We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smallest Room I've ever stayed in.”
Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
Ranked #139 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Smallest Room I've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Possibly the smallest room in any hotel I've stayed in, and I've stayed in hotels ALL OVER THE WORLD - and at least 10 Amsterdam. The bathroom was also tiny you had to move into out to dry yourself - and the tap did not work in the sink.
Apparently according to reception I booked a small double room from the Hotel.com website, and unfortunately the hotel was full so we couldn't upgrade.
The cycles were appalling, and expensive - much better
and cheaper ones from Mac Bike Hire, 2 mins walk from hotel.
You might guess we will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrish1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    546
    281
    105
    78
See reviews for
175
681
67
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The place was nice and so was the staff. The price was not so fair, especially for the meals and the bike rent service. The room was nice but personally I think the carpet is not sanitary and I don't like it. Good location. Appreciated the kit to make tea in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was in Amsterdam in April 2014 for one night. I was originally booked at Hotel Roemer but when I arrived in the morning the room I reserved (double beds) was not available. The clerk offered an upgrade at the Vondel for the same price. He also offered me to have the Roemer breakfast while I waited for the transfer to occur. Even though there was a mess-up, it worked out as the Vondel was a spacious and well-appointed room. Large bed, large bath with soaker tub and shower, plus double sinks. Seating area with couch and chairs, plus a nice view. Also, the lobby bar stayed open late that night to accommodate us and continued to provide wine and snacks far after they should have been closed. The lobby seating was also very comfortable and inviting. All in all a very good experience.

Room Tip: some of the rooms require a long walk and steps or a tiny elevator. If this is a concern, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Very clean, smart hotel. The staff really couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Room was nice and clean but in basement below restaurant so very noisy at breakfast times. Great location-- about 5 mins walk to the gorgeous Vondel Park. Would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cosmeston30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here to celebrate parents 50th wedding anniversary with a four day visit to Amsterdam. The rooms were on the 5th floor and a card congratulating my parents with a free drink was waiting in the room. Very nice. That showed the message had passed from internet booking to hotel operations and on to housekeeping. So good internal communications. The rooms were modern, clean and with small but very nice shower room. The windows opened fully and there was air conditioning. Which is great if you are a fresh air fiend. There was also a cute little elevator that took the hard work out getting to the room.

Breakfast was extra but consisted of a well stocked hot and cold buffet with attentive staff offering coffee and endless refills. Tea is of the weak European variety while claiming to be English breakfast blend. My tip is to take your favourite bags from home. A very nice touch is the menu on the table that offers pancakes, eggs etc. at no extra cost.

The hotel is very handy for local restaurants and all that goes to make up Leidsplan 10 minutes walk from the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. We also walked to the Anne Frank house but I would recommend a taxi. The message really is that this is a great hotel close to the action.

Room Tip: Top floor is good for roof top views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMPontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Excellent customer service (at reception and in the restaurant/bar) really makes this a welcoming place to stay. Our basement double room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable - but there was some noise from staff unavoidably clanking up and down the metal staircase opposite our window early in the morning. Tram stops are about 5 minutes walk, key museums (Riksmuseum, Van Gogh museum) ten mins. walk. Avoid the overpriced tourist traps of Leidseplien and try the restaurant Panini (about ten mins walk NE of hotel ) and the Cafe Gollum on the Overtoom (runs parallel to Vondelstraat) which serves a huge range of excellent beers and bar food. Also on Overtoom - a good Thai eatery and a supermarket.

Room Tip: avoid the basement rooms if you don't want to be disturbed in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roathbuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend after two people had recommended it to us. Excellent location next to the vondel park, shops and trams. The hotel was lovely and the staff were really nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be coming back soon!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ginatoumazou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#76 of 368 in Amsterdam
752 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#130 of 368 in Amsterdam
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 368 in Amsterdam
846 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#84 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,035 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#128 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Property: Hotel Vondel
Address: Vondelstraat 26, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodation at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at Restaurant JOOST, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotel its exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing