We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quirky”
Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
Ranked #139 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Quirky”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here for 3 nights. Quirky boutique hotel with narrow corridors and smallish rooms but I enjoyed it. Walls are a bit thin too, had to use ear plugs in the mornings as vacuuming in hallways was quite loud. Very comfy bed, great staff and an ideal location. Would definitely return. If you're looking for a quirky boutique hotel experience and are prepared to overlook a few things then this is for you

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JovialGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    546
    281
    105
    78
See reviews for
175
681
67
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Best location in Amsterdam. Easy walk to the big museums and Vondel Park AND the restaurants that have more tourists than locals .

We had an upgrade to a junior suite which was luxurious and quiet. Three big floor to ceiling windows ( the street is quiet) - nice sitting area and great linens and king size bed.

Front desk staff were perfect - booking restaurants and giving advice on getting about.

Yes, the stairs are steep but there are elevators so you don't have to deal with the stairs.

It rained all four days we were there so never tried the outdoor seating which looked lovely.

Room Tip: The junior suite is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laughingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was traveling with Vermont Bicycle Tours, After reading the mixed reviews I had some trepidations but found my second floor room facing the front of the building over the main lobby area to be quite nice. It was as nice a room as I have stayed in for the most part, and better than many name Hotel chain rooms. I had only breakfast one morning at the buffet and the food was good if not great. The internet service, or lack thereof, was a disappointment, but there were plenty of Starbucks, and an Apple store, nearby.

Room Tip: Street noise was not a problem, There are several linked buildings, I know the one where you check i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Small hotel, but great localization and attention. The hotel is small but the rooms are big and new. The breakfast is good but a little expensive. It´s very close to the Vondelpark where you can ride a bike peaceful.

Room Tip: It´s a small hotel whith good restaurant, but they don´t have fitness center and kids ativities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denize1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

When returning to Amsterdam after a 2 day jaunt to Belgium, my boyfriend and I decided against staying in the hotel we had been staying in to start our trip so we looked for a central location. Hotel Vondel was just perfect, extremely close to many different places (park, museums, restaurants, etc) yet far from the busy central area - but only a few tram stops away.
The service was impeccable, with the linens being changed despite only staying for 2 nights. The room was a decent size and a comfy bed. Absolutely no complaints. When we next return to Amsterdam, I am sure we will look up this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissRutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is very clean and quiet, and our triple room was large enough for us. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

It's only 5 mins walk to leidse Plein where you will find plenty of restaurants and entertainment, and its also very close to the museums and canal boat tours. Tram stop is at the end of the street.

If you arrive at central station take the #1 Tram and get off close to the Marriott hotel.

Didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that.

I would recommend this hotel when visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The location of the hotel in a quiet beautiful residential area is awesome ...the hotel is located quiet near to the lively leidseplan area with lots of bars and eateries ... ...Vondelpark is a 5 minute walk and a lovely place to visit during the summer evenings .... Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum are all at a walking distance from the hotel ....trams from the leidseplan take you to the central station within 10 minutes ..... The staff is courteous and helpful ....the standard rooms are nice and self sufficient but very small so if you need space upgrade to a larger room .... The breakfast spread is lovely .....overall a good place to stay and explore Amsterdam.....

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very small .... If you need space upgrade to a larger room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HemantjainGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#77 of 368 in Amsterdam
752 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#130 of 368 in Amsterdam
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 368 in Amsterdam
848 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#83 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,037 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#129 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Property: Hotel Vondel
Address: Vondelstraat 26, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodation at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at Restaurant JOOST, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotel its exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing