We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location next to Vondelpark... deserves to be ranked higher!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
Ranked #114 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location next to Vondelpark... deserves to be ranked higher!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This lovely hotel is located just a one minute walk away from the main entrance to the beautiful Vondelpark and is also very close to the Rijksmusem.
Reception staff were always kind and helpful.
The room was quite cramped but well designed and a very comfortable bed.
Overall an excellent base to explore the city, if you prefer to stay out of the noisy centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlito81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Karlito81,

First of all I would like to thank you for your kind words on this website.
Your kind words are highly appreciated and I will make sure they will be shared with our team.

We hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Best regards,
Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    476
    230
    85
    66
See reviews for
137
585
60
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I had booked a standard room for a two day stay in Amsterdam. I arrived at 9 am after a long middle of the night flight. When I explained how tired I was, the desk clerk said he would upgrade me. An hour later when I was shown my room I was grateful I had been upgraded because I didn't want to imagine what the standard room was like. Naturally the room was quite small as is normal in most European cities. However I had two twin beds which, if I had been so tired, I would have explained that I needed at least a double bed. The one bed near the bathroom had a sloping mattress, so that night I slept in the other. And the next night I flipped back and forth between each.Also, the mattresses were most uncomfortable. They were quite thin. Lesson learned - speak up right away. The sink in the bathroom was extremely shallow - which would not be a problem, but I wash my hair in it each day. Obviously this would not work. So I showered each morning. Now, the shower. I am not a tall person - I am 5'3". So, to get into the tub, which was quite a step up, I had to stand on my tip toes. Not comfortable. What was good about the Vondel? Well, the restaurant was quite nice - far better than my room. The breakfasts are varied and ample. What I learned from this was if I return to the Vondel I will book either an executive room or a junior suite.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesTraveling_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Hotel Vondel is a beautiful property in a beautiful neighborhood. The room was comfortable and clean, although slightly worn, and we slept soundly on this quiet side street off of a bustling square on one end and the popular Vondel park on the other. Unfortunately the service drops our review to average. We asked for more tea and coffee bags that, supposedly, come standard in each room. The request for tea bags was ignored and the request for coffee was addressed only after a second request. More importantly, one of our requests for a wake-up call was ignored and we missed a business meeting in the early morning because of that. The final straw was a hand-written note from the management left in the room two days before departure asking us to come to the lobby to pay our bill to-date. Upon calling to ask why this was necessary the woman at the desk said that they were worried that we would leave without paying despite the fact that we had given them a deposit on our credit card (which they cashed) and the fact that we submitted the same card upon arrival. By the way, we did not go down to the lobby to pay at that point and we paid upon check-out as was our expectation with no problem. They must have been cheated in the past and this is sad but, frankly, their request was insulting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Karla M,

Thank you very much for taking some time to share your thoughts on your recent stay in Hotel Vondel. Since it is with feedback like yours we can recognize points of improvement in our product and services I highly value your comments. I am glad to learn that in general you appreciated both the location of the hotel and the room; however, I am sorry to understand though that some experiences throughout your stay were not satisfactory.

For this I sincerely apologize, I truly hope that we will be able to welcome you back again to show you our true passion for hospitality. Please contact me directly for any questions or remarks.

Best Regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skoghall, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Accualy the whole thing started with a problem with our booking. We were supposed to be at De Hallen but by misstake there was a double booking. We were a little worried coz we got to De Hallen almost at midnight but the service was OUTSTANDING! They arranged a cab to Hotel Vondel were we got an apartment room on the 4th floor and it was AMAZING! Airconditioned livingroom and bedroom. Full equiped kitchen, larged livingroom, nice bathroom. The hotel was at walkingdistance from everything. You have the park 2min walk away. SHopping was not more then 5min walk. It was close to the museums. And at the end of our stay they arrainge with a cab back to De Hallen so we could get our car that was parked there. So i must say again FIRST class service, FIRST CLASS hotell. We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Zestis,

Thank you very much for your great review on this website! We are very happy to read that, although the double booking, everything turned out fine for you and that you enjoyed our fantastic loft suite, the location and our service!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future in one of our hotels

Best regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great location, not in centre of town, right next to vondlepark

Rooms we're not so clean and the toilet stank. Originally put in the basement room as this was an upgrade! It smelt musty and is next to generator!! Avoid!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Nick M,

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Vondel and spending some of your valuable time to share your thoughts on this. I am glad to learn that the location of our hotel was to your liking, but sad to read that you did not enjoy your stay in general due to some housekeeping points of attention. Off course this is not how we envisage a stay a Hotel Vondel, I welcome the opportunity of feedback though and will definitely make sure this will be discussed with the responsible department heads.

Should travel bring you once more to Amsterdam, I would be honored to show you our true colors; please contact me directly so I can take care of your booking.

Best regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Located just a couple blocks from Leidesplein (where you can get the bus to the airport as well as trams basically anywhere). You really can't beat the location! The staff was incredibly friendly & helpful. It's a bit cramped in the stairways & elevator... but the room was fine. It was comfortable & clean. Amsterdam is a very expensive city so it's not cheap... but I'm not sure you'll do much better. For convenience it's perfect as long as you don't want to be RIGHT in the middle of the action!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Aaron M,

Thank you very much for your kind words and thank you for choosing Hotel Vondel! I am proud to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced our staff as very helpful and friendly.
Should travels bring you to Amsterdam once more in the future, we look forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It is in a great location near Vondel park and the main museums. We walked to all attractions from the hotel. It is also very easily accessible by bus from the airport. The staff were very helpful. Our room overlooked the street and was quite noisy, particularly at 4am on the Thursday night. I asked the next morning if we could be relocated to a room to the rear of the hotel and the staff obliged immediately, moving us to a room with a lovely view over the garden. And they even left us a bottle of wine to apologise for our inconvenience. They could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtticusShmatticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear AtticusShmatticus,

Thank you very much for your great review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and our staffs personal service. Although the first room was not as comfortable as hoped we are happy you enjoyed the other room and had a wonderful stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the future in Amsterdam.

Best regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#55 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#102 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#143 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#76 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Property: Hotel Vondel
Address: Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodations at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at JOOST Eat & Drink, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotels exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing