We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Modern look, comfy beds!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
Ranked #121 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Modern look, comfy beds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute booking and were worried by the reviews of the basement rooms so we paid a bit extra (£30) for an executive room.

The room looked just like the website pictures; decor was modern and simple, the bathroom was amazing - a giant tub plus a dinner plate sized shower! Very clean as well - housekeeping are doing a good job.

The receptionists (we encountered a total of 3) were all very kind, helpful and welcoming.

Only downfalls were that we were expecting a king sized bed, but it was 2 big singles pushed together, you could hear chatter in the morning from other guests in the hallway and also there was no clock anywhere in the room, so we had to keep pestering the reception desk for the time!

Overall, a great place, and really made our trip! Will definetly book again for our next trip.

Room Tip: Room 314, ground level is a very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebears123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    473
    230
    85
    66
See reviews for
136
581
60
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a small but very friendly hotel close to all amenities and great night life, well worth stating here. Be advised the rooms are small but great and have double beds and a bathroom included. Breakfast is served in the hotel and is well priced

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darcheryorks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great location near to the Museumplein and Jordaan area with the 9 streets with quirky and interesting shops. The reception, dining room, lounge area etc were modern and airy and if you go in spring/summer a fabulous terraced garden. We were in a basement room (Room 112)which was still reasonably light and spacious - though as were below reception etc at times there was noise from people walking about above. We are not terribly noise sensitive people and both heavy sleepers so didn't disturb us but may be a problem if you are, but overall we found the hotel to be quiet. It never felt as though there were 86 rooms. We had booked an executive double and expected it to be slightly bigger but was still fine. Great rain shower over the bath. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and that really helped to make our stay. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there at all - found a nearby cafe for breakfast. We would stay there again if we visit Amsterdam, though may request not to be in a basement room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darcheryorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you are looking for a boutique hotel, this is a great find. Having just come from the Radisson Blue, it was an adjustment as the rooms were very tight and small in comparison. The floors within my tiny room had many mini levels up and down I kept tripping on as they weren't easily seen. The room was very nicely decorated though. It could have used more lighting as Amsterdam is quite dark during the rainy season.
Staff was very helpful and sweet and room service was extremely quick. Great channel selection on the television. Good location for walking to attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iesimskriesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Comfortable hotel in a very good location, near Vondelpark and the Museumplein, which I think is far better than staying, for instance, near Dam Square, where for sure must be way noisier! Here you have good sleep quality, even in a room facing the street. I don't mind walking so I didn't take the tram, both Dam Square and Anne Frank's House are approximately a 25- 30 min. walk. The room was not very spacious, but comfortable nevertheless. I liked the fact that it had tea and coffee making facilities, which you don't usually find outside the UK. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauri_2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
181 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

In central Amsterdam close to the Vondelpark and the vibrant Leidseplein on a quiet street is this pleasant hotel. It's small and comfortable. Pleasant and efficient reception. Very nice public rooms (e.g. a well-lit and roomy library; breakfast room etc.). My single room was in the attic. It was quite small but had everything you might need for a night or two. Good sturdy furniture; small but efficient work desk. Good bathroom with good water pressure. Attic window could be opened. Everything immaculately clean.
Just a bit of a problem with the (free) wifi internet: it rather came and went and came again; that's exasperating if you're in the middle of something.
But all in all: a fine place and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you're looking for somewhere central (theatre district) and quiet, then this is the perfect hotel for you. One of the bonuses in terms of a smallish hotel was the lift. Many older style hotels in Europe don't have lifts, which makes trundling bags to your room difficult. The staff were friendly and helpful, the bed extremely comfortable, the room and bathroom cleaned to a high standard. The adjoining restaurant Joost was outstanding. We dined there twice and were impressed both times with the quality and reasonable price of the meals. So handy too when you arrive late in the day and don't wish to head out into the night looking for somewhere to eat. Would definitely recommend both the hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#53 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#101 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#145 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#78 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Property: Hotel Vondel
Address: Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodations at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at JOOST Eat & Drink, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotels exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing