We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but...”
Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
Ranked #127 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

This is obviously a decent 4-star hotel in a prime location in Amsterdam, so I wont focus on that.. Instead, ill meantion which things i did not like about the hotel:

1- The flooring of our room is not leveled, and im not just talking a couple of degrees slanted. If my wife and i stood at opposite directions kf the room, i would actually be looking "down" on her.
2- Housekeeping needs work. We left our room around 10 am and returned around 3 pm on two consecutive days to find our room had not been made up yet. On the third day, once it had actually been made up, all the housekeeper did was vacuum and arrange the bedding (did nit replace the drinking glasses, did not replace bedding, did not clean the dust off surfaces.
3- Hotel front door closes at 8 pm. I really do not understand why a 4 star hotel would do that in a safe neighborhood in one of the safest European cities. Its jnconvenient to have to use my keycard each time i want to go into the hotel lobby after 8, it also makes me feel like i live in a school dorm.

The rest of our stay was allright. Staff is kind and acommodating.

Thank Mohamadfares
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in vondel.
I booked the small double room, but I found the size of the room really good in duch standards.
A clean cheerful room with 3 windows.. Nicely decorated and lots of space for clothes and other things. Wifi is reliable as well
The price was so good compared to a similar standard hotel in central location
The hotel is very central but far from the noise though.
Staff we're very friendly and helpful.
The only thing that was kind of disturbing is a weird voice coming from the drainage of the bathroom. But the whole stay experience is good enough to make me forget such disturbance.
I'd certainly consider staying again at vendol

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayrouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. We had a weekend city trip so for this it was absolutly ok. Super close to anything you want to see or do in Amsterdam. Good connection to public services. Hotel staff is polite. Rooms look great on the website - they are not as great in reality. They are absolutely ok though. For us the mattresses were extremely soft so sleep wasn't perfect but for 2 to 3 nights it is ok. The lobby and the restaurant have a cool style. Good hotel for a city trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsLoveTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I stated here for 1 night earlier this month. On arrival I was upgraded to a suite, so straight away, a sign of a great hotel!

The room was designed beautifully. Great character to the hotel.

Good location. Lots of restaurants nearby. Professional and friendly staff. Love the celebrations chocolates by the bar!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank AymanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I've stayed at the Vondel whenever I'm in Amsterdam and typically 2-3 times annually for many years. In the areas that business hotels excel, the hotel is "just ok". They make smallish mistakes. They are not particularly efficient in service at the dining room. I'm not convinced that profit is a significant motive of the owners of the hotel; if it were, they would likely do a better and more planful job of building customer loyalty and new customer activity. But, unless you require a mistake proof and efficient hotel, which it is not, I fully recommend the Vondel. It is well priced. It has great breakfasts. It has lovely people working there. And, in my experience It has a soul. Most chains catering to business - with the possible exception of a few - don't earn their existential real estate. The Vondel does, I think. You will find nice people who want you to have a relaxed and happy experience. That's worth a lot to me.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Vondelstraat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 308jcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, down a very quiet backstreet just 5 mins walk from Leidesplein, where there are plenty of Bars and restaurants.
I had seen reports that the rooms on the lower floors were quite noisy, so I requested a room on one of the upper floors, which turned out to be at the back of the hotel and was so quiet you would have never of thought you were in the middle of a city!
The room was very clean, with a brilliant chambermaid that left the room as new every day.
I would recommend this hotel strongly.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talbotbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in November for 2 days/3 nights.

We arrived later in the evening, about 8 pm, and all that was left was a basement room. We weren't too thrilled about it, asked kindly if there was anything else available, but there wasn't. We were told that there would be in the morning, which was very nice.

The room was very nice. A bit small, but very clean, modern, and still bright even though it was in the basement. We decided we didn't need to move in the morning - after all, we are only in the room to sleep.

The front desk staff was very helpful. Being first time visitors to Amsterdam, we asked for a city map and where would be a good place to grab a bite to eat. They directed us to a touristy area with 100s of restaurants just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. It was great.

The wifi was included with our room, and worked well. No problems at all.

My only real complaint is with the basement room. Yes, we could have moved, but it would have been more hassle than it was worth. The noise level was really bad...we must have been below the restaurant, because the footsteps stopped around midnight and started up again around 5 am. Other than that - we didn't hear a peep the entire time.

The hotel is close to all the museums, canal tours, shopping districts - both affordable shops, and luxury shopping are very close by, everything really! You can't beat the location. I would stay again for sure, just not in the basement!

Room Tip: request no basement room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandandfreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#93 of 375 in Amsterdam
812 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#31 of 375 in Amsterdam
929 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#26 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#146 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,758 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#101 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,176 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#125 of 375 in Amsterdam
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Address: Vondelstraat 26, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $80 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodation at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at Restaurant JOOST, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotel its exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing