We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Vondel
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
$254
$196
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
citizenM Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel The Exchange(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$211
$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$224
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$120
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$140
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Volkshotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$114
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,546)
Filter reviews
1,546 results
Traveler rating
466
587
301
109
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
587
301
109
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationboutique hotelquiet side streetexecutive roomwalking distancelovely hotelminute walkmuseum districtrain showertop floorthird floormini barvan goghrooms are smallcentral stationvisiting amsterdamdam square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
645 - 650 of 1,546 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We checked in on a Thursday afternoon...quickly and professionally. Got the crazy small lift to the top floor and started to relax. Room was small but comfortable. Bathroom also small, but so very beautiful. Looked like recently having a refit, the taps/shower were a work of art, but the sink was a bit small for shaving in. I guess that's design over practicality.

The staff always smiled/spoke and the Manager/Assistant Manager stopped for a chat on a couple of occasions, making it a very homely stay. Hotel was very clean and professional. Breakfasts were good (both in choice and quantity).

There was even a garden area at the back where you could pop out for a smoke without standing out front on the street.

All in all a very enjoyable stay and we'd definately consider a return visit. Leidseplein Square was a 5 min walk away, where you could get a tram to most locations. Walking to Dam Square took about 25 mins. Nightlife good. Plenty of restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S_and_NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The hotel is made up of dutch townhouses all interlinking by stairs and corridors, the rooms are immaculately presented and comfortable. The hotel is central for museum areas and lots of great restaurants.

There was a nice bar area which we sat in at the end of the evening, it was quiet but the barman was helpful and friendly.

Although we asked for upper rooms, we ended up in the basement, and smokers tended to congregate outside our window. Although double glazed, we could smell the smoke inside the room which wasn't pleasant.

Room Tip: upper floor
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoniH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent 3 nights in the hotel; the first night our room, which was beautiful was, somewhat below ground level, and we really wanted a room windows we could look out of. As they were fully booked there was, understandably, nothing they could do. However the hotel couldn't have been more helpful; after the first night they moved us into an even more beautiful room, with a balcony. And they gave us a free bottle of wine, which was both generous and unnecessary!
All the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was brilliant! Added to a quiet location very close to the museums and within easy walking of the whole town, this is where we'll stay when we go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterTYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I prefer to stay at the edge of a city on a quiet street, but convenient to get around. Hotel Vondel is a perfect fit for this description. Easy connection from the Central Train Station on the trams, lovely Vondel Street, and very close to the famous Vondel Park, and walking distance to some brilliant museums and art galleries.
The single room on the ground floor was spacious, comfortable, and sharp. The staff members were friendly and helpful. The only fallback is the noise during the evening as my room was right next to the stairs, and the room attendents in the morning. There's once the room attendent left his mop in my bathroom, not very bothered, he mannerly apologised.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwixpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great hotel for the price we paid. Stayed for 3 nights in an executive room. The bath in bathroom was huge and shower over it was great.
Beds very comfy as are the pillows and duvets.
We could hear people in the room next to us at 2am but this was prob because we were asleep so very quiet and they were being very loud.
Restaurant very nice and lounge area. Food really good, drinks reasonable price, better than most hotel prices!
Bar/ restaurant staff were really nice, reception staff not so much.
Hotel location is just behind the first canal of the ring and at the start of the centre, prob 30mins walk to dam square/ red light district, but so much to see on way and pass through, much nicer areas than the actual centre.
Short walk to vondel park and art museums. Across the road from boat trips.
Great boutique style hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torukchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews