We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect city hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
Ranked #134 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect city hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very nice boutique style hotel in the city of Amsterdam. Excellent location, close to all major museums and shops, without all the noise of bars and traffic. Staff is friendly. I had a suite/ apartment with 2 bedrooms (bunk beds for the kids), separate living room, nice bathroom and kitchen (with equipment like a Nespresso machine and cups). Also nice view from the living room into the Vondelstreet. WIFI available, breakfast really basic, but okay. Perfect hotel both for business and/or pleasure.

Room Tip: If you travel with kids, ask for the apartment. Very large and good value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    492
    249
    97
    70
See reviews for
149
611
60
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
135 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I really was hoping for a wonderful stay at the Hotel Vondel. This was a special weekend for us and the culmination of a cycling trip in the Netherlands. This hotel has potential but I think needs a shake up in staff and operations in order to meet the luxury boutique hotel status they are aiming for.

First, they need to work on their web site and be much more transparent about what type of room you are getting for what you book. Making rooms look and sound better on the web page then they really are is the oldest book in the trick for hotels but any true quality hotelier knows that while it might pay in the short term it just doesn’t pay in the long term, reputation and returning customers are more important.

We booked an executive room thinking that we would get a pretty nice room. We didn’t need a suite, it was summer and would mostly be out of the hotel visiting friends, but we wanted a nice experience and to be honest price is far from our limiting factor. Based upon the photos and information available on the web site we felt the executive room should meet our needs. However, when we arrived we were checked into a room in the basement (but with windows, sort of a garden flat without the garden access). The room was small and I am challenged to say how it could be different from a standard room. Although somewhat disappointing we thought we would just get by for the weekend. Unfortunately we were awoken our first morning by almost three solid hours of deliveries coming in the back door over our heads making in not only impossible to sleep by almost intolerable to stay in the room with the constant pounding of boots. While this is unacceptable for any guest room it certainly seemed inappropriate for an ‘executive room’, although since it was a Saturday maybe they weren’t expecting 'executives' to need sleep.

In response to this we wrote an email to the manager (Fiona). Fiona was very nice, responded promptly, sent along a nice note and bottle of wine to apologize but said she couldn’t move us until the following day (the last night of our three in the hotel). The next morning again we were awoken, literally, by a staff member crashing a supply cart into our door. Unfortunately despite Fiona’s very professional approach her staff are clearly inexperienced and at times frankly rude.

Once we were moved, we were put into a Junior Suite on the second floor which was a very nice room and more along the lines of what we were initially anticipating.

In addition to the challenges with a room in the basement, the hotel is starting to show its age and the lack of attention to detail with the staff service is also mirrored with some of the furnishings. The furniture in the lounge is outright filthy and needs to be replaced, the rugs in our second room had a number of snags and pulls and overall the hotel is looking tired.

Room Tip: 1. Don’t take a room in the basement. 2. If you want a nicer room, don’t bother with the executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CdnExPats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Excellent service from the friendly staff. A good range of food at the breakfast buffet, including pancakes made to order and fresh fruit (but no fruit salad). Our top floor room was under the eaves - it looked over the roof of another building so it had the advantage of being quiet. The arrangement of the room was cleverly contrived, including stands for two suitcases, but the twin beds were side by side and the toilet/shower room (with fixed shower head) was cramped. Glimpses of other rooms showed that some were much bigger - this is in the nature of the conversion of a building of this kind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fogbraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was a great find by my husband who got a great deal. Perfect location with the park, shopping, restaurants & museums all near by. Room was small but nice with a lush bathroom. Lots of stairs though! Only issue was with replacement of wash cloths & tea/coffee but otherwise lovely & staff were very helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenksHaverfordwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
137 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stay here often and already made a review before but though it was worth while writing again. I was here in a beautiful sunny day with outside terrace open and it was again lovely. The rooms are all so different that you might have the chance to get a big size but this time, although I visit so often, they gave me a tiny room which was a problem as I had loads of samples. I had dinner and lunch in hotel and really liked the aspargus meal with good choice of wine. I really like the dutch modern decor and the choice of great magazines in the lounge areas. The location right in front of wonderful Vondel Park and short walking from museums is certainly a plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MafaldaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My travel agent booked this hotel for a business trip, stating that I was arriving early due to flights. When I got there, I had to wait almost 2 hours to get a room. Not so great when you are coming from the US (overnight)!

In general it feels like the hotel was really good, but then went on booking.com and therefore has sold a bunch of rooms to tourists. It was all foreign tourists, so it was not suitable for a business trip.

Also, Internet is not included, nor do they have blowdryers, irons, ironing boards in room. Major tourist hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is cool and funky. My sister and I had room 232 which had twin beds as requested. It was a large room with places to put your bags without constantly tripping over them. Location is brilliant in a quiet and pretty street within easy walking distance to Rijksmuseum, Concertgebouw, Vondel Park and restaurants. The bathroom was very big and when we requested a non-slip bathmat for the shower the response from housekeeping was immediate. Power points are conveniently located at the TV console for re-charging gadgets. There is a coat rack near the door - that's a thoughtful inclusion. Even though we were located near the elevator, the room was very quiet. I would have liked more coat hangers and there was absolutely nowhere to leave handwashing. Whilst the service at check-in was cool and efficient the staff came into their own when one of our party went missing for a few hours and we were very concerned. They phoned the police, served us each a complimentary glass of comforting wine during an excruciating time and showed great care and concern. They sourced gluten-free bread for me for breakfast and I only had to ask for it once and it was served to me every morning. I would definitely return here if visiting Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: 232 is a twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancophilesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#98 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#79 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Property: Hotel Vondel
Address: Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodations at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at JOOST Eat & Drink, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotels exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing