We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel hidden away with surprises!”
Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
Ranked #131 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My second visit to Amsterdam and glad I took my time looking through the numerous hotels because the was lovely. Hidden away off the main roads but close to see the sights.
Fabulous, spotless, modern and hidden surprises! It's a few buildings combined, we were surprisingly upgraded into an apartment, sleeps 6, bedroom 1 brilliant size, en-suite with a bath and up the spiral staircase bedroom 2 with a fab big shower en-suite. Large living dining kitchen area to chill after a busy day. Staff were polite, helpful and breakfast was plenty hot and cold. I definitely would recommend this gem and would return.

Room Tip: I would recommend the apartment, so much more space and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gayn040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

went to this boutique hotel on Tuesday for a city break with my wife. we travelled from England and found the standard of the accomodation, cleanliness and service to be a great value for money. Perfectly located near Vondel Park and near to about 100 eateries of all world cuisines.
good find.

Room Tip: if you can afford it, upgrade from a Standard as they are on the small size (still nice though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fellinihove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went for our anniversary, was a lovely hotel. The first nights sleep was not good as we where underneath the dinning room/entrance so it was very noisy with people walking on the wooden floor, opening, closing the door. We did complain and they moved us straight away to the top floor, which was one of the executive suites which was nice, not as cosy and warm, but had a much nicer bathroom.
Breakfast was not great, being $17 per person, but we did go down late. They did'nt charge us for breakfast with being kept up all night. I did love this hotel, its cosy and homely, I do intend to go back to Amsterdam again soon and will possibly be staying here.

Room Tip: If you want a decent nights sleep, ask for a room that is not in the 100's, its in the basement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank queenbabypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Not sure why anyone would review this as Poor or Terrible, but here it goes- I thought this hotel was great. Everything was CLEAN, very astutely decorated and was very close to Leidseplein. Yes, it's very touristy around there, but that's what most of Amsterdam is like around this area.

Food was good, bathrooms were sizeable, rooms were great. No complaints at all. Lobby was pretty and modern. Highly recommended. Great for groups of friends that don't want to stay at the very nearby Marriott which feels outdated and a little clusterfu^%$. You'll get a better variety of people staying here too and not just a bunch of drunk Americans.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arun21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Changed our reservation at lst minute to this hotel to save mney, and what a excellent choice it was. Location as brilliant, you are a stones throw away from The Hard Rock Cafe and the centre of Leidsplien Square, and a 15 minute walk to Dam Square.

The staff are friendly and efficient. Hotel is spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming.
Rooms are very small, but have all the necessary things you need. Beds are very comfy and the showers are fab.
DO NOT TOUCH THE MINI BAR ! 4 Euro for a small pack of peanuts !

Would stay again in the hotel. The only thing I would change is milk for the rooms for tea in the morning. Only cafe cream sachets provided, and upon reqest from reception was brought real cream .

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the front or the back of the hotel.. We had a room in the middle and roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was booked last minute but price was reasonable. The staff were very friendly, the rooms were comfortable, room was very quiet and the location provided a great springboard to the museum quarter, west Amsterdam and the centre. Had booked a standard sized room for the weekend but we got upgraded for free due to a spare executive room. Didn't experience the cuisine here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medicwithapaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A good location in a quiet side road but only 5 minutes walk from all the bustle of Leidesplein. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast (included in our booking) was excellent with a good selection including fresh fruit salad, pancakes and omelettes cooked to order, good range of bread, rolls, ham, cheese, cooked items etc. We ate one evening meal which was very well-presented and average price compared to other restaurants we looked at. Our room was fairly small but had everything we needed including a full-size bath, fridge, hairdryer etc. It was very clean and well decorated. The bed was probably the most comfortable one we have ever slept in. The main negative for us was that we were in the basement with the restaurant above us, so we were sometimes disturbed by breakfast being set up and chairs scraping across the wooden floor. This wouldn't stop us coming back though and we've already made enquiries about coming back with our children.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne4166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#92 of 375 in Amsterdam
806 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#32 of 375 in Amsterdam
925 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#27 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,752 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#103 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,174 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#125 of 375 in Amsterdam
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Address: Vondelstraat 26, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $80 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodation at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at Restaurant JOOST, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotel its exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing