We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Renovations almost completed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, City of Roses, Oregon
1 review
“Renovations almost completed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Note to webmaster: Why is this property listed twice? See also ranking #47 of the same hotel. We visited Amsterdam in early June, and were most pleased with our stay at this fine hotel. Renovations are nearly comple, and it looks to be a dazzling hotel, with a great location and fine restaurants. This is a 5 star hotel, and I highly recommend it for those fortunate enough to be visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Pay for upgrade to Amstel River view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSUvikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    201
    67
    16
    19
See reviews for
185
602
55
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This is an excellent spot to spend a decadent weekend with your lover! Thanks a lot!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PINK188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelrepAmsterdam, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
We are very pleased to read that De L'Europe proved to be a good choice for your romantic weekend. Please do continue to keep us in mind when an anniversary is on the cards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I knew the hotel was under construction until the end of May, but the section we stayed in was complete and there was no inconvenience to us other than the new restaurants not yet open. What a room!!! The colors were based on a large reproduced Rembrandt painting hung in the room and the features are too many to list. They gave us wonderful service and provided everything you would expect from a top european hotel. Look for them on every top 10 list by year's end.

Room Tip: We had a view of both canals
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelrepAmsterdam, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
WOW! Thank you very much for sharing this amazing review! We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the design and interior of our new rooms and we cannot wait for you to return to the hotel and sample the cuisine of our two stunning new restaurants.
When you do, please feel free to contact me directly in order for me to be able to personally overlook your stay!

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

The staff are some of the best I have encountered in Europe, no attitude, and extremely good service. The location of the hotel is perfect, though complicated to get to if you have rented a car due to construction, not only of the hotel, but the street in front (your nav. will take you the wrong way). The room was spacious, but gloomy even with 3 windows facing out.. I dont know if the room was one that still needed to be remodeled, or if it was one of the finished rooms.. the style of it was very french chic circa 1981, and I mean that in a very good way.. as that is totally current... however the lighting was deplorable...and felt like something out of the "Eyes of Laura Mars" film ... they had to bring an extra floor lamp to use with my lap top, and the hall leading to the bed room was too dark to read the thermostat clearly... but staff were wonderfully accommodating and apologetic, making one feel rather ok about it ..

Room Tip: get a one bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshuaSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelrepAmsterdam, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Joshua,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feedback! I truely appreciate the lovely comments you have made about our staff and location. We take pride in ensuring our guest are feeling comfortable and well looked after and I am happy to read you have witnessed this personally.
I appreciate that the 'mood lighting' in some of our rooms is not to everyones taste and your feedback is taken onboard. In the meantime we are of course more than happy to accomodate additional lighting requests.
Joshua, thank you once again for the positive feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to De l'Europe to experience the entire hotel in its full splendour!

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

we stayed 4 nights in this nice paradise -the service was the best you could wish -we had a beauitful suit !!the breakfast was great and served on time every morning , room service and housee keeping excellent reception/concierge always with a smile, very helpful and very efficent- - this will be our hotel at our next visit to Amsterdam !!Thank you !!,Fam.. Manor.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed there last week with our 2 kids and we enjoyed the hotel very much. The downtown location of the hotel is quiet and superb, we did not have to use our car during our three nights stay. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Even if the main building is under complete renovation at the moment it did not effect our stay at all. Don't miss the indoor-pool, overlooking the Amstel-river. The a la carte-breakfast was delicious (our son loved the chocolate basket). The bathroom was breathtaking huge (BVLGARI soaps and shampoo) and with an integrated TV-flatscreen truly luxurious.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Deluxetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Worth every euro! Extravagant, Pricey, Deluxe, Perfect Location. I got an upgrade to a suite from a junior suite and I could have fit a family of five in that suite COMFORTABLY. Really beautiful, brand spanking new interior. LOVED the bath tub and the massage in the room. Everyone who worked there was helpful and gracious. Be sure to see Gert in the bar - he's a wonderful bartender and so engaging. Also every one speaks english like it's their native language - so super simple to get anything you may want. Not for people on a budget but if you can go deluxe for one or two nights in this city HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Light_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,244 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing