite in the new Dutch Masters Wing of the hotel, where only VIP rooms are located.


Our room was delightful - a perfect mix between modern elements and classic luxury. Our room was very big, also the bathroom (complete in mosaik-style) was large. There were many gadgets, like a complete surround sound bose system, three TV sets (one built-in the bathtub), air condition, heated floor in bathroom, modern light control, a nespresso machine, and much more.

We had the best view you can get from our room - to the Amster river and to the city.

The hotel gives-out a I-Pad 2 for your free usage in the room, including docking stations. A very good idea - because the whole hotel directory is included in a special app. You even can order room service directly via I-Pad.

As a welcome greeting we've got a bottle of champagne, nuts, and a bottle of red wine in our room. As we had now enough drinks, we decided to order room service - quick, tasty, well-presented and a reasonable price (35 Euros for 2 dishes).


The bathroom was specious, as I wrote, and equipped with all comfort. Many fresh and fluffy towels, bathrobes, and many bathroom amenities of a own luxury cosmetic line. The bathtub was big, and we had also a rain-forest-shower. You could access the bathroom from two sides.

We've also used the SPA area, which is small, but very romantic, nice made, and clean. There is a pool with jacuzzi and jet stream, good temperature, with a romantic starlight heaven above. As we were the only guests, we could turn-down the lights and switch on romantic sounds. There is free mineral water at the pool bar, and again many cosmetic amenities to use.

There was also a little fitness center, with modern machines. So you can access YouTube or Facebook through the screen of your fitness bike..:-)



The whole hotel is providing a very warm atmosphere, all is in warm colours, and well-mixed between classic grand hotel luxury and modern style. There is a great mixture of famous Dutch paintings everywhere hidden in the hotel, which we all found later at the Reichsmuseum.

Through that we hat a deluxe suite, we've got some extra attention from the staff - newspaper delivery, minibar refil service, fresh coffee & tea, and of course a turn-down service.


We had a drink and a cigar at Freddy's Bar. The bar is very nice - the staff was lame. We were the only guests, and I needed to ask twice that I could place my order, which I could get 15 minutes later. Also, if you offer a nice and spacious cigar lounge, you need to provide at least a cigar ashtray, a cutter, and long cigar matches - all not available. Atmosphere is nice.


We slept very well at a specious, huge bed (one of this luxury hand-made-bed's or whatever) with XXXXL pillows. We went for breakfast to the Brasserie. Very nice located at the Amster river. Quality of the food was very good, service was quick and friendly. The buffet could be larger (for that it is a top hotel), but never mind.


We've got threated not only with a early check-in, but also with a late check-out at 16:00 without any extra payment. Check-out was quick and easy, we could store our luggage there for a wile on. Front office was helpful in organizing some additional bags for our hand luggage.

When our car arrived and we wanted to leave, we've got a personal greeting again from guest relations - with a very nice present (room fragrance candle) on our way.



All-in-all, this hotel and its staff made our celebration perfect and unique. We've got the best what you can get for very reasonable money. We really felt like real VIP's at any time. I will come again definitively.

Room Tip: Inform the staff about any special occasions, they will help you according to availability. Rooms with a view to the Amstel river are very nice. If you can, stay in the new Dutch Master suite's wing.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZPZurich-Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in early July and it was absolutely fantastic! We were traveling with a lot of family (which is stressful enough!) but once we got to the hotel everything was at ease. It is a little challenging to find the entrance with the construction on the street in front, but once we got inside everything was fantastic. From the doorman to the Front Desk, everything was great. The rooms we had overlooked the canal and were spectacular. As a techno-geek, the in-suite iPad and Bose sound system you could control in the bathroom was awesome! We had breakfast in the cafe, and despite a snooty guest beside us, everything was fabulous. One night we organized to leave the kids behind, and they organized a fabulous babysitter for us (Ann Flor?) who took care of our precious kids. The new part of the hotel is just great! We did have one room in the older part which was still nice and spacious, but compared to the new room wasn't nearly as nice. We had one "glitch" which I won't mention, but the staff dealt with it efficiently which is what you would expect. Courteous and centrally located, if you are looking for a luxury hotel, look no further!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section - simply breathtaking!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sobrien_GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed here on a family vacation last year. The hotel is very nice though not up to the standards of other 5 star Lgw hotels in Europe.

I would peg the value of a room here at $350us max. I booked a return visit for next feb on kayak at a rate of $260us. I dont mind paying for top quality as I am paying 800 a night at the ritz Paris on the nights prior to this stay.

I prepaid for the room last week and received an email from the booking service I used this morning saying the hotel had made a mistake and was not going to offer the rate they had charged my card. No call from hotel management. No call from hotel to explain. Just a form letter from easy to book. I would expect that a hotel that claims to be of this class to manage a situation better. Instead of rebooking at this hotel I have booked at hotel Pulitzer. This really rubbed me the wrong way. I think they have an overinflated view of what thir rates should be.

I booked Ritz Paris through same service and have already received email from the hotel asking if I have any special requests.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bladams79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear Sir,

I am sad to read that your reservation request was dealt with in such poor manner by the parties involved. This was beyond control of De L'Europe which I will explain to you in a seperate email. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your previous stay with us and look forward to welcome you back. in the not too distant future!
Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews